Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help Please In Usb Host
OESF Forums > Distros, Development, and Model Specific Forums > Model Specific Forums > C1000/3x00 General discussions
Hi guys,

The USB host thing is not working for me sad.gif . I bought a GoldX 5-in-1, as described in Meanies page. Then installed automounter C3000 0.4.6, and I hooked up with lots of devices, and had no luck--nothing appears (nothing diff happens) on my Zaurus. I thought that Zaurus reads it automatically. I have Qkonsole installed. So do I need to type in some code or something laugh.gif. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
I'm a newbie also, sorta.
Try an external hard drive with USB
If you're using the original Sharp ROM, I don't know if this works as below. I use Cacko.
If your'e running Cacko, and are using the correct cable/adapter, you should see a new source in the "Files" tab. This is the last tab in qtopia. Also you should get an onscreen message that says "Updating information" about 2 secs after you plug in the hard drive.
If you hard drive uses external power, make sure it's activated.
This is what I get in my files tab on my C3100
Storage /dev/sda1
I have an external hard drive enclosure with an old EIDE drive inside it. It takes an AC adapter. As soon as I turn it on, and plug it into my Zaurus, I have an additional drive on my Zaurus.

Hi, thanks for the response.

I use Sharp ROM.

When I hook it up, I don't see any special messages/ effects. And under file, I don't see any new device listed sad.gif

I wanted to use this as a mini laptop, so USB host capability is fairly important to me smile.gif
I think Cacko ROM includes the necessory drivers/libraries that automounts devices on the USB host.
Using the Sharp ROM, there should be a manual method to mount your devices.
Re-check Meanie's page. I'm sure he mentions how mount these devices,
and I also think he has a script on his page to automount devices.