Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Devloping help
OESF Forums > General Forums > General Support and Discussion > Software
TuxGeek
I am somewhat new to linux and the Zaurus SL-5500. I need quite a good explanation on how to install the dev-image. I do know many computer terms, however, not really many of the linux terms and how to add lines to files. As you can see I need a lot of help.

I am useing a SL-5500 with a 512 mb SD card from SanDisk with the newest sharp rom.

Any help at all would be greatly apprectiated.

All the help I have gotten from these two is appreciated but hasn't done any good. Please I need more help.
Chaos
I can't help with the dev-img, but personally I'd suggest setting up a cross compiler on a full Linux box, as that has a) more space, and b) it's faster, even if the Linux box is old and slow (like my PII), because of RAM and other considerations.
Mag1c
Hi,

the install script of dev-img works for me out of the box. You have to be root to install and you should not run it more than once because it makes changes in /etc/fstab. After installation gcc should be ready for work.

so long
Mag1c
TuxGeek
Sorry but the Help I have received, though greatly appreciated, hasn't helped any. Can anyone else help me.
freizugheit
Get yourself familiarize with Linux system administration, unix command lines before embarking on programming.
TuxGeek
I am somewhat famliar but I guess I should learn a little bit more. Are there any suggestions on where I might learn them. Websites or books or anything.
freizugheit
Which specific areas you want to learn:

System administration
Network administration
Programming

Current level on the following:

vi : ?
Network knowlegde : ?
Progamming background: ?
TuxGeek
I just want to learn what it takes to get a c compiler such as dev-img or zgcc to work and use it. That it all
Thanks
cmisip
I have a howto for zgcc if you want to try it but I have it for the 5600.

http://cmisip.home.insightbb.com/zaurus.htm#CCN