OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> pdaXrom and C750 = flickering, but it only happens in landscape
008
post Oct 13 2004, 07:56 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 27-February 04
Member No.: 2,070



I just recently flashed my C750 with RC5, and the first thing I notice is flickering on scrollbar of aterm, where there is a vertical line. It happens close to the edge of the screen on both sides, but it is not as apparent in the middle. However, this goes away when I put the PDA in portrait mode, no flickering at all, horizontal or vertical.

This didn't happen in cacko, and I'm not overclocked, is pdaXrom using an optimized ati w100 module or something?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Oct 13 2004, 08:29 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



ssshhhh.. be werry werryy quiet...

Yes the pdaXrom is using a "hacked" version of the ATI drivers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
008
post Oct 13 2004, 09:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 27-February 04
Member No.: 2,070



lol.. I see how it is.. biggrin.gif

Since your here, I might as well ask where can I get the source of SDL that you used to compile quake with? I imagine there must be all sorts of hacks and patches.. I'd like to build a couple of things tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikm
post Oct 13 2004, 09:34 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 13-April 04
Member No.: 2,827



Now I got it, got all the parts in the pussle. It flickers in the landscape mode on pdaXrom but not in Sharp's rom just because the data on the framebuffer was originally always arranged for the portrait mode, and on Sharp's rom, the rotation for the landscape mode was made completely in software. On the pdaXrom instead, the rotation is achieved in hardware with some nifty hack involved. That's why it flickers.
Now that I understand it, I would say let's just keep it that way, not going back to software rotation as it is a pain in the arse to program and it would certainly work slower smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
_Psycho
post Oct 13 2004, 09:37 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,057



While you asked that, Laze do you know if the SDL lib for pdaxrom has the FB enabled ? I think thats could make quake quite faster, but you would also have rotation problem maybe smile.gif

Just curious !

My screen flick too on my c700 (I thought it was me since i changed my screen last week and i had a connector problem hehe)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amrein
post Oct 13 2004, 11:17 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 20-February 04
Member No.: 1,950



For me, flickering has always been a XFree86 "feature" wink.gif

The only X11 server without flickering I know off is xorg 6.8.1. I saw a few comments about flickering removed on freedesktop.org too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikm
post Oct 13 2004, 11:35 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 13-April 04
Member No.: 2,827



QUOTE(amrein @ Oct 13 2004, 11:17 AM)
For me, flickering has always been a XFree86 "feature" wink.gif

The only X11 server without flickering I know off is xorg 6.8.1. I saw a few comments about flickering removed on freedesktop.org too.

That's another kind of flickering smile.gif Maximise the brightness on your Z, run Aterm and press enter enough times so that the scrollbar on the left appears. Now look at that scrollbar and see it flickering.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amrein
post Oct 13 2004, 12:11 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 20-February 04
Member No.: 1,950



Tested. I have understood. Screen flickering because of hardware screen refresh.

The more the environnement temperature is far from default temperature use, the more I see flickering on all kind of pda screens. Normal.

Sharp screen flickering is difficult to notice when compared to other device. 008 I guess you were using a very high contract level or perhaps the power supply.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Oct 13 2004, 02:13 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Please start new a thread if your question/comments are not related to the thread topic - it makes much easier for other people to find stuff and also search/browse the forums before asking.. There is a thread named Quake source :-)

Anyway: http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/source/quake1src.tar.bz2

Not much have been done to optimize either Quake or SDL - if the right programmer sat down and optimized it I think it can run above 30 fps :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
008
post Oct 13 2004, 02:24 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 27-February 04
Member No.: 2,070



Okay, sorry about that!

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 03:37 PM