OESF Portables Forum

Everything Else => General Support and Discussion => Zaurus General Forums => Archived Forums => Software => Topic started by: rrashkin on December 15, 2003, 03:44:20 pm

Title: making a script launchable
Post by: rrashkin on December 15, 2003, 03:44:20 pm
I have some Java apps that I have been perfectly happy launching manually from a terminal (I don\'t need to clutter up my apps tab with only seldom used icons).  I wrote a script in /home/zaurus to make them easier to get to.  Essentially I use bash \"select\" to choose either SD or CF (I have apps on both), \"cd\" to the right .../java/ directory and source another bash script to choose among the classes there.  As I said, I was happy to do it that way until I read the following in the HowTo section of this forum:

Quote
The more flexible way
To make it so that you can tap a script in the Document/Files tab and it will launch in the terminal, follow the instructions below:  

1) Install the latest version of Embedded Konsole
2) Edit the file /home/QtPalmtop/etc/mime.types and if it does not have an entry for \"application/x-sh\" then add the following line  

 application/x-sh      sh

3) Edit the Embedded Konsole desktop icon file, which is usually /home/QtPalmtop/apps/Applications/embeddedkonsole.desktop, and add the following lines:  

 MimeType = application/x-sh
 MimeTypeIcons = konsole/Terminal

4) Restart Qtopia
5) Create a shell script anywhere where it will be visible on the Documents/Files tab, give the it the filename extension \'.sh\', and make sure it is executable with the command:  

 chmod a+x myscript.sh

Then when you tap the script file in the Documents/Files tab it will launch within the Konsole application. It is important that you give the script file a \'.sh\' filename extension as that is how it is associated with the Mime Type application/x-sh and that in turn is associated with the Embedded Konsole application.

I thought that sounded like it would be worth a try.  Now I can \"launch\" my script from the file menu but it just brings up the terminal; it does not run my script (i.e., give me the menu).  Just in case it matters, this is the script, javapps.sh (it runs fine from the terminal if I type \". javapps.sh\")
Code: [Select]
. chprmpt

select dir in cf card;

do

cd /mnt/$dir/QtPalmtop/java

break;

done

. appmenu.sh


Any hints what I\'m doing wrong?
Title: making a script launchable
Post by: tumnus on December 15, 2003, 05:43:45 pm
You probably do not have the latest Embedded Konsole. Install these packages to get the latest:

http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/la...harprom_arm.ipk (http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/latest/libopie1_1.0.0-sharprom_arm.ipk)
http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/la...harprom_arm.ipk (http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/latest/opie-keytabs_0.6-sharprom_arm.ipk)
http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/la...harprom_arm.ipk (http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/sharprom/latest/opie-embeddedkonsole_1.0.0-sharprom_arm.ipk)
Title: making a script launchable
Post by: rrashkin on December 16, 2003, 09:43:28 am
Do I need to un-install the previous terminal application first?
Title: making a script launchable
Post by: tumnus on December 16, 2003, 11:31:08 am
Yes