Author Topic: aterm  (Read 3054 times)

shrubbery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
aterm
« on: May 21, 2004, 07:26:43 am »
Having read through previous posts it seems that ppl generally seem to prefer aterm over xterm (scroll bar etc..) but when I try to install the ipk it fails whilst unpacking.

Are there any dependancies needed for it to install?

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
aterm
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2004, 09:50:06 am »
xterm scrollbar?
you can hold down the \"control\" key and press left, middle or right.... buttons... to get options.

control-middle -- first choice is \"enable scrollbar\" etc.

Scott

time

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trustice.com
aterm
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2004, 12:33:50 pm »
Yes, Scott, that does work, but having to middle-button-click everytime I want to move that scroller totally sucks.
Zaurus SL-C860 / pdaXrom

pmf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
aterm
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2004, 02:42:56 pm »
Quote
Having read through previous posts it seems that ppl generally seem to prefer aterm over xterm (scroll bar etc..) but when I try to install the ipk it fails whilst unpacking.

Are there any dependancies needed for it to install?


No, aterm only depends on the X libraries and these are already installed on every pdaXrom.

I just checked the file on the server, and it is not corrupt.

Try this: use
Code: [Select]
wget http://www.pmf.neominds.net/feed/aterm_0.4.2_armv5tel.ipk to download the file.

Run
Code: [Select]
md5sum aterm_0.4.2_armv5tel.ipk to verify that your copy is intact; the MD5-hash must be 7b01622ccf23698d646df198ee55fd90.

Then manually install it with
Code: [Select]
ipkg install aterm_0.4.2_armv5tel.ipk.

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
aterm
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2004, 09:46:46 am »
Quote
Yes, Scott, that does work, but having to middle-button-click everytime I want to move that scroller totally sucks.


eh, so launch with \"xterm -sb\" ..

Scott

time

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trustice.com
aterm
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2004, 11:11:16 pm »
I meant that moving the scrollbar elevator requires the middle click. I want to left click to drag that elevator, not middle click.
Zaurus SL-C860 / pdaXrom

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
aterm
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2004, 08:31:17 pm »
ya, THAT is annoying...
left for up, right for down... middle for click+drag.

I\'ve given up trying to explain that to mickeysofters.

Scott
ps: almost all of my windows do not have scrollbars, anyway. I hate\'m.
well, actually, I just hate the mouse.

whit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
aterm
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2004, 08:38:49 pm »
For those who\'d like that terminal icon on the lower left to bring up aterm instead, this modification of /usr/bin/mb-applet-xterm-wrapper.sh will do it. Personally I like rxvt best, so I\'m leaving that in for when it actually shows up. The -rv switch is \"reverse video\" (white on black) which makes a truer black than the way aterm is launched from the submenu with foreground and background switches - somehow that \"black\" is dark grey instead. But if you want white on black, just leave that off.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh



# This just wraps rxvt, aterm and xterm so a term gets launched ok.

# rxvt is the preference, then aterm. This could be much improved

#

 

if [ -x /usr/X11R6/bin/rxvt ]; then

   exec /usr/X11R6/bin/rxvt;

else

   if [ -x /usr/bin/aterm ]; then

      export TERM=vt100;

      exec /usr/bin/aterm -rv;

   else

      exec xterm;

   fi

fi


[added vt100 line 6/9 - otherwise sees garbage in joe]