OESF Portables Forum

Model Specific Forums => Sharp Zaurus => Zaurus - pdaXrom => Topic started by: jerrybme on October 20, 2004, 01:21:23 pm

Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on October 20, 2004, 01:21:23 pm
My problem with the Socket card is that although I can run the kismet GUI fine; it doesn't show any activity most of the time.  This occurs even though I'm standing next to an access point. Occassionally, it shows a few packets then seems to stop. Dmesg doesn't offer any relevant info. My SMC 2642w card works fine with my configuration. In RC-3 I had similar problem but it worked 30-50% of the time, seems to have gotten worse. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Jerry
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: Dr.HerbertWest on October 20, 2004, 01:57:09 pm
I have got kismet to only show 1 router it's rather annoying  someone should compile wellenreiterII for rc5 that would make me happy
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: tz on October 21, 2004, 02:55:41 pm
The normal socket driver cannot put the card into monitor mode.  When using the driver with monitor patches it works well.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on October 21, 2004, 11:00:15 pm
Quote
The normal socket driver cannot put the card into monitor mode.  When using the driver with monitor patches it works well.
@Tz
Ok, how do I patch the drivers?

@Laze - can the patch for the socket driver be included in the next release?

Cheers,
Jerry
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: tz on October 22, 2004, 04:02:33 pm
You might also need a kernel tree.

http://homepage.mac.com/tz1/ (http://homepage.mac.com/tz1/)

Get the s042mon.dif patch file.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: Ferdy on February 26, 2005, 01:56:58 pm
Can anyone please tell me how I apply this patch? I also have this Socket CF W-lan card, and I'm experiencing the same problem.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: NXK on February 26, 2005, 05:24:40 pm
I'm having the same problem with a Symbol CF and I can't seem to patch the drivers myself or find pre-patched versions.  Anyone have prepatched versions of Socket drivers they can make available?

Thanks,
NXK


Update: Duh, the Wiki points us here:
Getting your Socket... (http://www.cypherpunks.ca/zaurus/socket.html)

Right under our noses...
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on February 27, 2005, 09:18:13 am
Quote
I'm having the same problem with a Symbol CF and I can't seem to patch the drivers myself or find pre-patched versions.  Anyone have prepatched versions of Socket drivers they can make available?

Thanks,
NXK


Update: Duh, the Wiki points us here:
Getting your Socket... (http://www.cypherpunks.ca/zaurus/socket.html)

Right under our noses...
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div] (http://index.php?act=findpost&pid=68713\")
If you're using RC9 or 9 or 9.1 the patch has already been applied. The problem I was having was turned out not to be drivers in the kernel but the version of kismet in the feed. My problem was fixed by installing the kismet ipk from the kismet site it works fine. [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=9712&pid=66133&st=0&#entry66133]See here[/url]
Cheers,
Jerry
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: conundrum on March 01, 2005, 12:05:33 pm
I havent been in any high traffic areas sniffing for wifi, but kismet seems to work just fine.  Airsnort also works, just have to make an icon for it as the ipk only installs the binary.

Please excuse the lack of punctuation, this post brought to you by my C860 and Socket wireless card.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: Ferdy on March 02, 2005, 11:19:52 am
Quote
I finally have gotten Kismet to work on RC9. Although I don't think it's a ROM issue. As stated in my above post, my problem was that while Kismet would run it wouldn't channel hop. It would stop on channel 1.

To solve this I installed the ipk from the Kismet site here (http://www.kismetwireless.net/download.shtml) It is version 2005-01-R1. Scroll down the page & look for the ARM Binary section.
It installed fine but didn't like being on the SD so I had to install on /
This release seems to play much better with the Socket cards. I've been running for several days now without problems.

Cheers,
Jerry
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66133\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on March 02, 2005, 11:40:55 am
Quote
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Do you have
Code: [Select]
export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=xterm-color
in your .bashrc file?
I believe I got this error too at first but the above fixed it.

Jerry
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: Ferdy on March 02, 2005, 02:10:14 pm
Quote
Quote
I tried installing this version, but when I want to start Kismet, I get the following error: "Error opening terminal: xterm."

If I use the same kismet.conf and kismet_ui.conf files in the Kismet version from the RC9 feed, it freezes at channel hopping, but doesn't show an error.

Is there anyone else who got the same error, or does anyone know how to fix this?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Do you have
Code: [Select]
export TERMINFO=/usr/share/terminfo
export TERM=xterm-color
in your .bashrc file?
I believe I got this error too at first but the above fixed it.

Jerry
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69121\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the quick reply! Kismet works great now!  
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: rjohnson1969 on April 27, 2005, 12:13:19 pm
Did you-all get Kismet to start from the GUI?  It works great for me, but I must launch it from the terminal, and then start the kismet_qt GUI.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on April 27, 2005, 04:18:27 pm
Quote
Did you-all get Kismet to start from the GUI?  It works great for me, but I must launch it from the terminal, and then start the kismet_qt GUI.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77162\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Um, based on the info in your sig, you may have posted in the wrong forum, this thread is about using kismet with pdaxrom & the socket lowpower card. Run from the terminal in pdaxrom, it starts it's own terminal based gui. No qt involved.

Glad you got it work tho  
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: Foxdie on May 02, 2005, 03:34:48 am
Which driver should I be using under kismet.conf with my Socket CF card? I have tried numerous combinations to no success.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: jerrybme on May 02, 2005, 01:30:36 pm
Quote
Which driver should I be using under kismet.conf with my Socket CF card? I have tried numerous combinations to no success.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77825\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Hi Foxdie:
Code: [Select]
source=orinoco, eth0, orinocosourceis what's uncommented in my kismet.conf file. Which version of kismet are you using?
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: wario on June 07, 2005, 03:25:57 am
Has anyone been able to successfully determine WEP keys based on packet dumps from Kismet? I am getting "no valid packets" error from bsdairtools/dwepcrack, but have yet to try airsnort.

I am using a Linksys WCF12 CF card and the orinoco driver (which could well be the problem).
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: PrOtOn on June 29, 2005, 09:38:28 pm
The right souce would have no space between commas.
Code: [Select]
source=orinoco,eth0,orinocosource
Quote
Has anyone been able to successfully determine WEP keys based on packet dumps from Kismet? I am getting "no valid packets" error from bsdairtools/dwepcrack, but have yet to try airsnort.
I don't really understand the dump file. It doesn't show me anything useful.
Title: Kismet & Socket CF
Post by: wario on July 22, 2005, 10:54:30 am
switching to the hostap driver solved it.