OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Sync Problems With C860, I just cannae figure it out!
qkidda
post Jan 5 2005, 02:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Gullane (village east of Edinburgh, Scotland)
Member No.: 6,095



Hi,

Forgive me if I sound like a numpty, but I just can't get this going. I'm not a newbie to Linux ... been using it for a few years, but can't figure this bit out.

I have SL-C860 with Cacko ROM 1.22
Running on a Mandrake Linux 10.0 PC (2.6.3 custom kernel) with QT Desktop 1.7 installed
Also got Windows 98 with QT Desktop 1.7

I understand that since sharp "modified" the Qtopia storage for the PIM that it will no longer sync to those apps, but I've been reading on these forums and else where that with the Opie apps installed, QT Desktop can be used with this, since they use XML.

However, even without this fact I still have a problem:

What I can do ...
I can connect Z via USB and get IP over USB working happily
(using 192.168.129.201 as Z IP and 192.168.129.1 as PC IP)
I can ping both Z from PC and PC from Z.
I can ssh both from Z to PC and PC to Z.
I can mount //zaurus/home on the PC
I can mount //zaurus/system on the PC
I can do all these things when the Z is connected to my WiFi network too

I've managed to import my Palm calendar / contacts etc. (by the way ... discovered that the new Palm Desktop software, 4.14 crashes QT Desktop because it's got a different file format for the enhanced PIM applications - had to revert to an older one).

I've setup the QT Desktop Settings to point to the correct connection (i.e. either USB or LAN depending on how the Z is set up).

What I can't do for the life of me ...
Get the sync buttons on QT Desktop (running in Linux) to illuminate.
They illuminate in Windows, but I can't appear do anything with them.
In both, the connection status in the bottom right of the QT Desktop window is always red!

I've been hunting through Google and Forums for days now and am drawing a blank.

Could you please (no ... really, _please_) tell me how the 2 actually communicate. I only have the Z manual in Japanese, which is no use to me. I've tried all sorts of things, but QT Desktop just never illuminates these buttons.

How does QT Desktop contact the Z?
Is it all done via port 137 (samba / windows port)?
Does QT Desktop do an smbmount in the background when the sync button is pressed?
Is it done via ssh?
Do I also have to hit the "Start Sync" button on the "PC Link" app on the Z?
If so, when?
Do I have to stand on one leg and rub my head when launching any sync apps?

Ok, getting silly now because it's doing my head in :-(

So can anyone help me out please?

Thanks
Gav.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
bethanyb
post Feb 19 2005, 01:31 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 3-February 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 6,402



Hi,

I skimmed through your thread here. I have almost no experience with Linux, and cannot get my Z to sync or connect to my PC which runs Windows ME.
What's the difference between USB I/O and USB TCP/IP. I only have the USB SLvers3 WDM driver. Where can I get the USB TCP/IP Network Adapter if I want to try that?

I really don't want to use Outlook, as I've been able to avoid it so far. I'd like to use QTopia, but right now it looks impossible.

cyphactor--I tried the Zaurus Synchronization Repository, but as I have no idea what you guys are talking about I'm not sure what I ought to download --- a source tallbar (???) or an rpm (????).

Any feedback would be helpful.

--bethany
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cyphactor
post Feb 19 2005, 06:13 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-October 04
Member No.: 5,123



QUOTE(bethanyb @ Feb 19 2005, 09:31 PM)
What's the difference between USB I/O and USB TCP/IP. I only have the USB SLvers3 WDM driver.  Where can I get the USB TCP/IP Network Adapter if I want to try that?


The USB TCP/IP Network Adapter does not exist. It is a virtual adapter. It is basically stating to use a driver that will make your USB connection act as a TCP/IP connection. This is what is used in Linux synchronizations. The USB I/O just uses a normal windows USB driver to perform synchronizations.

QUOTE(bethanyb @ Feb 19 2005, 09:31 PM)
I really don't want to use Outlook, as I've been able to avoid it so far. I'd like to use QTopia, but right now it looks impossible.

cyphactor--I tried the Zaurus Synchronization Repository, but as I have no idea what you guys are talking about I'm not sure what I ought to download --- a source tallbar (???) or an rpm (????).

Any feedback would be helpful.

--bethany


Well, Zaurus Synchronization Repository produces zync, a command line tool which allows synchronization of ones Zaurus with the Linux desktop. Zaurus Synchronization Repository also produces zync-gui, a graphical front end for the command line tool. Zync supports a broad number of Desktop PIM applications via a plug-in system. Hence, you must download the plug-ins which you would like to use. Personally I suggest you use the RPMs and do the intsall from the RPMs. After downloading the RPMs one can install them by doing the following:

# rpm -ivh filename.rpm

Note: The above must be performed as super user.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
qkidda   Sync Problems With C860   Jan 5 2005, 02:40 PM
cyphactor   Well, here is one solution. You could always use t...   Jan 5 2005, 08:06 PM
Stubear   QT desktop for linux does NOT sync with the Sharp ...   Jan 5 2005, 08:17 PM
cyphactor   In that you are correct Stubear. However, thats wh...   Jan 5 2005, 11:29 PM
qkidda   QUOTE(cyphactor @ Jan 6 2005, 04:06 AM)Well, ...   Jan 5 2005, 11:55 PM
qkidda   QUOTE(Stubear @ Jan 6 2005, 04:17 AM)QT deskt...   Jan 6 2005, 12:08 AM
tumnus   Yes. Sharp completely changed the sync and PIM fra...   Jan 6 2005, 02:24 AM
qkidda   Thanks for that answer ... it's _exactly_ what...   Jan 6 2005, 03:01 AM
cyphactor   QUOTE(qkidda @ Jan 6 2005, 07:55 AM)QUOTE(cyp...   Jan 6 2005, 11:01 AM
qkidda   Thanks for that tip ... was just getting around to...   Jan 6 2005, 11:17 AM
cyphactor   QUOTE(tumnus @ Jan 6 2005, 10:24 AM)Yes. Shar...   Jan 6 2005, 11:19 AM
petya   Hi all! I have installed cacko rom on sl-c760...   Jan 8 2005, 11:22 AM
tumnus   It doesn't use port 21. It uses port 4242. I t...   Jan 8 2005, 11:57 AM
cyphactor   This all sounds like way too much effort. You shou...   Jan 8 2005, 01:56 PM
petya   Can it sync with evolution, or just qtopia desktop...   Jan 9 2005, 12:50 AM
cyphactor   Currently it only synchronizes with Kontact (KOrga...   Jan 9 2005, 02:25 PM
qkidda   I've ended up with a slight change in plan: I...   Jan 11 2005, 02:43 AM
cyphactor   It wont be a problem anymore after I get some plug...   Jan 11 2005, 09:27 AM
bethanyb   Hi, I skimmed through your thread here. I have a...   Feb 19 2005, 01:29 PM
bethanyb   Hi, I skimmed through your thread here. I have a...   Feb 19 2005, 01:31 PM
cyphactor   QUOTE(bethanyb @ Feb 19 2005, 09:31 PM)What...   Feb 19 2005, 06:13 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 09:33 PM