OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Video playback on the 6000, Kino 2, etc.
markwaldin
post Apr 9 2004, 01:07 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-April 04
Member No.: 2,762



I am a recent purchaser of the SL-6000. Very cool product. However, I am trying to run video on it in wmv, avi, or mov format and the player installed on it appears to run ony mpeg-1.

Does anyone know of a player that will play these files? I tried kino but it does not function on the 6000.

Any help would be appreciated smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
yodabob
post Apr 9 2004, 05:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 9-February 04
Member No.: 1,671



You might try download the trial version of tkcVideo for the CX000 series. It's a wonderful app, but it may be a bit early for 6000 support. I can tell you definitely that the 5000 version does NOT work on the 6000. You might try e-mailing Shawn from their page and see if he knows. Let the ZUG know what you come up with !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markwaldin
post Apr 13 2004, 08:27 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-April 04
Member No.: 2,762



Thanks for suggestion. I did talk to Shawn at the Kompany. I downloaded the CXX version of tckVideo and unfortunately it does not work on the 6000 either. Right now Shawn does not know when he might have video running on the 6000. This is very limiting since the media player that comes with Zaurus only does MPEG-1 and only displays the video in a quarter of the screen since MPEG-1 displays only CIF and the player has no zoom function. Bad implementation.

I also downloaded and tried the tckGallery application demos for both 5000 and CXX series to see if they would run. Alas, neither of those operate either on the 6000.

I guess it may be some time before much software is produced for this product.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Apr 13 2004, 11:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



Try searching the forums for 6000 and tkcvideo. Someone has got it working. Have you tried running it from the terminal to see why it doesn't work? If it's having problems finding libraries, it could just be the library path problem that exists on the other Z models where everything in /home/QtPalmtop/lib has to be linked to /usr/lib .

Also, zooming is done by running an app in a lower resolution by holding the stylus down on the app's icon and selecting the magnified option.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivel
post Apr 14 2004, 08:37 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Vancouver, BC
Member No.: 560



QUOTE
I downloaded the CXX version of tckVideo and unfortunately it does not work on the 6000 either.  Right now Shawn does not know when he might have video running on the 6000.
I also downloaded and tried the tckGallery application demos for both 5000 and CXX series to see if they would run.  Alas, neither of those operate either on the 6000.
I guess it may be some time before much software is produced for this product.

Unfortunately until Sharp decides to market the 6000 to consumers, there will be very little incentive for commercial developers to develop for the 6000. I recently contacted Sharp in order to get development information on the 6000, I was referred to the non-exisitant Sharp developers web site, which I was told will be up shortly!
A fairly senior marketing person at Sharp, pretty much told me that they are not interested in general 3rd party developers. They are only interested in supporting vertical markets. i.e they are interested in developers that can go sell a packaged solution, inlcuding a Zaurus into the corporate market.
This may not help you with your video problems, but SafeDee, is at least one commercial product that works succesfully on the 6000 series. They may be others.
Regards,
Clive
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 14 2004, 09:16 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



What about mplayer? (with xmms as a front end if you need it)

Or the Sharp-feed version of opie-mediaplayer2 may also work (no idea where this feed is now though).

Simon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Apr 19 2004, 11:24 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



You may try kino2 (available for download at this site). 6000 should be using the same ATI video chip, so it might work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coolass
post Apr 19 2004, 01:41 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,852



I tried kino2 but it didn't work for me .It kept sending every thing to media player, I wonder if we can install new codecs for sharp media player like you do for xmms,opie ect....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lwong
post Apr 21 2004, 06:05 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 18-March 04
From: USA
Member No.: 2,388



Just installed the copy from my 5500 and it works just fine. The pitures are a bit more grainybecause of the higher resolution but overall it works. Don't know if the XScale version will work better or not.

FW
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AsLan^
post Sep 4 2004, 08:44 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 3-June 04
From: Seoul, Korea
Member No.: 3,555



Hello, I was hoping this wouldnt need its own thread but could somebody please tell me which video player software (mpeg4, divx etc.) works on the SL-6000 ?

yodabob said he got tkcvideo working after setting it to run zoomed but didnt say definately which version of the player he was using 5xxx or 7xx

I would love to watch video on my z (except mpeg1).

Also i tried kino2 and vlc but I couldnt get them to work, maybe its me ?

I dont mind paying for software but Dr Z and tkc dont mention any 6000 support.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Sep 4 2004, 09:01 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



I have dr z. It plays, but not well. Stuff that plays perfectly on my iPaq is really choppy on the z. I don't know if it's the screen or the video system in general.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AsLan^
post Sep 5 2004, 01:37 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 3-June 04
From: Seoul, Korea
Member No.: 3,555



the ipaq has half the resolution of the z with the same processor doesnt it ? i think the higher res puts more work on the processor.

Have you tried Dr. Z zoomed ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Sep 5 2004, 12:50 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



pretty choppy both ways. A friend of mine, Duffman, had a dvd rip that played pretty well with Dr Z so I think it's an encoding issue. Havn't really had time to play with it, that and I'm waiting for the new desktop to show up. Lost more horsepower when it gets here for this type of thing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stevevw
post Sep 7 2004, 10:52 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 21-June 04
Member No.: 3,510



I have Dr Z and it works decently for me.

I am currently trying to get mplayer to work well as I would prefer to have my audio encoded in ogg format.

Mplayer works but it only displays in a small window (the size of about 1/8th of the screen) no matter the build or options i have used thus far.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AsLan^
post Sep 9 2004, 01:48 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 3-June 04
From: Seoul, Korea
Member No.: 3,555



well I just downloaded Dr Z and I must say Im quite happy with it.

The encoding and video size seems to make quite a big difference...

the best results Ive gotten so far are from a 150mb 432x320 video clip encoded with divx and mp3 playing in the zoomed player.

I did reencode it to 320x240 but ffmpeg changed the audio codec to mp2 (layer3) and the performance was okay but actually played better in vga mode. Im going to try keeping it at mp3 because I suspect thats where the performance hit might come in.

EDIT: ffmpeg was also changing the video codec to mpeg4, which doesnt seem to give the same performance as divx5. I dont really use windows, its a shame it dr z. doesnt support the xvid codec.

Overall, Im happy.

Now... to find a decent priced GB CF card. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 03:32 AM