OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SL-6000 NO Wireless :angry:
bpasdar
post Oct 19 2004, 08:57 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-October 04
Member No.: 5,105



Hello All,

I just purchased a brand new SL-6000 pda and to my great disappointment I have not been able to get the wireless working.

Once or twice it connected but managed to diconnect quickly after that. At home I run WEP and it pretty much laughs at me. It gives me a message to check my wep or ip address.

Can someone tell me what I could be doing wrong in getting the siplest of all functions to work?

I managed to connect my linux desktop to the unit via usbnet and SSHed into the unit and saw that they are using wlan-ng drivers. Can someone tell me how to manually start the wireless on the SL-6000.

ANY help is appreciated.

Thanks

Babak mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skoorb
post Oct 19 2004, 09:14 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 4-April 04
From: Virginia
Member No.: 2,662



the command

usbctl on 1

will turn ithe power on to it


ifup wlan0

should turn the int on
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nevarrie
post Oct 20 2004, 11:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Kansas City Kansas
Member No.: 1,112



one things with WEP that I have found with my 6K is that some networks use a "sharedkey" and others use and "opensystem". Changing this is usually how I have been able to get my Z to connect to networks with WEP...Also I found the WEP key needs to be in all 4 lines in the wlancfg-SSIDNAME file or it will nto connect(The sharp rom shoudl do this 4 you)...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bpasdar
post Oct 24 2004, 04:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-October 04
Member No.: 5,105



Thanks for the response all.

I finally got it working and am off to my next challenge of getting gcc installed. Any advice on finding gcc for the SL-6000.

Thanks again.

Babak
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bpasdar
post Oct 25 2004, 12:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 19-October 04
Member No.: 5,105



By the way - I want to add that the wireless started working after Sharp replaced my SL-6000 aparently it was bad hardware.

Babak
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 12:55 PM