OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ad-hoc help (C860), wifi trouble
Radiator
post Sep 25 2004, 07:51 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-August 04
Member No.: 4,199



Hi. I've already had my C-860 for a few months, but now I've decided to make more use of it. Mainly I want to start using wifi.

I bought the Ambicom cf wifi card for the zaurus and a D-Link DWL 122 (usb dongle type wifi adapter) for my PC. The idea being that when I'm at home I can share my PCs internet connection with my Z, Ad-hoc.

I've followed online guides to do this, but it just ain't working! Can anyone talk me through it? I'm a bit confused about what IP/gateway settings to give each device.

Any help is most definately appreciated!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yasen
post Sep 26 2004, 11:38 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 27-June 03
From: Sofia, Bulgaria, Europe
Member No.: 217



What is your PC OS?
I'll try to help if it is Windows XP but for Linux and other Windowses you must ask someone else.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Radiator
post Sep 29 2004, 11:48 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-August 04
Member No.: 4,199



Thanks for repying- I'd pretty much given up hope!

Yes, I'm using XP on my home PC - if you can guide me through the basic settings, that would be great!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yasen
post Sep 30 2004, 02:16 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 27-June 03
From: Sofia, Bulgaria, Europe
Member No.: 217



First of all you have to install SP2. It has same inprovemts for wifi. When you insert card in your z does something appear in the thask bar? If not you have to set up network. Usualy it is somewere in setings. Give it ESSID, ip, subnet mask, dns, gateway, chenel and mode from infrastructure to ad hoc. For now don't use any encryption. Replug the card in the Z and when icon apears in the taskbar tap on it give conect.

When you plug the dongel in yhe USB you should get a new network in tasktray. Give it ip what you gave for DNS and Gateway on Z, and same subnet mask. All other things should be left empty. Double clicking on network in the tray should get you to "chose network screen". There you have to surch for this with the ESSID have given to Z (if there is more then one). Conect to it and try with ping comand if there is conection between PC and Z. If ping gives replys from bought sides Z and dongel is working ok.

If not then go to My Computer -> Properties -> Hardware -> Device Maneger -> Network Adapters -> "the name of usb network card" -> Proparties -> Advanced. There change setings for ESSID, chanel and mode. Try agin to conect and ping from bought sides. It should work now.

Now you could try to make ICS on Windows. This will give you possibility to use PC as Iternet provider for Z. It is not clear if this wil be posible. It depends on PC Internet provider. Give properties to normal Internet conection you have. In Advanced tab you have a section with caption Internet Conection Sharing ( ICS stands for taht). Chek bought options under that caption and click on setings below them. There chek DNS, FTP, IMAP3&4, HTTP, HTTPS and SMTP. On every chek will pop up window just click ok. After that chek all PC IP, Gateway and DNS setingsseting because ICS changes one of them but I don't remember which. Go on the Z start browser and try to load some site and hope that your ISP haven't made any restriction.

If something fails feal free to ask.
Wish you luck

PS. Excuse me if this is too long or has too many gramar and speling errors. I'm not good in English
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Radiator
post Oct 1 2004, 01:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-August 04
Member No.: 4,199



Thanks for your response, it is very helpful.

I've been playing about with this for a while, but I can't get either device to recognise the other. I'm sure I must still be doing something wrong, but I can't see what it could be. Or something's broken...

Anyway I've ordered a wifi access point to see if that will help me figure it out.

Any other suggestions are of course welcome!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Radiator
post Oct 3 2004, 05:39 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-August 04
Member No.: 4,199



OK, time for an update.

The Access Point has arrived - I've hooked it up, shoved in some settings to make it work with my router/ISP configuration, and basically just let it get on with its job.

The USB wifi dongle recognised and connected to it instantly. In fact I'm transmitting this post over the airwaves right now wink.gif...

However the Ambicom card in the Z won't connect at all, even when using the same settings. I have tried using kismet, but that (eventually) gives me a Can't Connect To Server message.

SO. Either I have a faulty card, or I've set it up wrong. I didn't install any drivers on the Zaurus, because when I plugged the card in, it seemed to recognise it straight away. Was this a mistake??? The light blinks in all the right places etc, so I thought it was working.

So what do I do next? If anyone else with this card could tell me how they got it working, it would be helpful!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 04:01 AM