OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X And Window Managers
ArchiMark
post Nov 25 2015, 10:53 AM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Just tried to have Mate open with terminal open....by doing the following in .xinitrc file.

For mate-terminal, I changed the line for xterm to mate-terminal that was already there for when using twm.

CODE
exec mate-session &
mate-terminal -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login


But after I do startx, screen goes light color and then soon comes back to console....

I get error message:

CODE
Failed to parse arguments: Unknown option -geometry


Any suggestions?

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Nov 25 2015, 01:48 PM
Reason for edit: Updated post info to be accurate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 25 2015, 07:32 PM
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Decided to give LXDE a go.....

Had it running OK on my little Nokia N900 with ALARM on it a few years ago...

Good news is that LXDE opens up OK in about 7 minutes.....so, faster than MATE and XFCE.....

Touchscreen works OK and calibration is pretty close...off by about 1/8".....

Bad news right now is that it didn't auto open LXTerminal as I'd wanted....

I did the following in ~/.config/lxsession/LXDE/autostart after the existing lines of text in file:

CODE
@lxterminal


But it didn't open up.....

So, just have a nice looking LXDE background image on display with a little black cursor arrow......

No other menu bars, panels, etc, visible......

Hmmmm............

But hopefully, this one has promise with a bit of work.....

UPDATE

Tried various keys.....

When I press the Home button on the keyboard, I get a little window open up on the display....

Openbox at heading of window....

Error message about can't open screenshot.....something like that...

Fortunately, can close the window since stylus calibration is not that far off....

But still no panel bar at bottom of screen nor able to open terminal.....

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Nov 25 2015, 10:15 PM
Reason for edit: Added update info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Nov 27 2015, 02:42 PM
Post #18





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Progress in some respects......

Got lxdm working....instead of opening LXDE with startx.......

Got the login screen......was able to select which user and login with password OK.....

Now, when it opened up to desktop I have the bottom panel with the little applets (start menu button, file manager icon, desktops, network, RAM usage visual (all green....), time, monitor?, in it showing......
So that's the good news....

Bad news is that since I don't have terminal open, I can't really do anything as I can't quite get cursor on top of the start menu button in panel at lower left of display...

Took some pics....when I get time, I'll post them here.

Not sure what's going on with LXDE as I the wiki page nor the forum page seems to be working.....so, have found it hard to find info regarding setting up configuration using console and working directly with files. Most LXDE related pages I've found assume you have it running such that you can open up the preferences window and make your selections that way....

Will keep trying......but if anyone has any tips or suggestions, that would be great...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheWalt
post Dec 1 2015, 11:17 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,836



Sorry been busy with holiday and being a little under the weather.

I have a terminal start with MATE by changing the end of /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

CODE
# twm &
# xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
# xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
# xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
# exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login
exec mate-session &
exec xterm -name login


Then after it all loads (it does take some time) run the following in that terminal

CODE
xinput set-prop "ADS7846 Touchscreen" --type=float "Coordinate Transformation Matrix" 1.2 0 -.0625 0 1.18 -.0834 0 0 1


You are right though, really need something lighter ... fluxbox is on my 'to look at' list.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheWalt
post Dec 1 2015, 11:38 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,836



Ok, fluxbox runs pretty quick and getting a terminal open is easy as adding "xterm &" to the list of programs in ~/.fluxbox/startup

Can't get the right click to bring up a menu so will have to look into that, but the calibration seems close like before. Might try a few other lightweights tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 1 2015, 11:54 AM
Post #21





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(TheWalt @ Dec 1 2015, 11:17 AM) *
Sorry been busy with holiday and being a little under the weather.


Hope you're starting to feel better now.....


QUOTE
I have a terminal start with MATE by changing the end of /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

CODE
# twm &
# xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
# xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
# xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
# exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login
exec mate-session &
exec xterm -name login


Then after it all loads (it does take some time) run the following in that terminal


Thanks for the info....

QUOTE
CODE
xinput set-prop "ADS7846 Touchscreen" --type=float "Coordinate Transformation Matrix" 1.2 0 -.0625 0 1.18 -.0834 0 0 1


Thanks....

QUOTE
You are right though, really need something lighter ... fluxbox is on my 'to look at' list.


QUOTE(TheWalt @ Dec 1 2015, 11:38 AM) *
Ok, fluxbox runs pretty quick and getting a terminal open is easy as adding "xterm &" to the list of programs in ~/.fluxbox/startup

Can't get the right click to bring up a menu so will have to look into that, but the calibration seems close like before. Might try a few other lightweights tomorrow.



Sounds good!.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 1 2015, 05:53 PM
Post #22





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Got fluxbox opening with xterm now......

Besides touchscreen calibration and mouse click recognition issues, the keyboard map needs work.

I count 6 keys that are in the numbers row that are accessed with Shift key that are off.

Then the 2 keys to the right of the space bar are off when Shift key used.

Last, the characters usually accessed by pressing the Fn + other keys do not work at all.

From reading Arch wiki and fluxbox pages, I'm not sure which is right way to go about fixing keymap issues; XKB or xmodmap (as daalnroti mentions in his post #10 above...) or ?

Since I can't seem to access the quote marks " character, not sure how to enter the 'xinput set-prop.....' command suggested....

Think fluxbox would be pretty good wm if we get the issues above sorted out.....
opens pretty quickly, runs pretty well, and looks OK on display....at least I think so....

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Dec 1 2015, 05:56 PM
Reason for edit: Added info about " character issue
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheWalt
post Dec 1 2015, 06:56 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,836



Ya I had to make a executable shell script to run with that command while SSH into the Z so I could type the " forgot to mention that biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 1 2015, 07:25 PM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(TheWalt @ Dec 1 2015, 06:56 PM) *
Ya I had to make a executable shell script to run with that command while SSH into the Z so I could type the " forgot to mention that biggrin.gif


I see.......thanks for letting me know....

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Dec 8 2015, 01:08 AM
Post #25





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(TheWalt @ Dec 2 2015, 03:56 AM) *
Ya I had to make a executable shell script to run with that command while SSH into the Z so I could type the " forgot to mention that biggrin.gif


Sorry to be not much of help but you should try to get the keymap working first. This might be trivial but I have not looked into it so far.

Fluxbox may be ok, I would suggest to use dwm or awesome to be lightweight as possible so apps have still a bit of mem to work with.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Dec 10 2015, 12:16 AM
Post #26





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



Using the keymap I posted before and following this guide linked below, you guys may have some luck getting Xorg keyboard going.
If you do, please post a guide here, so others can follow. Thanks.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Keyboa...uration_in_Xorg

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 10 2015, 10:56 AM
Post #27





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Agree with your points about getting keymap working, daalnroti......

And when I am able to have a block of time to focus on this for a while, I will see if I can make any progress with it.

Problem lately is been lack of time, due to stresses at work and at home.....

But maybe will be some more time in the next week or so....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Dec 14 2015, 09:54 PM
Post #28





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Dec 10 2015, 07:56 PM) *
Agree with your points about getting keymap working, daalnroti......

And when I am able to have a block of time to focus on this for a while, I will see if I can make any progress with it.

Problem lately is been lack of time, due to stresses at work and at home.....

But maybe will be some more time in the next week or so....



No worries mate, Stress at home at work.. well I know how that is smile.gif


Keymap :

- make sure you install xmodmap (xorg-xmodmap)

- then create a file called .Xmodmap in your ~ (home) folder. (attached to this post, ungzip before use)

- modify your .xinitrc in your home folder to look like this (example)

~/.xinitrc
CODE
if [ -s ~/.Xmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap
fi

exec xterm


- start Xorg via startx and you will get a xterm with working keymap.

Please do some testing etc, I just got it going until here. Touchscreen, I may look into at a later stage.


Cheers!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  .Xmodmap.gz ( 1.02K ) Number of downloads: 100
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 14 2015, 10:08 PM
Post #29





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,649
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for the headstart on this, daalnroti.....

Will give it a go as soon as I can....

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Dec 14 2015, 10:18 PM
Post #30





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Dec 15 2015, 07:08 AM) *
Thanks for the headstart on this, daalnroti.....

Will give it a go as soon as I can....

smile.gif


No worries ArchiMark.

As expected it is slow. Even just running xterm takes almost 50% of memory and scrolling is slow too, but I guess it has always been like that.
Well, pdaXrom used a minimal X11, not Xorg, if I remember correctly, that was a bit more lightweight. The bottleneck is the software rotation to
portrait mode...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th November 2019 - 08:48 PM