Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Strange thought...Why couldn't I.....
OESF Forums > General Forums > General Support and Discussion > General Discussion
Omicron
This occured to me today....I know everyone uses Bluetooth to connect to the internet with the zaurus....but I thought why couldn't I run a cable from the MIc/Headphone of the Z straight to the headphone OUT of the phone and manually dial an ISP.

Is there no way to configure the Z to use the Mic-input as a TCP/IP medium?

I am a total newbie regarding hardware, so forgive me if this is a stupid question....it just seemed theoretically possible....

Thoughts?
Hrw
try KPhone/PI - it's VoIP telephone app
tumnus
I think Omicron is talking about using the headphone/mic socket on his Zaurus to connect to his phone instead of using a Bluetooth link, and use TCP or better yet serial comms over the cable.

It may technically be possible. There is a product out of Pocket PC iPAQs that turns the headphone socket into a consumer IR device using appropriate drivers. So someone would have to write software to drive RS232 signals and it would probably require a small box of tricks to convert the signals from the headphone socket into the correct form.

It's far easier though to get a SerialIO serial cable to connect the serial port of your Zaurus to your phone. Even if your phone has a special connector and serial cable too, all you need is a null modem socket in the middle to join the cables up.
amrein
To be able to use this kind of connector for serial communication yes.
To be able to use the Zaurus IN with the phone OUT and use RS-232 signal over it No. wink.gif

You would need that:
_ the Zaurus port could be programmed for IN/OUT
_ the Z and the phone should be able to echange serialised signal
_ the phone OUT should be able to be programmed to be able to receice (to be an IN/OUT)