OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C760 battery/reset query
post Dec 19 2003, 06:23 AM
Post #1





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Wonder why everytime I remove te battery, the
Zaurus will reboot itself when I power ON.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Dec 19 2003, 04:31 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



If the Zaurus is on when you pull the battery out, it will probably reboot.

If you turn it off, remove the battery and put it back, turn it back on and it's rebooted it sounds like the other backup battery inside isn't charged. You should leave your Zaurus on charge overnight to charge this up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HennaOjisan
post Dec 20 2003, 08:17 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 11-October 03
Member No.: 620



Actually, I don't think there is a backup (button) battery inside (at least the Cxxx). When you turn it off (via power button), it's actually in a sleep mode for fast "turn on". But when you remove the battery, it can't stay in sleep mode and its designed to automatically reset and reboot. So if you need to pull the battery, I think its better to go to the menu and choose "Shut down" as opposed to "turn off" via power button. I know this is not a standard "PDA" concept... It's just like your desktop box.

HennaOjisan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 20 2003, 07:05 PM
Post #4





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Foxdie or other C7xx users,
Can u confirm if your Z will wake up to te same screen after you removed the main battery? From the posted pictures of 'exposed' C7xx systemboard, I dont think I saw any compartment for backup battery.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HennaOjisan
post Dec 21 2003, 06:48 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 11-October 03
Member No.: 620



My C760 always reboots when I remove the battery. I have never seen my num pad come up (immediately) regardless of the charge.

HennaOjisan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Dec 22 2003, 05:38 AM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



Holy crap you're right. I must have only taken my battery out for a second, I took it out for about 5 and put it back in and it rebooted. Sorry for the useless info above :oops:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 22 2003, 03:16 PM
Post #7





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



If you want to remove the battery but not reboot (not sure why ?), then plug it into the mains. Then you can remove and then replace the battery without it rebooting.

Only real use for this is if you have more than one battery. You can hot swap and charge the other one, or when is almost drained, switch over.

Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2014 - 03:10 AM