OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Video playback on the 6000, Kino 2, etc.
saakmotu
post Dec 22 2004, 07:25 AM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 4,802



oops.. yes, how embarrassing..
I replaced it with one that is 320x240 (I think wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 2 2005, 02:24 PM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



Kino 0.4 is out Link

Dowloading... , very slow though. Can't wait to try it out.

edit: won't lauch, disappointed sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vputz
post Jan 3 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 4,529



Trying all this on a 6000L, OZ 3.5.2, and having some issues.

Using Gab's supplied mplayer.conf and fb.modes files, I tried the katmari file, and I get playback which is inverted 180 degrees from the keyboard, full width, but only a wee little strip, maybe 2/3 of the height of the video file (in the seriously drug-induced katmari file, in the opening scene you can't see the cows, and in the, er, "singing ducks and geese" segment, it cuts off right below the beak of the third duck; the bottom duck is not visible).

The text output of mplayer may be of interest; it says among other things "QT_GetRotation: Read spec from '/tmp/qtembedded-root/QtEmbedded-0.spec' Rot=0, Qvga=0". Since we're trying to use qvga mode in the mplayer config, I'm guessing that's not a good thing... and there IS no '/tmp/qtembedded-root/QtEmbedded-0.spec' (not sure what I should put there for a SL-6000).

Earlier in the mplayer output theer are the lines "SDL: Using driver: qtopia" and "Opening video filter: [rotate=1]"...

Am I missing something?

-->VPutz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vputz
post Jan 4 2005, 08:51 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 4,529



Answered my own question; with the given files, the "-vo fbdev" bit was missing, so it wasn't using the FB anyway. Adding that to the command line (I'll put it in the config at some point) fixed it.

Got my fullscreen video now, so the katmari file even shows the proper number of singing ducks and geese in all its psychodelusional glory.

Funny thing is, I really don't have any video I want to watch on the Z, but it bugged me not having it work (heh).

-->VPutz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vputz
post Jan 4 2005, 08:53 AM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 4,529



Hmm--only now, with the fbdev option, the video plays wonderfully but I can't use any keys to control the playback, or quit the video player. Close...

-->VPutz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jan 5 2005, 01:30 PM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I think the cancel button might quit the video player.

edit: I appear to have been wrong on that. sorry.

I'm p[laying with dropping the .0007 mplayer for xmms embedded from oz 3.2 (i'm on oz 3.5.2 opie --it would be .0005 version for sharp) over the mplayer.bin and using xmms. works well.. have to check out the fbmodes though.. right now all is tiny. at any rate I can control and stop the video (though with frame buffer it is kinda by guessing where the xmms controls are) and the ac=mad bit works nicely. it is maybe a little closer?
opiemediaplayer2 at first look --after installing an endless string of libxineblah.ipk is coming along too. I only tried one sample, but video played though audio droppped out.posiibly another instance of having to force it to use mad.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Feb 13 2005, 04:20 PM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



see the post in the software section: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10754

my package:
kino2 0.4.2 from cacko's site
mplayer 1.0.1-1 from atty.jp
default setting + advanced options: -vf rotate=1,scale=480:640
matrix trailer from http://web.mit.edu/~anrp/www/zaurus/mplaye...240_512_128.avi

gives me acceptable full screen playback on 6k, the best option I can find so far. I'm falling back to stock kernel. I expect the fast kernel with overclocking will give me better results
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Feb 16 2005, 11:24 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Newb question:

The video i had encoded for my 5500 plays slowly if at all on the 6000 using the kino2 and mplayer mentioned above.

Do i need any libs such as ffmpeg and libmad?

Do I need to encode video using a different standard than I did for the 5500?

Thanks in advance!

[edit] OK...newb not reading carefully [/edit]

A few questions:

1) if we were to encode for 640:480 or vice-versa, would we need to change the fb.modes? Would this change the performance or looks?

2) can i get Kino2 to open nfs directories?

3) is anyone else finding that the screen remains "painted" after quitting mplayer/kino2? I can refresh this easily by rotating, but...annoying!


Thanks for all the work done by you beautiful developers and hackers...I hope to one day join you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Feb 17 2005, 01:46 AM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE
if we were to encode for 640:480 or vice-versa, would we need to change the fb.modes? Would this change the performance or looks?

no, don't enchode in 640x480. we're not there yet. The framebuffer is not big enough for 640x480. Even it's big enough for that, I doubt the hardwares, bus speed, CPU, etc can keep up with the 4x more data than encoded in 320x240. We are not in the 640x480 era yet.
The -vf scale=640x480 is to interpolate the 320x240 to 640x480 so expect the speed disadvantage. It's not as smooth as on 5x00 for full screen playback.

QUOTE
is anyone else finding that the screen remains "painted" after quitting mplayer/kino2? I can refresh this easily by rotating, but...annoying!
Yes, that is annoying, don't know if it's on the other devices as well.

QUOTE
Do i need any libs such as ffmpeg and libmad?

I don't think so.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Feb 18 2005, 08:16 AM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



QUOTE(xjqian @ Feb 17 2005, 01:46 AM)
QUOTE
if we were to encode for 640:480 or vice-versa, would we need to change the fb.modes? Would this change the performance or looks?

no, don't enchode in 640x480. we're not there yet. The framebuffer is not big enough for 640x480. Even it's big enough for that, I doubt the hardwares, bus speed, CPU, etc can keep up with the 4x more data than encoded in 320x240. We are not in the 640x480 era yet.
The -vf scale=640x480 is to interpolate the 320x240 to 640x480 so expect the speed disadvantage. It's not as smooth as on 5x00 for full screen playback.

QUOTE
is anyone else finding that the screen remains "painted" after quitting mplayer/kino2? I can refresh this easily by rotating, but...annoying!
Yes, that is annoying, don't know if it's on the other devices as well.

QUOTE
Do i need any libs such as ffmpeg and libmad?

I don't think so.
*




Thank you for your clear replies, xjgian. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Aug 1 2005, 01:55 PM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Any new developments re: video on the 6000?

I've been using the Zplayer and bvdd mplayer combo (Kino was too delicate for me) with "-vf rotate=1,scale=640:480" in the additional options, and so far I've had a fair amount of success with the first movies I ripped using Handbrake -- Singin' in the Rain and other oldies. Are there any additional commands that can speed things up a bit or smooth them out?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Oct 14 2005, 04:12 PM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(xjqian @ Feb 13 2005, 04:20 PM)
my package:
kino2 0.4.2 from cacko's site
mplayer 1.0.1-1 from atty.jp
default setting + advanced options: -vf rotate=1,scale=480:640
matrix trailer from http://web.mit.edu/~anrp/www/zaurus/mplaye...240_512_128.avi

gives me acceptable full screen playback on 6k, the best option I can find so far. I'm falling back to stock kernel. I expect the fast kernel with overclocking will give me better results

Thanks xjqian,

This did the trick for me. Actually there are newer versions out:
Kino2 0.4.3 http://www.elsix.org/index.php?w=project&p=kino2
mplayer 1.1.5 http://atty.skr.jp/?Zaurus%2Fmplayer

I haven't done extensive testing with video(just a mpg), mostly I have been using it to play streaming audio (since tkcPlayer doesn't stream).

Thanks!

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 9 2006, 01:07 AM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



I've had some great success with some recent Futurama episodes.

These were already in DivX .avi when I reencoded them for the 6k, but I'd think you could start from any type of file.

Using Quicktime 7, I went into "Movie Properties," selected the video track, and rotated clockwise using the curved arrow button. Simple, though this didn't work for me using the same process in Quicktime 6.

I then exported the file using the latest DivX codec. 1:1 ratio, 540x480 (or that ballpark), 15fps, 450kbps, Better Quality, 2-pass encoding, with an MP3 audio track @ 64kbps/mono. That gave me an 80MB file of a 20-minute episode that played very, very well, though it still chokes a bit during the title sequence (blazingly fast, if you know Futurama). I'm sure by adjusting the keyframe and modulation sliders, I could tweak a bit more performance out of it.

I'm using the bleeding-edge version of zplayer (which trumps Kino), and using the following mplayer settings: -really-quiet -framedrop -cache 2048 -vo fbdev -fs

In any case, this gets a bit more use out of the 6k's beautiful screen, and has dazzled some casual onlookers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Feb 12 2006, 02:02 AM
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(eji @ Feb 9 2006, 04:07 AM)
I'm using the bleeding-edge version of zplayer (which trumps Kino), and using the following mplayer settings: -really-quiet -framedrop -cache 2048 -vo fbdev -fs
*

Thanks for the heads up. The latest zplayer do perform much better then Kino and I love the black background. regarding the options
-really-quite: I didn't use this since I'm not lauching it from console
-framedrop = select drop frame "normal"
-cache 2048: used
-vo fbdev: I don't think this is necessary. If you click "About", it shows the ZPlayer selects fbdev as default for 6k
-fs: this is really nice - centers my movie

It plays my 1.5hr movie (478MB, xvid, 608x320, 12fps, stero) pretty well from my newly acquired 8GB Seagate microdrive (except for a fast dancing sequence, the vedio frame can't keep up). I can upload a clip later. I'm interested to see the performance on other roms (cacko, pdaX, and gulhem) and using fast kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Feb 22 2006, 01:01 PM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Does all this differ from the fbmodes and qvga settings mentioned earlier in this post?

zplayer is really quite smooth, and redraws the screen after a full-screen movie.

@eji: have you ever compared the encoding that mencoder does with quicktime?

Does it hurt anything to put a sample of before and after to see what you're getting?

Thanks all!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 04:04 AM