OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxii13v2, upgrading to build 5.5 alpha5
ZDevil
post Dec 2 2007, 03:01 AM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Would Meanie consider changing the versioning? pdaXii13v2 build 5.5 alpha 5.... isn't this a little bit bizarre? laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Dec 2 2007, 04:46 AM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 2,803
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Dec 2 2007, 09:01 PM) *
Would Meanie consider changing the versioning? pdaXii13v2 build 5.5 alpha 5.... isn't this a little bit bizarre? laugh.gif


let me explain the versioning here to stop the confusion.

pdaXii13 is the pdaXrom beta1/beta3 compatible edition
pdaXiiv2 (or pdaXii13v2) is the next generation that is compatible with pdaXrom Latest packages, ie r197/r198. it is still backwards compatible with beta1/beta3 packages


the build number of pdaXii has always increased after each release. build 5.4.9 is the last of the pdaXii13(v1), after build 5.5.0, its pdaXii13v2 or pdaXiiv2
the v2 is to signify that the compatability against pdaXrom has changed. so the name would just be pdaXiiv2. build 5.5(.0) is probably the last pdaXii image since updates to the image are going to be via the upgrade feed. once you have gone to pdaXiiv2, updates are all done via the feed, ie by updating the packages rather than running a script to patch the system like in pdaXii13(v1)

the alpha5 only comes into play because that's the version number for the pdaXiiv2 updater. remember that the pdaXii13 flash installer (updater.sh) also has a build number but you don't quote that number when you say what version of pdaXii you have. similarly, the alpha5 or whichever number that follows is the build number for the pdaXiiv2 updater/upgrader.

hope this makes sense.

pdaXiiv2 is updated by running:

ipkg update
ipkg upgrade

the ipkg warning will be removed once the pdaXiiv2 updater is not alpha anymore.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Richard
post Dec 3 2007, 06:24 AM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-October 07
Member No.: 20,855



Meanie, after my upgrade to 5.5, my card monitor no longer shows a link for USB devices, and it doesn't popup a message box when the card is safe to remove. Not a big deal, but I kind of liked that feature. According to my package manager, I have version 1.0.4-6.

Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wowo123
post Dec 3 2007, 11:23 PM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 7-August 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 4,222



I'm running pdaXii13 an a c3200 (thx a lot for the great work!) Unfortunalety I realized too late that the fixing 64 MB NAND limit funktion had failed, so I only have 64 MB (real)root and 64 MB /user. After completing my installation of pdaXii13v1 there is no space left on (real)root, but the system is running smoothely without errors and I can install new programs in /. When I tried to do the upgrade to v2alpha5, after a short time there was an error: no space left on device and the upgrade failed. I read the discussion about free space of 30 - 40 MB in /, so I'm afraid I have to do the NAND-partitioning to 121MB and then do a completely new install. sad.gif Or is there any other way to solve the problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deniscallies
post Dec 6 2007, 01:43 AM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 28-March 04
Member No.: 2,539



I still have problems with png files. I set the filter in gqview an still there are no symbols showing on desktop. Starting thunar ends with a "cannot open png file" whats the problem?

Denis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wowo123
post Dec 6 2007, 04:23 AM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 7-August 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 4,222



After upgrading openbox in pdaxii13 v2 to 3.4.4-2 the header lines with the titles of the displayed windows are extremely small and so is the title text font and the action icons. This isn't related to the choosen theme or to .../themes/<choosen theme>/gtk/gtkrc. I tried to edit /usr/share/themes/<choosen theme>/openbox-3/themerc but with no success. The old openbox version didn't show this issue. Any hints?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Dec 6 2007, 08:48 AM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 1,853
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(deniscallies @ Dec 6 2007, 03:43 AM) *
I still have problems with png files. I set the filter in gqview an still there are no symbols showing on desktop. Starting thunar ends with a "cannot open png file" whats the problem?

Denis

Meanie recommended to install libpng_1.2.12
post #35 in this thread.
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=168563

Do you have the following in /usr/lib/
libpng12.so
libpng12.so.0
libpng12.so.0.12.0
libpng.so
libpng.so.3
libpng.so.3.12.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deniscallies
post Dec 6 2007, 11:55 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 28-March 04
Member No.: 2,539



i have reinstalled and upgraded. Now everything went fine. I am a little confused. I did now the same as before unsure.gif
thanks, Denis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 18 2008, 10:11 AM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



Hi. Will the upgrade work on my c860 which I now have running latest pdaxii13?

Also, where are the feeds for this now, tyrannozaurus is offline.

Thanks

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 18 2008, 12:15 PM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 1,853
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 18 2008, 12:11 PM) *
Hi. Will the upgrade work on my c860 which I now have running latest pdaxii13?

Also, where are the feeds for this now, tyrannozaurus is offline.

Thanks

John
I think most of the feeds are back up. Antikx has them listed here:
http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/start
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 28 2008, 12:50 PM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



So er will it run on a c860?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Feb 7 2008, 05:35 PM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 28 2008, 08:50 PM) *
So er will it run on a c860?

Guess that's a 'no' or a 'no one's tried it'? Huh?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 8 2008, 12:13 AM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(macwiz @ Feb 7 2008, 04:35 PM) *
QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 28 2008, 08:50 PM) *
So er will it run on a c860?

Guess that's a 'no' or a 'no one's tried it'? Huh?

speaking of pdaXii13v2 (which I use as per sig) has meanie vanished?? I've seen no posts from him since december
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hellgeist
post Mar 7 2008, 01:56 PM
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-February 08
From: Seattle
Member No.: 21,445



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Oct 5 2007, 11:44 AM) *
I browsed kkazakov13's feed to see if I had any files that needed updated, that weren't caught in the upgrade process and found these 4 files needed updating.
I checked with the latest "ignored" list and none of these were on it, so I updated these 4 libraries:
glib2_2.14.0_armv5tel.ipk
libgphoto2_2.4.0_armv5tel.ipk
pango_1.18.1_armv5tel.ipk
poppler_0.5.4-1_armv5tel.ipk

When I rebooted, my fonts on the desktop and in GQview are all square boxes.
All the filenames in rox filer are square boxes also.
I'm not sure which one is causing this, but I'll go through them one-by-one and install the previous version.
I'll report back after I uninstall/reinstall prior versions and find the "culprit" that is causing these square boxes to replace my fonts.
EDIT
I found it was pango that was causing my problems, I uninstalled the newer version above and re-installed pango_1.10.0_armv5tel.ipk
smile.gif
I still have the *.png problem with icons, etc..


I couldn't leave well enough alone, and decided to try another upgrade to v2 on my Akita. Historically, I've gotten this same result (missing icons) so I had just stuck with beta3. But after reading your other post about solving the missing icons problem, I thought your fix might be good for Akitas, so I tried it. Unfortunately, in GQview my .png box was already checked, so that didn't change anything. Restarting left me even worse off - a blank screen and a bar, with no icons anywhere. I can add the launcher back, but apps don't open (visibly anyway).

Could be that your solution worked in a prior build of v2 but not the current one? Here's what I did:
  • Starting with pdaxii13, I did the 5.5 upgrade according to Meanie's instructions
  • I reverted to the older version of Pango as per your other post, and installed libpng_1.2.12_armv5tel.ipk. After this I couldn't see applications that opened on the desktop (even rxvt showed up mostly greyed out).
  • I removed Rox and could see wallpaper and icons again, but had to re-add icons to the control bar.
  • After this most apps weren't visible once they opened. Some were, but it was random - for instance, Abiword and Leafpad wouldn't open, but Xpdf would.
  • I added the 4 libraries listed above, and most of my icons reappeared, however there are still some apps that are missing icons - the CF/SD card utility for example, and a notepad app.
I can't find anymore leads as to what it would take to finish fixing this 5.5 upgrade, so I'm probably going to revert to beta3. Hopefully the Akita info in this post might be helpful down the road as bug testing data.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yatza
post Mar 8 2008, 02:50 PM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 9-April 04
From: Wroclaw, Poland
Member No.: 2,749



QUOTE(hellgeist @ Mar 7 2008, 11:56 PM) *
Unfortunately, in GQview my .png box was already checked, so that didn't change anything.


Hi,
for PNG troubles, try this:
- uninstall whatever libpng version you have installed
- install libpng with the highest version number (currently 2.1.12)
- execute gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders > /etc/gtk-2.0/gdk-pixbuf.loaders

The last line is the trick, it fixed png on my Akita. Original post by walkman can be found here:
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...st&p=171826

Regards,
yatza
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th November 2019 - 06:09 AM