OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Kphone working for PC to phone calls
seachicken
post Oct 31 2004, 03:02 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 4,979



Kphone-4.04 now working for PC-Phone calls smile.gif
I've successfully called a real phone in the UK from my Zaurus in Japan.

I've only used it with the sipphone.com service, here are my tips to get it working.
    [1] There seems to be a problem with the sipphone.com service (not kphone), I contacted their technical support and they gave me a workaround. Now by dialing 099 + country + area + number I am able to successfully make voice calls to real telephones. You should just be able to dial 00+country+area+number but this doesn't work.

    [2] I have found that the stereo headphones I have make a perfectly acceptable mic and earpiece. Just use the right ear as the earpiece and the left ear as the mic. The mic quality is not very good, but usable for phone calls. I have also used a Japanese mobile phone "hands-free" set. In this case you also need a 2.5mm->3.5mm jackplug adapter. The audio quality from this mic much louder and clearer than using headphones for a mic. A final idea for an audio setup is to get an adapter used to connect 2 mono mics into a stereo jack, you can plug a mic into one input and an earpiece into the other. I haven't tried this myself, but I think it should work.

    [3] kphone 4.04 works better than kphone-pi -0.97. Both are able to make calls, but kphone-pi cannot hang up. The application just stops responding to user input once the connection has been made. To terminate the call with kphone-pi you must kill the kppi process, and get the other party to hang up their end. Kphone 4.04 works correctly, just click the Hangup button to disconnect the call.

    [4] Both kphone and kphone-pi have problems registering with the sipphone.com service. You need to be registered with the service (the client normally registers you with sipphone.com when it starts up) before you can successfully make a call. The only way I have found to get registered is to start a second client when the first client is still running. For some reason the second client pops up a dialog box asking you for your password and then successfully registers, the first client doesn't do this and eventually times out trying to register. This is a bit messy, hopefully someone can figure out an elegant solution.
Finally, what to expect...
The calls are pretty cheap, and the audio quality is very good, however there is often a delay on the line of about one second and this is quite difficult to get used to (perhaps this delay will not be so bad when calling from the US). Also, the sipphone.com service offers 5 minutes of calls free each day to various countries, very nice, but I have yet to be able to make a free call with them with any client (including their own in WindowsXP).. this may of course change at any time, or be peculiar to my setup, since things in the world of SIP phoning seem pretty volatile.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
ratki
post Feb 5 2007, 10:30 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-January 06
From: Hungary, Budapest
Member No.: 8,922



Hi,

I've just insert the KphoneSI package with icons and translations in package anoncement list. (kphonesi_1.0.2_armv5tel.ipk)

It worked for me.

Best wishes,

Tamás
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeigerpuppy
post Feb 6 2007, 12:49 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 8,778



QUOTE(ratki @ Feb 5 2007, 10:30 PM)
Hi,

I've just insert the KphoneSI package with icons and translations in package anoncement list. (kphonesi_1.0.2_armv5tel.ipk)

It worked for me.

Best wishes,

Tamás
*


Thanks ratki!
It's working better than the previous version (ie: calls stay connected) but I get reproducible segmentation faults when trying to save audio connections and when hanging up..
but over all it's usable with GSM, hooray!
I even tried it using a 3G connection via bluetooth and I am pleasantly surprised to see that there is enough bandwidth to handle this with little delay.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Feb 8 2007, 04:40 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Feb 6 2007, 10:49 AM)
but over all it's usable with GSM, hooray!
I even tried it using a 3G connection via bluetooth and I am pleasantly surprised to see that there is enough bandwidth to handle this with little delay.
*



did you change some settings ? i've just tried via 3g and the sound isn't understandable...i tried a 4mn chat...

ps:i had a seg fault on exit although it doesn't seem bad
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeigerpuppy
post Feb 8 2007, 05:53 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 8,778



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Feb 8 2007, 04:40 AM)
QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Feb 6 2007, 10:49 AM)
but over all it's usable with GSM, hooray!
I even tried it using a 3G connection via bluetooth and I am pleasantly surprised to see that there is enough bandwidth to handle this with little delay.
*



did you change some settings ? i've just tried via 3g and the sound isn't understandable...i tried a 4mn chat...

ps:i had a seg fault on exit although it doesn't seem bad
*



I changed the audio mode to prioritise GSM over other formats or else you get very choppy audio. I suspect this is actually due to processor load not network bandwidth, but haven't tested it that extensively.
My settings: > preferences > audio

Audio Codec position:
ULAW: 2 ALAW: 1 GSM: 0 ILBC: -1 Speex: 4
Payload: 160

It actually segfaults also when you close this dialogue (does this help to bug track it?) but the settings stick and are there when you reload (coundn't find the config in /etc).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
seachicken   Kphone working for PC to phone calls   Oct 31 2004, 03:02 AM
Foxdie   When I try to dial out (the numbers I'm trying...   Oct 31 2004, 10:28 PM
seachicken   QUOTEWhen I try to dial out (the numbers I'm t...   Nov 1 2004, 02:56 AM
nyar   Hmm, will this work with a bluetooth headset given...   Nov 1 2004, 03:20 AM
nyar   Actually, scrap that, how the hell am I going to g...   Nov 1 2004, 03:21 AM
deniscallies   Hi, Bluetooth and WLAN is possible with the AIRCA...   Nov 1 2004, 01:50 PM
Foxdie   That would require the headset/handsfree profile w...   Nov 1 2004, 10:47 PM
nyar   Oh, damn. Anybody want a cheap Blue Monkey CF car...   Nov 1 2004, 10:49 PM
pgas   There are also bluetooth handsfree sets that comes...   Nov 1 2004, 10:51 PM
zeigerpuppy   I have installed kphone 4.04, works when I change ...   Jan 30 2007, 06:57 AM
johnsutton   QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Jan 30 2007, 03:57 PM)I h...   Jan 30 2007, 08:17 AM
jpmatrix   i'm trying to compile ekiga-2.0.4 undex pdaxii...   Jan 30 2007, 09:58 AM
xjqian   QUOTE(johnsutton @ Jan 30 2007, 11:17 AM)I wo...   Jan 30 2007, 05:02 PM
johnsutton   QUOTE(xjqian @ Jan 31 2007, 02:02 AM)QUOTE(jo...   Jan 31 2007, 03:14 AM
jpmatrix   QUOTE(johnsutton @ Jan 31 2007, 01:14 PM)dead...   Jan 31 2007, 03:18 AM
kkazakov13   here you go: http://z.drun.net/packages/gnome-doc...   Jan 30 2007, 10:12 AM
jpmatrix   QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ Jan 30 2007, 08:12 PM)here...   Jan 30 2007, 11:31 AM
Capn_Fish   QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 30 2007, 02:31 PM)QUOTE(...   Jan 30 2007, 01:46 PM
kkazakov13   I have it compiled since months http://z.drun.net...   Jan 31 2007, 03:51 AM
johnsutton   QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ Jan 31 2007, 12:51 PM)I ha...   Jan 31 2007, 12:31 PM
jpmatrix   QUOTE(johnsutton @ Jan 31 2007, 10:31 PM)If a...   Jan 31 2007, 01:54 PM
johnsutton   QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 31 2007, 10:54 PM)QUOTE(...   Jan 31 2007, 02:35 PM
ratki   Hi, I've just insert the KphoneSI package wit...   Feb 5 2007, 10:30 PM
zeigerpuppy   QUOTE(ratki @ Feb 5 2007, 10:30 PM)Hi, I...   Feb 6 2007, 12:49 AM
jpmatrix   QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Feb 6 2007, 10:49 AM)but ...   Feb 8 2007, 04:40 AM
zeigerpuppy   QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Feb 8 2007, 04:40 AM)QUOTE(z...   Feb 8 2007, 05:53 AM
portalgod   I installed the package from http://z.drun.net/pac...   Mar 29 2007, 07:33 AM
T3_slider   Bottom line: it probably won't work under Cack...   Mar 29 2007, 08:31 AM
jfv   I got speaq working on my C860 Sharp ROM so I expe...   Mar 29 2007, 09:49 AM
portalgod   QUOTE(jfv @ Mar 29 2007, 10:49 AM)I got speaq...   May 24 2007, 11:38 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 10:35 AM