Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: C1000 Screen - Visibility Outside
OESF Forums > Distros, Development, and Model Specific Forums > Model Specific Forums > C1000/3x00 Hardware
uMP2k
As a Zaurus newbie (so new I have not even bought one yet smile.gif ) I am wondering what the useability of the C1000 is outside.

Although I am new to the Z I have a lot of experience with PDAs (going back to the Newton and including a good number of Pocket PCs) and am wondering how the Z compares in this respect. My current Pocket PC, and Axim x50v, has a great screen but even that has its limits in direct sunlight so I am not expecting miracles.

I guess I just want to know that the Z screen is not a complete hopeless case in the sun.
daniel3000
The screen is not transflective, so if the sun shines brighter than the backlight behind the screen, you have no chance.
I can read the screen with maximum backlight outside in the shade without a problem. In direct sunlight it's inconvenient to impossible.

If you need a palmtop with excellent readability in direct sunlight, I recommend the HP 200LX :-)

daniel
uMP2k
QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jul 25 2006, 09:31 PM)
The screen is not transflective, so if the sun shines brighter than the backlight behind the screen, you have no chance.
I can read the screen with maximum backlight outside in the shade without a problem. In direct sunlight it's inconvenient to impossible.

If you need a palmtop with excellent readability in direct sunlight, I recommend the HP 200LX :-)

daniel

Well I guess that is a bit disappointing -especially as I live in sunny Perth, Western Australia.

Still, I am so damn keen to try one of these that I will probably still get one and see if I can live with it.
daniel3000
You could maybe build some kind of sunshield (like a big lens hood) from black thick paper.
I did this for a digital camera which did only have a screen and no view finder. Worked very well.

daniel
wrc4
QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jul 25 2006, 11:56 PM)