OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

18 Pages V  « < 13 14 15 16 17 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Debian with Xqt, Running Debian(complete) & Qtopia
unplug
post Apr 18 2005, 09:40 AM
Post #211





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 5,742



Should be
CODE
umount

not uumount
You can use
CODE
make.ext2 /dev/mmcda1 (mine is 6k)

to format your sd card.

You can use
CODE
mount

to see where /mnt/card is mount from and format it.

good luck
unplug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 18 2005, 10:14 AM
Post #212





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



That did it, unplug!!

THANKS,

Mark
C3000 Zster that obviously needs to get his eyes checked... rolleyes.gif


QUOTE(unplug @ Apr 18 2005, 09:40 AM)
Should be
CODE
umount

not uumount
You can use
CODE
make.ext2 /dev/mmcda1 (mine is 6k)

to format your sd card.

You can use
CODE
mount

to see where /mnt/card is mount from and format it.

good luck
unplug
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 18 2005, 03:51 PM
Post #213





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



OK, managed to get through most of Debian install instructions per those in the PocketWorkstationXQT-Debian Wiki, dated Jan. 7, 2005....
<http://wiki.debian.net/?PocketWorkstationXQT>

I've gotten as far as the 'Final Setup Procedures' section, step no. 6....

I've stopped where it says just under that step 'You can remove the debroot/INSTALL.d file since it wasn't used anyways'.

The reason I've stopped here is that in the other X-qt-Debian instructions by smuelas on his webpage <http://w3.mecanica.upm.es/~smuelas/debianxqt.html> he says to follow the instructions by Klaus UNTIL the instruction "./debroot/INSTALL.d/postinst.sh".

However, I don't see that step listed in the PocketWorkstationXQT instructions that I've been using...

So...my question is, do I continue and follow the rest of the PocketWorkstationXQT-Debian Wiki instructions or ????

Thanks for any help!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 18 2005, 04:00 PM
Post #214





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



if you plan to use only xqt, then , no you don't need anything in INSTALL.d imho. I'd have a loock at the pocketworkstation docs and maybe shoot a note to klauss, though.
the fbvnc stuff is upadted... if it works on your 3k it might be woth looking at-- itis pretty cool, and with the shared memory setup might be snappier than xqt. The xqt setup is pretty slick, though , so if youa re just dying to get going, untar to debroot, setup xqt and chroot away:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 18 2005, 06:38 PM
Post #215





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for your input, adf....

However, as a Linux Noob, I'm not real sure what you mean by:

QUOTE
if you plan to use only xqt, then , no you don't need anything in INSTALL.d imho.


How does this relate to running Debian in this setup??

Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm in the process of learning Linux and trying to use my Z to help me along the way with my self-learning studying with some Linux books I have.... rolleyes.gif

Hopefully, my dumb questions will help some other 'Z noobs' out there...

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 18 2005, 10:21 PM
Post #216





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



keep in mind I have a 6000-- 3000 might do some diferent stuff... BUT, the basics should be the same.

INSTALL.d has setup scripts that setup the pocketworkstation fbvncserver/client and tie in to the sharprom setup for stuff like power management when you are in the pocketworkstation vnc

If you are using the xqt setup, then you won't need or use (right now anyway) the vnc stuff, nor will you require system integration scripts to be run, because you are already in your Qtopia system when you are using xqt. It simplifies things in this regard.

So.. don't bother doing the pocketworkstation setup stuff.. skip doing INSTALL.d/postinst.sh.

I find it helps to copy my /ect.resolv.conf to /debroot/etc/resolv.conf. your mileage may vary.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 19 2005, 06:07 AM
Post #217





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



THANKS A LOT, adf for clarifying this!

Now I get it.... rolleyes.gif

Really appreciate it!....

Mark
C3000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 19 2005, 07:00 AM
Post #218





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 19 2005, 08:03 AM
Post #219





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Sorry, but a few more questions....

1) I do see the StartX and X/Qt Server icons in my Qtopia Applications tab. I can open up StartX OK and I get the terminal window after a short wait. However, my shift key doesn't work.... huh.gif

I assume this relates to the keymap file...

When I typed in Sharp Terminal window:

CODE
#xmodmap .xmodmaprc
xmodmap: unable to open display ' '


Any suggestions how to get this working properly??


2) In the PocketWorkstationXQT - DebianWiki Instructions, under the heading 'You're Done!', it says "Click on the PocketWorkstation icon under your Applications tab".

I don't see any PocketWorkstation icon. Should I see one there?

Any suggestions on this?

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 19 2005, 08:08 AM
Post #220





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 19 2005, 04:03 PM)
Sorry, but a few more questions....

1) I do see the StartX and X/Qt Server icons in my Qtopia Applications tab. I can open up StartX OK and I get the terminal window after a short wait. However, my shift key doesn't work.... huh.gif

I assume this relates to the keymap file...

When I typed in Sharp Terminal window:

CODE
#xmodmap .xmodmaprc
xmodmap: unable to open display ' '


Any suggestions how to get this working properly??


2) In the PocketWorkstationXQT - DebianWiki Instructions, under the heading 'You're Done!', it says "Click on the PocketWorkstation icon under your Applications tab".

I don't see any PocketWorkstation icon. Should I see one there?

Any suggestions on this?

Thanks,

Mark
*


I always used rxvt -the terminal that comes up in X- to type
xmodmap path-to/.xmodmaprc
export DISPLAY=0:0

do it in rxvt (or xterm) and see how it comes out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 19 2005, 09:08 AM
Post #221





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks, adf...

Just tried that, but since my '/' key doesn't work, I can't type any paths in that window....

So here's what I tried (I'm working in directory where '.xmodmaprc' resides):

CODE
#xmodmap .xmodmaprc
xmodmap: unable to open file '.xmodmaprc' for reading
xmodmap: 1 error encountered, aborting.


Sounds like permissions problem???

Checked file and it shows:
CODE
-rwxrwxrwx  1  root   root   3076 Apr 19 08:20 .xmodmap.txt


Any ideas??

Also, what about my other question...should I see icon for PocketWorkstation in Applications tab??

Thanks!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 19 2005, 12:17 PM
Post #222





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



Yeah.... you need xmodmap to get the right keys in rxvt so you can make it all work....

use rxvt
do su

use the virtual keyboard to enter stuff till you have loaded the new keymap.

I should have mentioned su and the virtual keyboard, sorry
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 19 2005, 12:55 PM
Post #223





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks again, adf!

Don't know why I didn't think of using virtual keyboard.... rolleyes.gif

Meanwhile, just tried as you suggested but still get same error message
"xmodmap: unable to open file '.xmodmaprc for reading
xmodmap: 1 error encountered, aborting."

Any other suggestions???

Thanks,

Mark


QUOTE(adf @ Apr 19 2005, 12:17 PM)
Yeah.... you need xmodmap to get the right keys in rxvt so you can make it all work....

use rxvt
do su

use the virtual keyboard to enter stuff till you have loaded the new keymap.

I should have mentioned su and the virtual keyboard, sorry
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 19 2005, 01:01 PM
Post #224





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



download a new copy of xmodmaprc

maybe do
chmod 777 "path-to"/xmodmaprc
?

tell rxvt the fullpath to xmodmaprc when you do xmodmap

chroot after you do xmodmap..or put xmodmap in debroot/someplace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 19 2005, 01:56 PM
Post #225





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks, adf.....

Will try this later today when I can download file again & report back...

Thanks!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

18 Pages V  « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 07:57 PM