OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> USB Mouse?, keyboard works-mouse howto? pointer app?
vputz
post Jan 11 2005, 05:48 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 4,529



Soundwave, I have to ask--wot the devil is that cradle you're using there? It looks like some sort of bizarre pivoting Z cradle. Intriguing.

-->VPutz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
saakmotu
post Jan 12 2005, 06:52 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 4,802



QUOTE(cwaig @ Jan 11 2005, 09:07 AM)
Only problem is that Yakty's Japanese, so all the instructions for how to use InputHelper are also in Japanese, so it does take a bit of figuring out...

Is there a nice English howto for this?
I had previously installed inputhelper, but wasn't able to produce any results. I guess I didn't realize that I also would need keyhelper.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
soundwave106
post Jan 12 2005, 07:58 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,667



Heh -- I think you are talking about the mounting layer that comes with the TargusTargus Universal IR keyboard.

In portrait mode the cradle actually works pretty well holding the Z normally, although the support arms are a bit finnicky. In order to use the USB port I'm having to lift the Zaurus with a rolled up mouse carrying case, but that's okay I suppose smile.gif.

I haven't had as much success using the Targus IR keyboard with the Zaurus in landscape mode (mostly because of the short range of the swiveling IR arm).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joshp
post Jan 12 2005, 10:44 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



Cool it works. Am useing a microsoft trackball dry.gif . It also seems to work with both a usb mouse and keyboard, though a hub. Thx for you work. This is so cool.

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aki
post Jan 12 2005, 02:51 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,061



I can only see a link to libusbmouseapplet.so.1.0.0. Is that the latest/greatest?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vputz
post Jan 12 2005, 04:56 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 4,529



> Heh -- I think you are talking about the mounting layer that comes with the
> TargusTargus Universal IR keyboard.

Aha; that explains it. Thanks!

-->VPutz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ashikase
post Jan 12 2005, 04:59 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Osaka, Japan
Member No.: 2,375



QUOTE
NOTE: When Yakty releases the new version of InputHelper, use that instead of libusbmouseapplet - remember to delete libusbmouseapplet before installing InputHelper though...

The new version (v 1.0) has been released.

I just noticed it on a Japanese news site (www.mobilenews.ne.jp) - with a note giving you credit (^_^)

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
saakmotu
post Jan 12 2005, 07:54 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 4,802



QUOTE(saakmotu @ Jan 12 2005, 02:52 PM)
Is there a nice English howto for this?

Well, lo and behold here it is.. I swear I didn't see it before.
http://yakty.s31.xrea.com/cgi-bin/wiki/lin...putHelperApplet

It's a little bit of a rough read, but should be workable. I will try it tonight or tomorrow and report back.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
saakmotu
post Jan 13 2005, 11:15 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 4,802



ok.. not so difficult for basic operation

I installed all 3 ipkgs, but I suppose that KeyHelperConf could be optional.

InputHelper "English"
http://yakty.s31.xrea.com/cgi-bin/wiki/lin...HelperApplet#i8

KeyHelper "translated"
http://216.239.37.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=...6lr%3D%26sa%3DG

KeyHelperConf "translated"
http://216.239.37.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=.../keyhelperconf/

I haven't been able to successfully do anything with KeyHelper yet.

Start InputHelper (from the konsole as root) with the following command:
CODE
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'handle()'


Once it's running, I was able to hotplug my usb mouse with no further mods.

I don't like having the spacebar be the "mouse click" for a couple of reasons.
1) Keyboard drawer must be open to get to the spacebar
2) When typing with the applet activated, the spacebar "clicks". To insert a space, you have to use the action button (or whatever it's called.. the button in the middle of the directional pad).

I haven't figured out how to make it use the action button instead... doesn't that make more sense?

Disable/Enable the pointer/clicking with
CODE
khctl disable|enable


or just khctl for a list of options
again as root...

it would probably be helpful to have a taskbar icon to turn it on/off... but I don't know how to do that, yet.
or, if we could figure out how to change the click from the spacebar to the action button, there would be a reduced need to repeatedly disable/enable the pointer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
saakmotu
post Jan 17 2005, 10:59 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 4,802



Solution for starting/stopping the InputHelper pointer.


as root

create a new file in /home/QtPalmtop/bin called "inputhelper" and chmod it 755
inputhelper
CODE
#!/bin/sh
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'handle()'



create a new file in /home/QtPalmtop/apps/Applications called "inputhelper.desktop"
inputhelper.desktop
CODE
[Desktop Entry]
CanFastload = 1
Comment = Enable/Disable Mouse Pointer
Exec = inputhelper
Icon = A_key5
Name = InputHelper
Type = Application
HidePrivilege = 1
Display=640x480/144dpi,480x640/144dpi


restart, I think...

This will give you an "InputHelper" icon in the "Applications" tab that you can click on to start/stop the mouse pointer.
Also, click and hold on that new icon and uncheck the "magnified screen" box.

Since I don't like having the "Record" button start up the voice recorder, I used "Settings/Application Key" to launch "InputHelper". It's a little slow since you have to hold down the Record button for a couple of seconds before it launches... you could use any other button of your choice, like the one with the little dot right above "Cancel", but I like to have that one mapped to "tab".

The pointer starts/stops quickly, but it sorta hangs with the little hourglass in the taskbar, which prevents you from rapidly starting/stopping the pointer in succession. Not sure why, it doesn't do that if you enter the same command from the konsole. Any ideas on how to speed this up?

Also, the documentation states that you can use either of these commands for InputHelper
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'handle()'
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'handle(int)'
where the 2nd option allows you to enter a number which will specify the number of clicks before the pointer will automatically stop, but I can't get it to work. Anyone?

Still haven't figured out how to use the dir. pad button instead of the space bar. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pieman
post Jan 24 2005, 10:27 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-January 05
Member No.: 6,299



Hi folks - looks like a grand forum you have here.
I'm a complete Zaurus and Linux virgin, but I'm being well tempted to stray from my current ppc ohmy.gif by this offering from Archos, the pma400

which I would like to use with a usb Twiddler 2 from Handykey, a combined chording keyboard and trackpoint mouse.


I know its not a Zaurus, but this thread came up in a google search for me, and looks very interesting. Forgive the numbty question, but Cwaig, or anyone one else, is there any reason why your fine looking applet shouldn't work with the Archos device (which runs Qtopia over Linux) or with the Twiddler, which is Linux compatible?

many thanks

pie
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 25 2005, 07:05 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



a newbie question. when i connected my usb mouse,

I got the following dmesg:

CODE
hub.c: USB new device connect to bus1/1, assigned device number 4
usb.c: USB device 4 (vend/prod 0xd62/0xa100) is not claimed by any active driver.


Does that mean the usb mouse is not supported?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 26 2005, 10:06 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



To articulate my problem:

* I installed inputhelper. From what I read, it should work out-of-box (at most a reboot) after installing inputhelper...
* I had the following module sspit out by lsmod
CODE
Module                  Size  Used by
sd_mod                 10736   2  (autoclean)
usb-storage            21840   1
scsi_mod               55376   2  [sd_mod usb-storage]
pxa_bi                 22160   0  (unused)
net_fd                 25872   0  (unused)
usbdcore               35008   0  [pxa_bi net_fd]
registers              27424   0  (unused)
kbdsim                  1008   0  (unused)
usbdmonitor             5248   0
vtty                    7920   0  (unused)
ext2                   33184   2
sharp_mmcsd_m          31520   2
prism2_usb             70944   0  (unused)
usb_ohci_tc6393        25936   0  (unused)
usbcore                54016   1  [usb-storage prism2_usb usb_ohci_tc6393]
p80211                 24176   0  [prism2_usb]


I'm suspecting maybe the fast kernel didn't have certain module loaded. Sorry for my laziness, I should have flashed back to check what I'm missing but I rely on my 6K to get some of my work done. Stablility is my current priority.

Do you guys know what module or step I'm missing? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 28 2005, 05:07 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



I looked up the source in linux-2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-common-20041002.tar.gz

seems I was missing the following two modules in the fast kernel

usbmouse
usbkbd

could somebody post the sharp stock modules for these two. and where I should put them? Thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 2 2005, 09:23 PM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I could use the modules as well... if they are being made....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 03:59 AM