OESF Portables Forum

Everything Else => Zaurus - Everything Development => Distros, Development, and Model Specific Forums => Archived Forums => Qt/Qtopia => Topic started by: Matthieu on March 29, 2005, 12:42:04 pm

Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: Matthieu on March 29, 2005, 12:42:04 pm
Hi,

I'm a newbie in zaurus programming.
I wrote a little program with qt designer3, it turns under linux and now I want to put it on a zaurus c760.
How can I make it easy ?

Thanks a lot,
Matthew.
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: lpotter on March 29, 2005, 02:03:43 pm
Designer uses X11. You would have to run one of those roms that have X11 on it. Then you would have to cross compile qt-x11-3 and then cross compile designer.
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: iamasmith on March 29, 2005, 04:22:35 pm
Quote
Designer uses X11. You would have to run one of those roms that have X11 on it. Then you would have to cross compile qt-x11-3 and then cross compile designer.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=72686\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

lpotter,

I think Matthieu meant recompiling his app that he built with Designer 3 for the Qtopia environment.

I'm quite interested in this too. I have always found the Designer from Qtopia 1.5 to be pretty awful compared with the features you get in Designer 3 (being able to edit your signal handlers from the designer etc..).

Is there a Qtopia version of designer that we can use that gives comparable editor features to QT 3 Designer (edit signal handlers) that we can use for Qtopia 1.5 development ?

- Andy
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: tumnus on March 29, 2005, 04:56:03 pm
The problem with Designer 3 is it creates UI files for QT3, whereas the Zaurus and its build chain use QT Embedded 2.x . So I think we're stuck with using Designer 2 unless someone writes an XSLT stylesheet to convert the v3 XML UI to v2 XML UI (The majority of differences are where attributes were changed to tags or vice versa).
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: Matthieu on March 30, 2005, 01:19:45 am
Hi,

iamasmith is right, it's exactly what I want to do.

I made all my application, I've got .cpp .h files and now I want to cross compile all of this in order to use the application on a zaurus.

In fact, I'm a newbie in programming for zaurus, and I didn't really known the difference between qt2 and qt3.

So I took qt designer3, I've to put it on the zaurus for tomorrow, so I'm a little speed.

My code is really simple. I use a qprocess, because I have to do some snmp requests, and only qt 3 is compatible with this.

Is there anybody able to cross-compile some code written in qt3 for a zaurus ?

Thanks,
Matthieu
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: pgas on March 30, 2005, 01:41:52 am
A quick solution might be to flash your Zaurus with pdaxrom which gives you X and qt3, and for which you can easily cross compile or natively compile a qt application....
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: Matthieu on March 30, 2005, 02:02:28 am
Quote
A quick solution might be to flash your Zaurus with pdaxrom which gives you X and qt3, and for which you can easily cross compile or natively compile a qt application....
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=72758\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

ok so if I flash my Z with pdaxrom.
How can I compile mon qt application ?

I post my code here.

PS : I'm a student wich have to do a project. So I don't have the Z, but my teacher can update it if necessary.
So I don' t really have the possibility to test the result of a cross-compiling.
Title: Qt Designer3 -> Zaurus
Post by: pgas on March 30, 2005, 02:27:14 am
hmm, if your teacher uses his Z with qtopia I doubt he'll want to flash it with pdaxrom as it is a totally different environement.......

For the compiler rom etc:
http://www.pdaxrom.org/index.php?showid=40&menuid=11 (http://www.pdaxrom.org/index.php?showid=40&menuid=11)

Otherwise to build and test for qtopia you can have a look here:
http://www.trolltech.com/download/qtopia/index.html (http://www.trolltech.com/download/qtopia/index.html)
(and to the documentation also)

good luck...........