Author Topic: Migrating from iOS - general questions  (Read 2281 times)

Shiunbird1

• View Profile
Migrating from iOS - general questions
« on: December 31, 2021, 11:46:48 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm a very experienced Linux user (I have all sorts of devices with Linux, including a Jornada 720 and HP C8000 workstation), but I've always used iOS - my employer started issuing us iPhones around 10 years ago, and I went lazy. I like to play around with old UNIX workstations and use IRIX and HP-UX daily.

Before that, I used Nokia Communicators, starting with the 9210i and then had a short year with Blackberries before my employer went full Apple, so I have zero experience with Android.

I became wary of my privacy and also find iOS very disturbing. What I liked about the old Communicators is that they allow for you to get just enough information in a notification (SMS in the case) adding a barrier that impedes you taking action (you need to open the device, find a stable surface, etc), so I was very excited when I first found out about Cosmo and the possibilities of fine tuning notifications, plus keeping my private and professional lives separated (dual SIM, one for voice and another for data, and separated from my work phone).

My Cosmo arrived last week and I went straight with Linux. I found it rather limiting, though. I couldn't get the notifications through to the codi and the phone app is very basic (no carddav). Then I thought that, since I never gave Android a proper try, I will see what's up there. I host my own email, caldav and carddav services for already 10+ years, with full redundancy for everything.

After spending the whole day reading the forums, I have the following questions:

Linux:
- I found Debian very hard to use as a daily driver (usual interactions are too slow, text is too small even increasing font sizes and scaling). If I go the Ubuntu Touch way, what can I expect to work or not?
- Any way to get notifications out to the codi?