OESF Portables Forum

Model Specific Forums => Sharp Zaurus => Zaurus - pdaXrom => Topic started by: scheck.r on March 24, 2006, 01:00:32 pm

Title: Dia Can't Find Standard Object-libs
Post by: scheck.r on March 24, 2006, 01:00:32 pm
I downloaded dia version 0.95-pre3-1 from 7x0 official feed.
When I launch it from cli I get the dia splash screen and then
Code: [Select]
** (dia:9946): CRITICAL **: Couldn't find standard objects when looking for object-libs in '/usr/lib/dia'; exiting...Thanks

Ps: I am running 1.1.0beta2. If it matters, I noticed that dia is 4,2M big but in the Packages file it's written 13,4M
Title: Dia Can't Find Standard Object-libs
Post by: Armagon on March 28, 2006, 01:53:22 pm
Quote
I downloaded dia version 0.95-pre3-1 from 7x0 official feed.
When I launch it from cli I get the dia splash screen and then
Code: [Select]
** (dia:9946): CRITICAL **: Couldn't find standard objects when looking for object-libs in '/usr/lib/dia'; exiting...Thanks

Ps: I am running 1.1.0beta2. If it matters, I noticed that dia is 4,2M big but in the Packages file it's written 13,4M
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div] (http://index.php?act=findpost&pid=120119\")

I'm still running beta1.  I compiled dia-0.94, and am getting a similar error:

Code: [Select]
** ERROR **: Couldn't find standard objects when looking for object-libs, exiting...
[a href=\"http://www.gnome.org/projects/dia/faq.html#MissingObjects]Question 34[/url] in the dia FAQ says:

Quote
Q: After compiling, when I run Dia it fails with the following error:
"Couldn't find standard objects when looking for object-libs, exiting..."

A: You're trying to run the Dia executable directly from the source directories. Either do make install, or run with the wrapper script app/run_dia.sh. That way, Dia will know where to find its objects.

And yes, I did do a make install.

run_dia.sh on my PC says,

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
DIA_APP_PATH="/home/blackmore/Zaurus/Cross/dia-0.94/app"
DIA_BASE_PATH="$DIA_APP_PATH/.."
DIA_LIBS_PATH="$DIA_APP_PATH/.libs"

DIA_LIB_PATH="$DIA_BASE_PATH/objects//:$DIA_BASE_PATH/plug-ins//"
DIA_PLUGIN_PATH="$DIA_BASE_PATH/plug-ins"
DIA_SHAPE_PATH="$DIA_BASE_PATH/shapes"
DIA_INT_SHAPE_PATH="$DIA_BASE_PATH/objects"
DIA_SHEET_PATH="$DIA_BASE_PATH/sheets"

export DIA_LIB_PATH DIA_SHAPE_PATH DIA_INT_SHAPE_PATH DIA_SHEET_PATH DIA_PLUGIN_PATH
if [ "x$DEBUGGER" != "x" ]; then
  if [ ! -f "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" -o "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" -ot "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/dia" ]; then
    echo "libtool relink stage necessary before debugging is possible."
    echo "please run $0 once without a debugger."
    exit 1
  fi
   $DEBUGGER "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" "$@"
else
   "$DIA_APP_PATH/dia" "$@"
fi

I searched for run_dia.sh on my Z, and couldn't find it.  

I should also note that dia wanted to be in /usr/local, but I ./configured it with --prefix=/usr.  I don't know if that'd make a difference.  (I tried a simlink from /usr/local/lib/dia to /usr/lib/dia, but it didn't help.)


OK, I've got a partial solution.  I presume this will work with the newer dia in the official feeds (which means I won't need to put up dia-0.94):

Make a file called run_dia.sh (you may want to put it in /usr/bin), and use the following contents:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
DIA_APP_PATH="/usr"
DIA_BASE_PATH="/usr"
DIA_LIBS_PATH="/usr/lib/dia"

DIA_LIB_PATH="$DIA_LIBS_PATH"
DIA_PLUGIN_PATH="$DIA_LIBS_PATH"
DIA_SHAPE_PATH="$DIA_LIBS_PATH"
DIA_INT_SHAPE_PATH="$DIA_LIBS_PATH"
DIA_SHEET_PATH="$DIA_LIBS_PATH"

export DIA_LIB_PATH DIA_SHAPE_PATH DIA_INT_SHAPE_PATH DIA_SHEET_PATH DIA_PLUGIN_PATH
if [ "x$DEBUGGER" != "x" ]; then
  if [ ! -f "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" -o "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" -ot "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/dia" ]; then
    echo "libtool relink stage necessary before debugging is possible."
    echo "please run $0 once without a debugger."
    exit 1
  fi
   $DEBUGGER "$DIA_LIBS_PATH/lt-dia" "$@"
else
   "dia" "$@"
fi

You'll need to chmod +x run_dia.sh, and then try executing it.  If it works for you, you'll want to edit the exec line of /usr/share/applications/dia.desktop to run that instead of dia directly.

For me, it does work,despite giving me an error that it can't find libxslt (a problem I don't want to track down right now.)


Armagon
Title: Dia Can't Find Standard Object-libs
Post by: scheck.r on March 28, 2006, 03:45:50 pm
Quote
Make a file called run_dia.sh (you may want to put it in /usr/bin), and use the following contents:
...
You'll need to chmod +x run_dia.sh, and then try executing it.
I did put run_dia.sh in /usr/bin where the dia executable is, then from the commad line I ran
Code: [Select]
sh run_dia.sh but I still get the same errors.

Thanks.