OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No Sync - Intellisync on PC & SL-3000, Can't connect PC & SL-3000 to Sync
ArchiMark
post Nov 18 2004, 05:07 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Hope someone can advise....

Trying to sync my new SL-3000 with my laptop running WinXP Pro SP2, so far no go...

Installed Sharp software on laptop, using the file '5500v31u' that I downloaded.

Installed everything from that file except Qtopia Desktop.

Want to sync PIM info with MS Outlook.

Always get connection errors when I try to sync.

Have checked PC Link settings on Z (USB - I/O Default) and same on PC (USB - I/O Default).

Having problem if I set PC Link settings to 'USB - TCP/IP (Advanced)' on Z and match that on PC with Zaurus Manager.

Zaurus Manager complains when I set it to 'USB - TCP/IP (Advanced)' by popping up window saying that I need to connect Z. However, it's already connected....

Anyway, does someone have some advice as to how to be able to sync???

Thanks!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doseas
post Nov 18 2004, 10:32 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



The first time you changed the setting to "USB - TCP/IP (Advanced)", it should have prompted you to install a second driver. If it didn't then try uninstalling the Sharp software, rebooting the PC, and re-installing.

Another option is to go into the Device Manager and check the View > Show Hidden Devices option. Then, expand the Network Adapters to reveal one or more SL Series (NDIS 5) devices. Right click on each of them and choose "Uninstall...".

Reboot your PC and then place your Z in the cradle (turned on) and let Windows recognize the new device and prompt for the drivers CD.

The Z should be directly connected to the PC, not through a USB hub. You may also need to try a different USB port for Windows to recognize it.

One final piece of advice: Windows is pretty picky about USB devices -- always use the "Unplug or Eject Hardware" toolbar applet to "Stop" the device before removing the Zaurus from its cradle or turning it off. Otherwise, you'll need to reboot the PC before it will recognize the Zaurus a second time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 19 2004, 06:25 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for your help doseas!

Hmmm.....see several issues here right off the bat....

1) Been trying to sync Z with my ol' Libretto 110CT....no onboard USB. Using my FW/USB PC Card to provide USB. However, wondered yesterday if problem might be related to not using AC power supply with that card. In the past, with other devices that has been an issue.

So will try it with AC power supply to see if it makes a difference.

2) Good point about remove Z cable from PC....wasn't doing that...just do that to remove PC card....

3) Don't think I was ever prompted for second driver...

So might do reinstall...

So it goes... unsure.gif

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 19 2004, 12:08 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Well, no go so far....

Per previous posts below:

1) Don't have my USB PC Card AC adapter with me today, so can't try that idea out till later.

2) Have tried to uninstall 'SL Series (NDIS 5) devices' in Device Mgr...however, wouldn't let me do that. Got error message that device was needed for startup...

Did try rebooting PC and plugging in Z while turned on...but no sync...

I do get some communication with PC after clicking 'Sync Start' button on Z, as I see 'Synchronization in Progress' window open up on my PC....

However, after a minute I always get the error message about some 'communication problem....disconnect my Z, wait at least 30 seconds before reconnecting, check settings on Z and Zaurus Mgr, etc'....

Have same problem whether I try using 'USB -I/O (default) or USB - TCP/IP (advanced) as connection setting.

Any other ideas??

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 21 2004, 07:12 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Update:

Tried using AC adapter with my USB PC Card....doesn't make any difference....

Still get error messages... sad.gif

So NO sync yet!!

Has anyone else sync'd their SL-3000 with their PC???

Any other suggestions please??

Thanks!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 23 2004, 11:40 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Got Sync! cool.gif

De-installed Sharp English apps on PC and reinstalled the new apps for the SL-3000 from the Japanese CD...

Sync works!

Only thing is now I've got apps on PC in Japanese!! rolleyes.gif

Oh well...

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
judith
post Feb 13 2005, 12:48 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Lyon, FRANCE
Member No.: 6,462



Hi! I'm experiencing the same problems, the fact is that I first installed the programs given on the japanese CD (...drivers/network/slz...sys)
I don't understand why I don't have the connection.
Besides, have someone a link for an english version of the script?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Feb 13 2005, 07:46 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Judith,

First, you should double-check your settings on your Zaurus and see if they match the settings on your PC. I've found it's easy to think you've got them to match but they don't.....

On my C3000, it's called 'PC link'....

Not sure what script you're referring to....these are driver files or the desktop PC apps on the CD......

HTH,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
judith
post Feb 18 2005, 06:17 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Lyon, FRANCE
Member No.: 6,462



Thanks Marc, it works :
first I deinstalled everything (the intellisync included)
then put the zaurus' PC link settings on the TCP/IP connection option
installed again the zaurus CD : written in japanese... second link
then validation of all the parts of the process, confidently.
At the end, the connection to the PC was possible.
Putty works.
NB :
to let the zaurus be recognised as a mass storage device, the PC link settings on the zaurus must be put on Storage - internal HDD or different devices put on it CF /SD cards)
then plug the zaurus to the USB port... it's then useable as a big USB key
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bethanyb
post Feb 21 2005, 10:37 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 3-February 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 6,402



Well, I have a c860. I don't see an internal HDD option on my PC link setting. Is that only a feature of the c3000.

I can't get mine to sync via Intellisync or Qtopia Desktop. I tried both TCP/IP and IO settings. When I startup Intellilsync or Qtopia Desktop on my PC, the Dialup Connection pops up[my Internet connection is a dialup modem]. It seems to me that it's looking for a network connection and not finding it. I was not able to find any network adapters in any of the downloaded or CD files which I have, only WDM adapter files.

Anyhow, I am really confused and wondering if syncing my Zaurus is really worth the effort.

--bethany

QUOTE(judith @ Feb 18 2005, 06:17 AM)
Thanks Marc, it works :
first I deinstalled everything (the intellisync included)
then put the zaurus' PC link settings on the TCP/IP connection option
installed again the zaurus CD : written in japanese... second link
then validation of all the parts of the process, confidently.
At the end, the connection to the PC was possible.
Putty works.
NB :
to let the zaurus be recognised as a mass storage device, the PC link settings on the zaurus must be put on Storage - internal HDD or different devices put on it CF /SD cards)
then plug the zaurus to the USB port... it's then useable as a big USB key
*

unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bertram Wooster
post Feb 28 2005, 08:29 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 18-December 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,957



there's quite a good howto on syncing the c3000, posted by trisoft's marc stephan in this thread:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10691
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
judith
post Mar 2 2005, 01:40 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Lyon, FRANCE
Member No.: 6,462



bethany, of course you don't have the internal HDD option on your 860 : the microdrive was included on the sl-c3000 serie.
If it works the same way : disconnect the zaurus from the PC verify the adequation of the setting on both devices, then reconnect.
If it doesn't work : reinstall the drivers just like I did.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melee
post Mar 17 2005, 02:20 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 6,651



Hi All

A big thanks to Trisoft for the detailed installation instructions for Windows
I thought I was going mad until I read this forum and saw how many others had problems connecting.

Few pointers I learnt getting my C860 connected:-

Use a stand alone USB port

Don't install anything from the CD, just switch on and let Windows detect new hardware and ask for drivers, at which point enter the path to the install CD

(You dont actually need to put the Japanese CD in and load drivers from that, it can be the translated English ones. The crux of the matter seems to be that if you just go ahead and do an installation from CD, the network drivers don't get installed properly and Windows thereafter regards the Zaurus as removeable storage, reading the CF card but not communicating with it)

When syncing, keep the Zaurus turned off until prompted to "Put it in the cradle".

good luck all and thanks again Trisoft, I'm off to start getting my Linux box talking to it now

Melee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 11:51 AM