OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Zroadmap, where to find latest version ipk?
tg
post Jan 5 2005, 10:21 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 9-March 04
Member No.: 2,230



It seems like the latest version of this application is at the following location:

http://roadmap.digitalomaha.net/download.html

However, the arm ipk's there seem to be for familiar and not zaurus rom.
Does anyone know whether version 1.0.8 has been packaged for Sharp roms?
If not, can someone please compile this (ideally this would be a nice addition to Cacko feed but any location with working ipk would be great).
Thanks for any help in finding this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
bam
post Feb 3 2006, 06:01 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



so this works with cacko and the new maps?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Feb 4 2006, 04:10 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



When I first installed Cacko on my C1000, I tried various versions of the zroadmap ipk and when I hit on one that worked, I stopped soooo, other ipks may work, but the only one I am SURE works cuz it's working on my C1000 is the one I uploaded above. I also am using the OLD maps because I happened to have them; didn't even KNOW there were NEW maps so I have NOT tried ANY new maps with my setup.

All I do is look up addresses with the zroadmap install I have on the C1000. On my SL-5500, I have qpeGPS installed and use a Digitraveler from Radio Shack (they no longer sell them) with a custom cable which I bought on Ebay from someone and so can use the GPS features on THAT Zaurus.

Zroadmap has an arrow on the screen which tracks your travel when you use it in a car and the names of the roads and intersections pop up on the screen as you pass them....very neat. The only thing I could never get to work with it is the voice. Flite always reads just the first intersection and then never "speaks" again. sad.gif

QUOTE(bam @ Feb 4 2006, 02:01 AM)
so this works with cacko and the new maps?
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Feb 4 2006, 05:00 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 4 2006, 07:10 PM)
All I do is look up addresses with the zroadmap install I have on the C1000.  On my SL-5500,  I have qpeGPS installed and use a Digitraveler from Radio Shack (they no longer sell them) with a custom cable which I bought on Ebay from someone and so can use the GPS features on THAT Zaurus.
 
Zroadmap has an arrow on the screen which tracks your travel when you use it in a car and the names of the roads and intersections pop up on the screen as you pass them....very neat.  The only thing I could never get to work with it is the voice.  Flite always reads just the first intersection and then never "speaks" again.  sad.gif

*

Sorry, but I'm confused. The arrow on the screen tracking your travel is on the screen of SL-5500, not C1000? And the reason is ..., you can't get GPS to work with C1000? or i'm totally off the track
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Feb 5 2006, 07:05 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



Well, I'll try to explain:
The Digitraveler can only connect through the serial port (or whatever that connection at the base of the SL-5500 is called) on my 5500. Since the C1000 does not have that type of connection; ergo, I cannot connect the Digitraveler GPS device to the C1000.

I don't have a CF card GPS or USB GPS device to TRY on the C1000. So, all I can do on the C1000 is look at static maps after I enter in an address. I cannot use the GPS tracking with it since I don't have a device which connects to it.

BTW, you need to set the icon for Zroadmap to "use root privilege" for it to work AND you must type in a viable address in the utility to have the maps show up. Also, your maps must be placed in one of the folders listed in the options of Zroadmap.

Do you have Zroadmap working on your device?

QUOTE(xjqian @ Feb 5 2006, 01:00 AM)
QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 4 2006, 07:10 PM)
All I do is look up addresses with the zroadmap install I have on the C1000.  On my SL-5500,  I have qpeGPS installed and use a Digitraveler from Radio Shack (they no longer sell them) with a custom cable which I bought on Ebay from someone and so can use the GPS features on THAT Zaurus.
 
Zroadmap has an arrow on the screen which tracks your travel when you use it in a car and the names of the roads and intersections pop up on the screen as you pass them....very neat.  The only thing I could never get to work with it is the voice.  Flite always reads just the first intersection and then never "speaks" again.  sad.gif

*

Sorry, but I'm confused. The arrow on the screen tracking your travel is on the screen of SL-5500, not C1000? And the reason is ..., you can't get GPS to work with C1000? or i'm totally off the track
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
tg   Zroadmap   Jan 5 2005, 10:21 AM
bolbit   will be interested too :-)   Nov 13 2005, 09:50 PM
bam   so did anyone find ipk's that work?   Nov 14 2005, 11:25 AM
bolbit   zroadmap_1.0.1-1_arm.ipk seems to work, but it doe...   Nov 14 2005, 01:17 PM
dbowden   QUOTE(bolbit @ Nov 14 2005, 04:17 PM)zroadmap...   Dec 15 2005, 11:42 AM
gab74   is it possible to have Europe maps on zroadmap ? i...   Dec 16 2005, 07:41 AM
dbowden   QUOTE(gab74 @ Dec 16 2005, 10:41 AM)is it pos...   Dec 22 2005, 06:27 AM
bam   I emailed the authors, and offered some "dona...   Dec 16 2005, 12:55 PM
loc4me   Is zroadmap the best map/gps program for the Zauru...   Dec 17 2005, 12:23 PM
bam   nope mail got returned to sender, alas there is no...   Dec 17 2005, 12:51 PM
dbowden   Don't give up yet -- The author (Pascal Martin...   Dec 22 2005, 06:13 AM
javahack   I tried to compile roadmap on cross development en...   Jan 25 2006, 12:56 PM
tombraider   I'm using the old old 1.0 version successfully...   Jan 25 2006, 04:31 PM
javahack   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jan 25 2006, 05:31 PM)I...   Jan 26 2006, 06:22 AM
tombraider   I only have Florida, North Carolina, Georgia,Tenn...   Jan 26 2006, 06:30 AM
ant   Is this a newer version? http://www.halcyon.com/w...   Jan 26 2006, 06:34 AM
dbowden   QUOTE(ant @ Jan 26 2006, 09:34 AM)Is this a n...   Jan 26 2006, 07:25 AM
dbowden   QUOTE(javahack @ Jan 26 2006, 09:22 AM)what m...   Jan 26 2006, 07:36 AM
Jon_J   I also have the 1.0 version, but the IPK is actual...   Jan 25 2006, 05:00 PM
Jon_J   javahack, The link that dbowden posted is the same...   Jan 26 2006, 07:54 AM
javahack   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 26 2006, 08:54 AM)javahack,...   Jan 26 2006, 09:58 AM
javahack   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 26 2006, 08:54 AM)javahack,...   Jan 26 2006, 10:12 AM
Jon_J   where did you find zroadmap_1_0_8? all newer versi...   Jan 26 2006, 01:54 PM
javahack   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 26 2006, 02:54 PM)where did...   Jan 26 2006, 06:59 PM
mbaush   Anyone managed to make it work on CX models ? I...   Feb 3 2006, 11:21 AM
s3ah0kzz   mbaush, Are you planning to use it for maps for Q...   Feb 3 2006, 01:27 PM
tombraider   I have an old version working on my C1000 - it...   Feb 3 2006, 04:07 PM
bam   so this works with cacko and the new maps?   Feb 3 2006, 06:01 PM
tombraider   When I first installed Cacko on my C1000, I tried...   Feb 4 2006, 04:10 PM
xjqian   QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 4 2006, 07:10 PM)All I...   Feb 4 2006, 05:00 PM
tombraider   Well, I'll try to explain: The Digitraveler c...   Feb 5 2006, 07:05 AM
ashikase   QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 6 2006, 12:05 AM)The D...   Feb 5 2006, 11:45 PM
xjqian   QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 4 2006, 07:10 PM)Zroad...   Feb 24 2006, 01:21 PM
tombraider   Actually, I have not done this in a while and at ...   Feb 25 2006, 05:30 AM
xjqian   QUOTE(tombraider @ Feb 25 2006, 08:30 AM)Actu...   Feb 25 2006, 12:23 PM
mbaush   Hello, I have installed the ipk, but where do i dr...   Feb 5 2006, 05:43 PM
tombraider   Put usdir.rdm in /opt/QtPalmtop/share/roadmap if y...   Feb 6 2006, 07:09 AM
bam   you need the usdir.rdm file for it to run...   Feb 5 2006, 09:31 PM
mbaush   I have unzipped, untar and dropped a few .rdm (map...   Feb 6 2006, 11:48 AM
tombraider   Heh, well, you did the hardest part. You should...   Feb 6 2006, 01:38 PM
bam   search for a valid address...then you will see the...   Feb 6 2006, 01:23 PM
Jon_J   Quickest way to find a street if this is your firs...   Feb 6 2006, 02:31 PM
mbaush   Great, thanks for the help, I got it to work. The...   Feb 7 2006, 12:32 PM
gab74   i try to run qpose on my c3100 but it is almost un...   Feb 17 2006, 10:21 AM
xjqian   I zoomed out too much and zroadmap crashed. Now zr...   Feb 20 2006, 02:40 AM
bam   QUOTE(xjqian @ Feb 20 2006, 02:40 AM)I zoomed...   Feb 20 2006, 05:18 AM
xamindar   Does anyone actually use this with a gps?   Feb 20 2006, 09:10 AM
tombraider   I use it with my SL-5500 with the Radio Shack Digi...   Feb 20 2006, 10:19 AM
Jon_J   There's a post in "Deals and Great Z Buys...   Feb 20 2006, 12:43 PM
tombraider   Nah, believe it or not, there's something in...   Feb 20 2006, 04:33 PM
Jon_J   Has anyone used this CF GPS card with a C3100/3000...   Feb 22 2006, 08:04 AM
Jon_J   Reading the roadmap manual Here: http://roadmap.di...   Mar 2 2006, 08:26 PM
xjqian   the USCB has released their 2005 TIGER/Line data a...   Mar 2 2006, 10:23 PM
juanr   Did anyone manage to have the latest ipk? Regards...   Mar 4 2006, 12:20 PM
dbowden   QUOTE(juanr @ Mar 4 2006, 03:20 PM)Did anyone...   Mar 4 2006, 06:41 PM
xjqian   QUOTE(juanr @ Mar 4 2006, 03:20 PM)Did anyone...   Mar 5 2006, 12:00 AM
juanr   dbowden, xjgian, Thanks a lot. Regards,   Mar 8 2006, 03:02 AM
xamindar   Is anyone able to compile a newer ipk? Also, is i...   Mar 10 2006, 06:53 PM
Jon_J   Just re-flashed to CackoLite, and it's a bear ...   Mar 17 2006, 07:17 PM
lucho   I don't play with my Zaurus much anymore, but ...   Apr 29 2006, 07:18 AM
xamindar   QUOTE(lucho @ Apr 29 2006, 07:18 AM)I don...   Apr 29 2006, 10:27 AM
xjqian   QUOTE(lucho @ Apr 29 2006, 10:18 AM)I don...   May 29 2006, 02:31 AM
xamindar   QUOTE(xjqian @ May 29 2006, 02:31 AM)QUOTE(lu...   May 30 2006, 03:53 PM
xamindar   Hey lucho, you still around? I reflashed back to ...   May 28 2006, 01:56 PM
xamindar   Ok, I got this package working! Here are the ...   May 30 2006, 06:42 PM
tombraider   xamindar, I followed your directions because I ha...   Jun 1 2006, 11:23 AM
xamindar   hmm, does it spit anything out in the console when...   Jun 1 2006, 11:45 AM
tombraider   Yeah, I uncompressed the files and I have the cou...   Jun 1 2006, 02:17 PM
xamindar   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 1 2006, 02:17 PM)SlSha...   Jun 1 2006, 03:35 PM
corky   QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 1 2006, 02:45 PM)hmm, do...   Jun 2 2006, 01:26 AM
xamindar   QUOTE(corky @ Jun 2 2006, 01:26 AM)Did you st...   Jun 2 2006, 01:51 AM
corky   QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 2 2006, 04:51 AM)QUOTE(c...   Jun 2 2006, 01:56 AM
tombraider   Ah, I did not uninstall GPSD and then reinstall i...   Jun 2 2006, 06:33 AM
xamindar   Corky, roadmap DOES run without gpsd running. I d...   Jun 2 2006, 09:54 AM
tombraider   Nah, I wound up going back to my old install of z...   Jun 2 2006, 10:01 AM
corky   QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 2 2006, 12:54 PM)Corky, ...   Jun 3 2006, 04:32 AM
tombraider   Yeah, I had to reboot to get the icons to show up...   Jun 3 2006, 05:50 AM
xamindar   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 3 2006, 05:50 AM)Yeah,...   Jun 3 2006, 10:27 AM
corky   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 3 2006, 08:50 AM)Yeah,...   Jun 4 2006, 01:42 AM
tombraider   When I install the 1.0.12 version, if I put the NE...   Jun 4 2006, 07:04 AM
corky   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 4 2006, 10:04 AM)When ...   Jun 4 2006, 09:23 AM
tombraider   Yes, I rebooted at some point...maybe not immedia...   Jun 4 2006, 10:45 AM
corky   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 4 2006, 01:45 PM)Yes,...   Jun 4 2006, 12:51 PM
xamindar   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 4 2006, 10:45 AM)Did y...   Jun 4 2006, 12:55 PM
tombraider   Yeah, I already did all that. Will try sometime ...   Jun 4 2006, 01:28 PM
thebaz67   I have found that even though I thought I changed ...   Jun 12 2006, 07:27 AM
Jon_J   I have zroadmap 1.0.3 (zroadmap_1.0-3_arm.ipk) ins...   Jun 2 2006, 10:16 AM
tombraider   Great, I'll try that version out tomorrow. ...   Jun 2 2006, 01:47 PM
tombraider   Okay, I downloaded zroadmap_1.0-3_arm.ipk from th...   Jun 3 2006, 03:21 AM
xamindar   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jun 2 2006, 10:16 AM)I have zro...   Jun 2 2006, 03:21 PM
xamindar   Interesting. I was under the assumption that the ...   Jun 2 2006, 10:42 AM
Jon_J   Help -> About says 1.0 © 2002, 2003 Pascal...   Jun 2 2006, 06:16 PM
Jon_J   I looked at my map files again and most US states,...   Jun 3 2006, 10:30 PM
xamindar   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jun 3 2006, 10:30 PM)qpeGPS wor...   Jun 4 2006, 01:46 AM
Jon_J   QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 4 2006, 04:46 AM)QUOTE(J...   Jun 5 2006, 08:40 AM
xjqian   was able to install the latest 1.0.12_1 version an...   Aug 4 2006, 05:48 AM
xjqian   is there any interest in zroadmap 1.1.0 (2006 US m...   Jan 17 2008, 11:42 PM
xamindar   QUOTE(xjqian @ Jan 17 2008, 11:42 PM) is ...   Jan 18 2008, 01:00 AM
the_oak   Sorry to be so late responding, but I just got my ...   Jun 26 2008, 09:38 PM
xamindar   Bummer no one ever got around to compiling a newer...   May 29 2010, 05:33 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 06:59 PM