OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> WiFi Woes
mr596
post Aug 17 2004, 12:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 2,998



Hi All,

I have just got my C860 back from Japan following a screen failure. This has been sorted nicely, however I've now got issues with my Wireless networking card.

I have both a DLink WCF-660 and a new Origol/Senao WiFi Card (802.11b) from ShirtPocket.co.uk. Both these cards are based on the prism2 chipset and use the prism2_cs driver.

The Senao card is one of the new cards and I followed the instructions here :
http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...?showtopic=4980
After adding the card to the /etc/pcmcia/wlan-ng.conf as shown here :

CODE
card "Senao"
 version "WLAN", "11Mbps_PC-Card_3.0", "ISL37100P", "Eval-RevA"
 bind "prism2_cs"


Following this the card appears to be recognised with the XX showing the card when inserted and the eth0 interface appearing when listed with ifconfig -a.

When starting the network from the Network GUI it doesnt appear to do anything, do I checked a ifconfig eth0 up which returned :
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device

So I checked dmesg to check for errors there. The log showed the following:
CODE
hfa384x_drvr_initialize: Initialize command failed.
hfa384x_drvr_initialize: Failed, result=-110
prism2sta_initmac: prism2sta_initmac: drvr_initialize() failed, result=-110
hfa384x_docmd_wait: hfa384x_drvr_shutdown: cmd_initialize failed, result=-110
prism2sta_initmac: Failed, result=-110
prism2sta_open: initmac() failed, result=-110


I then checked the card in my laptop which worked OK. Following this I checked the Dlink 660 which exibitted the same symptoms with a dmesg as follows:
CODE
hfa384x_corereset: hfa384x_corereset not supported on pcmcia. Use
driver services COR access function instead
hfa384x_docmd_wait: hfa384x_cmd timeout(1), reg=0x8888.
hfa384x_drvr_initialize: Initialize command failed.
hfa384x_drvr_initialize: Failed, result=-110
prism2sta_initmac: prism2sta_initmac: drvr_initialize() failed, result=-110
hfa384x_docmd_wait: hfa384x_cmd timeout(1), reg=0x8888.
hfa384x_drvr_shutdown: hfa384x_drvr_shutdown: cmd_initialize failed, result=-110
prism2sta_initmac: Failed, result=-110
prism2sta_open: initmac() failed, result=-110


So does anyone know what a -110 error means (nothing on google), is this a driver issue or hardware, am I going to need to send my Z back to Japan a week after getting it back? (Please say no :-)

For reference I'm using a newly installed version of Cacko 1.2.1b and my CF Microdrive works fine in the same slot.

Marc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SoulKiss
post Aug 17 2004, 01:00 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 13-August 04
Member No.: 4,282



Nothing to worry about - no need to ship it back.

The clue is (as always) in the error message

initmac

Which means (I think) that it is failing to IINITiate the Media Access Control layer.

I have a Netgear prism2 card using the wlan_ng drivers and had the same problem with the added bonus of the card going into suspend mode at the end of it.

All that is happening is that your card is unable to attach to a network.

Try setting up the following

Goto the network setup application and add a new connection

In the Account tab call it Test

In the Config tab unceck the Non Spec ESS-ID

Wntr an ESS-ID of Test and change network type to Ad-Hoc

Now goto the TCP/IP tab and set the IP Address to 1.1.1.2, the Subnet Mask to 255.255.255.252 and the Gateway to 1.1.1.1

This connection will be useful if you ever want to run Kismet as well as for testing your card

Now OK that and select your new connection and hit the connect button

You should see the Link light on the card come up and a connection will form

From here its just a case of troubleshooting your Wifi connection - ie we have proved it works smile.gif

Nothing like how I expexted the card to work, but have been messing around with this card (and a bluetooth one) for about a week now (since I got my Z) and think I pretty much worked out the wrinkles

Hope this helps

David
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr596
post Aug 18 2004, 12:31 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 2,998



Thanks SoulKiss, I'll check this out tonight and update this topic.

Marc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr596
post Aug 22 2004, 07:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 2,998



OK seems to be fine with that steady green light, even managed to pick up the test network ESSID using my XP laptop (I know ...). So it'll just be a question of getting the Z working with my network, cool. Thanks for you assistance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr596
post Aug 22 2004, 01:05 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 2,998



Posting this from my Zaurus. Thought I'd post the results of my own stupidity! The part I was missing was the channel select. After my reinstall of Cacko I setup my WiFi connections immediataly setting the ESSID thereby removing the option to change the channel. I switched to ad-hoc for a bit and changed the channel to match my router and it connected fine. D'Oh!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 01:11 AM