OESF Portables Forum

Everything Else => General Support and Discussion => Zaurus General Forums => Archived Forums => Software => Topic started by: daniel3000 on September 04, 2005, 02:34:29 pm

Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: daniel3000 on September 04, 2005, 02:34:29 pm
Hello,

how can I control the Internet connection (usually controlled via the taskbar applet or via Menu items "Connect" / "Disconnect") from a shell script via console commands?

Thank you

daniel
Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: bluedevils on September 04, 2005, 07:11:39 pm
ifconfig or iwconfig should help you.  

Code: [Select]
ifconfig eth0 down  will bring down your interface for eth0 if that is your wireless interface.

I'm not sure how to do it with iwconfig and iwconfig -h didn't help me.  Niether did the manpage on my linux box.
Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: daniel3000 on September 05, 2005, 07:57:20 am
Well, I'm rather searching for the actual command which is executed if the taskbar applet is used. I think it is a qcop message.
But I don't know which one.

The Start Menu entries for "connect" and "disconnect" (/opt/Qtopia/apps/__6x0?0*.desktop) have "Embedded=network_connect" and "Embedded=network_disconnect" in the place where other apps have their command line.

But I do not know what this really does.

Thanks

daniel
Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: speculatrix on September 06, 2005, 07:54:37 am
doesn't the wizard merely use "cardctl scheme" in some way?
Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: zmiq2 on September 06, 2005, 11:34:43 am
Hi daniel,

you can try somwthing like

# qcop "QPE/Network" "up()"

see more at https://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Sharp_...a_QCop_Messages (https://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Sharp_Qtopia_QCop_Messages)

HTH
Title: How To Control Internet Connection From Console?
Post by: daniel3000 on September 06, 2005, 03:37:05 pm
Quote
qcop "QPE/Network" "up()"

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=94707\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks! That's what I was looking for!

daniel