OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

18 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Debian with Xqt, Running Debian(complete) & Qtopia
freshroastedpean...
post Dec 3 2004, 07:22 PM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-November 04
Member No.: 5,642



OK, I was flat out wrong on the swap. I've had 2 kernel panics now with messages in dmesg about running out of RAM. Win some, lose some...mount your swap inside your chroot!

Cheers, JJ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MSC_Geek
post Dec 3 2004, 08:05 PM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 9-May 04
From: San Luis Obispo, CA
Member No.: 3,207



Ok,
Everything was working almost perfectly, and then I did the d'OH! and tanked my fstab. Can someone please post a copy of what they have in their fstab? Preferably someone who has a stock zaurus fstab, and not a new kernel /ROM setup. I'd be much obliged and my Z might be much less nuked. Thanks.

MSC_Geek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Dec 4 2004, 12:08 AM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



absolutely outstanding stuff.

What about using the OZ x-server (kdrive) instead of X/QT. wouldn't that be A LOT more powerful? (floating point better use of the bus etc...)
adf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smuelas
post Dec 4 2004, 11:23 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,026



Related to fstab I only add a line corresponding to the CF where I have Debian. I simply write:

/dev/hda1 /mnt/cf ext2 defaults 0 0

and never had a problem with it. When I begin Debian, I mount /proc on a corresponding /proc after Debian.

I have already tried to use the Xserver of openzaurus using the one included with GPE. The result has not been good as it seems that, althought doing Chroot, something from the original server was mixing with certain applications of Debian.
In fact, as Xqt runs so well, I haven't feel the need to look for other solutions. I try as much as I can but haven't found anything that can be compared.
Cheers
smuelas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chaosteo
post Dec 6 2004, 05:51 PM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 28-November 04
Member No.: 5,634



Hi Smuelas

I ended up picking up a 512mb cf card cheap from a friend for like $20 dollar since he is getting new SD digicams. I have been reading your insturciton page. I have some questions. I am prepared to learn now. Sorry i ask really stupid questions.. i am a total newbie

1. Where is the "jvr" instructions .. I cannot seem to find it throughout the site
2. Which Xqt should i download ? There are several files with Xqt at the japan feeds site.
3. How do i format my CF card to use ext 2?
4. Do you use a text edito like what? to Modify --or write-- the file " .xinitrc

thank you

James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hatchetman
post Dec 6 2004, 10:37 PM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 3-November 04
Member No.: 5,332



QUOTE
1. Where is the "jvr" instructions .. I cannot seem to find it throughout the site

I think you are looking for instructions by jfv, and you can find them at:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...indpost&p=41019
QUOTE
2. Which Xqt should i download ? There are several files with Xqt at the japan feeds site.

According to http://w3.mecanica.upm.es/~smuelas/debianxqt.html you can download all the latest packages at http://xqt.sourceforge.jp/feed-testing/. You can even add it to your ipkg sources list and install them that way. Install the packages according to jfv, although I doubt you need the glibc-locale files unless you want it in Japanese.
QUOTE
3. How do i format my CF card to use ext 2?

I haven't done this myself, but I assume you would use the mkfs.ext2 command. Make sure it's unmounted of course.
QUOTE
4. Do you use a text edito like what? to Modify --or write-- the file " .xinitrc

To edit text files you can use vi from the terminal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freshroastedpean...
post Dec 7 2004, 09:58 AM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-November 04
Member No.: 5,642



QUOTE
3. How do i format my CF card to use ext 2?


I don't know if this is necessary, but I have been using fdisk to re-partition the card to set the partition type to linux prior to running mke2fs. Essentially:
CODE
fdisk /dev/hda
p (prints the partition table)
d 1 (get rid of the default FAT16 partition)
n p 1 enter enter (make a new primary parition, #1, filling the card)
w (write the partition table)


Now run:
mke2fs /dev/hda1

and then mount it up.


This worked for me on my CF, CF microdrive, and USB drives with no problems so far.

Next, a question:

XQt/Deb works great, I have everything running well and when at work can chroot into the debian environment prior to launching XQt, export DISPLAY=1:0 and launch vncserver to get a VNC sesison running on my desktop machine. I've installed apache/mysql and GPSDrive inside the debroot and they all work great. At this point I would like to get Kismet and GPSDrive talking to each other. I have the Ambicom CF GPS and it works great on /dev/ttyS3.

Launching the gpsd that comes with qpeGPS and running the kismet under the Sharp environment (outside debian) does not work- kismet will not see the gpsd no matter what I try. The kismet.conf has been edited to support GPSD, but no go. GPSD is working, I can telnet to it and see data, qpeGPS works, and if I launch gpsd prior to chrooting into debian, I can launch GPSDrive and it sees the qpeGPSD and works great.

At this point I've searched the boards and googled my way around for hours and it appears as though either the qpeGPSD does not talk to Kismet, the complied-for-zaurus Kismet does not have GPS support built-in, or both. I've been unable to find an alternate gpsd that works, so I have one last-ditch attempt I want to make:

Use the GPSD that comes with GPSDrive.

To do this, GPSDrive needs to be able to see the Zaurus /dev/ttyS3 that is outside the debain chroot. Symlinking from the stock environment like this:
ln -sf /dev/ttyS3 /mnt/cf/debroot/dev/ttyS3
does not work.

Does anyone know how to either link or mount the Sharp /dev filesystem (like mounting the /proc system) into the Debian chroot? I'm googling my way around, but struggling...

Cheers, JJ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hatchetman
post Dec 7 2004, 11:21 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 3-November 04
Member No.: 5,332



I would think you could just create new device nodes after you chroot into Debian. Doing a man ttys on most linux machines pops up the instructions on how to create them.
CODE
mknod -m 660 /dev/ttyS0  c  4  64  #  base  address 0x03f8
mknod  -m  660  /dev/ttyS1  c  4  65 # base address 0x02f8
mknod -m 660 /dev/ttyS2  c  4  66  #  base  address 0x03e8
mknod  -m  660  /dev/ttyS3  c  4  67 # base address 0x02e8
chown root.tty /dev/ttyS[0-3]

I don't know if that will fix your problem, but it should at least create the nodes in your /dev directory.

[EDIT] Reading over your post again you said that it had to use the devices in the stock /dev directory. Are you sure this is true? I can't think of why they would work any different under your debian environment. Maybe I missed the boat with chroot though smile.gif [/EDIT]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smuelas
post Dec 7 2004, 11:25 AM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,026



Hi JJ,
I can't help you with kismet & gps. Never used :-(
What I can do is to give you some hint on your last question. What you want to do is exactly what is done to implement Gentoo on the Zaurus. I've tested it a few days ago and they did using a special trick that I haven't discover but that is related to the creation of some directories after Chroot with names like:
.usr.rom
Then, the mounting is done trought:
/after/chroot/some-bin/mount --bind /dev to/directory/chroot/dev
I've tried it with no succes, but really, it was just a try.
If you don't find the way, I suggest you to contact someone from Gentoo site.
smuelas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deniscallies
post Dec 7 2004, 01:02 PM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 28-March 04
Member No.: 2,539



Hello,
I made a mistake calibrating the pointer, so i cannot move the cursor huh.gif
so how can i recalibrate it?

thanks Denis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
byzantium
post Dec 7 2004, 01:38 PM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 29-November 04
From: somewhere in the northern hemisphere!
Member No.: 5,657



Hi gang,

Just wanted to ask if this topic on X/Qt with Debian is specific to the 6000L ? It looks like it might be of value to more than just 6000L users. If so, would you mind I moved it to the X/Qt forum?

cheers
byz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smuelas
post Dec 8 2004, 03:38 AM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,026



I have no specific preferences on sites.
If you think it would be better placed in X/QT, I'm o.k. with your proposal.
smuelas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smuelas
post Dec 9 2004, 02:19 AM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,026



NEWS!!
I have updated the "special" web page that I did for Debian with Xqt. You will find the updated ".xmodmaprc" and some interesting informations. Cheers!
smuelas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
byzantium
post Dec 9 2004, 04:55 AM
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 29-November 04
From: somewhere in the northern hemisphere!
Member No.: 5,657



cool! can you repost the link to your page?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smuelas
post Dec 9 2004, 07:18 AM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,026



Here is the site for Debian&Xqt:

http://w3.mecanica.upm.es/~smuelas/debianxqt.html

smuelas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

18 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 02:27 PM