Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Zocalo Web Feed Reader (sharp Rom)
OESF Forums > General Forums > General Support and Discussion > Software
Pages: 1, 2
koan
Hi

Zocalo is a lightweight web feed reader for the Sharp ROM. It is designed for the PDA form factor, i.e. make sensible use of a small screen, use keyboard or stylus to navigate everything, don't use a lot of memory or disk space. It can handle RSS, RSS RDF and Atom.

I have been testing Zocalo for a few months now and it seems stable. There are a few minor issues that I want to improve in future releases and I have a lot of ideas for features that I want to implement. I plan to port to the other Zaurus Linuxes.

Please find more details at the Zocalo web page.

This image is linked to a screenshot of the latest version on my website:
speculatrix
woo, looks very smart, am impressed!

am interested in what you used to write it. just the regular qtopia kit?
koan
I have just uploaded a new version of Zocalo, version 1.1, please find it on the web page given above.

The new version includes a few fixes for minor bugs, modified behaviour if a download fails, uses the system preferences for displaying dates and slightly expanded setting dialog to change font size, network timeout etc.

It is written using the standard QT/Qtopia SDK.
MaBo
Hi,
Thanks for zocalo. This is at the moment my favourite rss reader on the zaurus.

I have two questions for additions:
-images. Some feeds have images. Including these when downloading and showing them in the message would be GREAT.
-improved navigation in viewer mode. When using my SL-C3100 in viewer mode (with the keyboard hidden), it would be nice to navigate through the messages using the scroll button. FOr instance: up: next message down:previous message. Cancel: back to topic list, OK: enter topic list. Cancel in the feed list would exit the application.

Again, thanks for the application!
MaBo
matthis