OESF Portables Forum

Everything Else => Zaurus Distro Support and Discussion => Distros, Development, and Model Specific Forums => Archived Forums => Sharp ROMs => Topic started by: Snappy on June 14, 2006, 08:51:17 am

Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on June 14, 2006, 08:51:17 am
Hi all,

Anyone knows how to enable or toggle the soft key input via hard key?

Currently one needs to tap on the soft keyboard "button" on the taskbar to display the input panel. Is there a way to do this with a hard key?

I would love to be able to do so for MurphyTalk in Cacko 1.23 full.

Thanks for any suggestions or tips.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: bam on June 14, 2006, 03:43:28 pm
you could write a script using qcop to "simulate" a tap then use keyhelper to tie it to the key in question, or skip the script and use qcop directly with keyhelper.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on June 14, 2006, 07:48:01 pm
Thanks bam ... tap simulation via script and qcop ... let me google them ...
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: bam on June 23, 2006, 10:06:26 pm
qcop QPE/InputHelper mouse(QString) "click 600 400" "wait xxxx" "click X Y" "wait xxxx'....etc. You get the idea, I have done this with keyhelper already so it works, as long as inputhelper applet is installed.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on June 24, 2006, 08:48:58 pm
Quote
qcop QPE/InputHelper mouse(QString) "click 600 400" "wait xxxx" "click X Y" "wait xxxx'....etc. You get the idea, I have done this with keyhelper already so it works, as long as inputhelper applet is installed.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=132654\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Any documentation on this so that I know what and where to put these settings?

I'm figuring that its keyhelper.xml but could not find any documentation anywhere.

EDIT:

Scratch that ... found some articles on that qcop thingie ... reading ...
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: bam on June 24, 2006, 10:06:29 pm
keyhelper.conf, or a script. you ca set a quicklauch key for that command and it works well.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on June 25, 2006, 02:32:00 am
Quote
keyhelper.conf, or a script. you ca set a quicklauch key for that command and it works well.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=132736\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I presume you mean that it can be called via a script ...
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on June 25, 2006, 09:05:21 am
ok, I'm half-way there ...

$ qcop QPE/TaskBar 'showInputMethod()'

this shows the InputMethod nicely while a hideInputMethod hides it.

There's no toggle, though I presume there should be a query call for the current state ... still looking through qtopia documentation.

There is one showInputMethod(QString) thingie which allows you to show the input method you want, but I cannot figure out what to put into QString ... I tried showInputMethod('MurphyTalk') but it returns a Syntax error in parameter type

http://zaurus-ja.sourceforge.jp/imkit/README-0.4.0.txt (http://zaurus-ja.sourceforge.jp/imkit/README-0.4.0.txt)
http://doc.trolltech.com/qtopia1.6/html/global.html (http://doc.trolltech.com/qtopia1.6/html/global.html)
http://doc.trolltech.com/qtopia2.0/html/qcop.html (http://doc.trolltech.com/qtopia2.0/html/qcop.html)

EDIT:
I figure out I can call using

$ qcop QPE/TaskBar 'showInputMethod(QString)' XYZ

... I just don't know what to use for XYZ to indicate MurphyTalk ... tried murphytalk, MurphyTalk, murphypinyin etc ... ideas?
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: bam on July 22, 2006, 10:50:50 pm
what is murphytalk? an application?
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Stubear on July 23, 2006, 07:21:33 am
There is an app that will watch the qcop messages and write the to a log for you as they are being called by button/screen clicks etc.

Sorry can't remember the name right now - but something like qcoptest or qcopwatch - There have been posts about it in these forums before

Stu
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: chyang on July 23, 2006, 07:33:25 am
From the README.txt you gave:
 showInputMethod(QString)
    activate specified IM (only Qtopia 1.6 or later)
    e.g.)
    qcop QPE/TaskBar 'showInputMethod(QString)' qhandwriting

It seems that current Qtopia on Z seems to be not high enough to support this functionality. I checked my C3000, it's only 1.5.4.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: chyang on July 23, 2006, 07:50:45 am
just find one:
qcop   QPE/TaskBar 'rotateInputMethod()'
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'mouse(QString)' "click 600 410 left"

You will be able to activate the software keyboard.
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'mouse(QString)' "click 600 350 left"
It will hide the keyboard.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: chyang on July 23, 2006, 07:52:43 am
Issue:
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'mouse(QString)' "click 120 450 left"

will show the inputmethod selection.
Title: How To Enable/toggle Soft Key Input Via Hard Key
Post by: Snappy on July 27, 2006, 01:48:43 am
Quote
Issue:
qcop QPE/InputHelper 'mouse(QString)' "click 120 450 left"

will show the inputmethod selection.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=136157\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Actually qcop QPE/TaskBar 'showInputMethod()' would show the inputmethod selection already.