OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

10 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Hentges Rom Release Candidate, For Collie, Poodle & Akita
CoreDump
post Jul 24 2005, 07:22 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



Hi all smile.gif

You can find a new Hentges ROM RC here: http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/

Collie: Now ships with the new "r21" kernel, fixing all suspend/resume bugs
Poodle:
Akita: This is the long awaited updated Akita image. It fixes most bugs of the OZ 3.5.3 Akita snapshot.
Please test!

Happy flashing biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radioz
post Jul 24 2005, 10:07 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-October 04
Member No.: 4,962



So does this really work with Poodle?
I thought Hentges only worked on the 5500 series.

radioz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jul 24 2005, 11:04 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(radioz @ Jul 24 2005, 08:07 PM)
So does this really work with Poodle?
I thought Hentges only worked on the 5500 series.

radioz
*


Yep, Poodle works, too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
samac
post Jul 24 2005, 11:21 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 5-December 04
Member No.: 5,774



OK I will try all this tomorrow.

However I have added a few other programs, is there a way of making sure that I do not lose all the programs I have added.

I guess I am really asking what is the upgrade process?

Is it just a fresh re-install and you lose your additional settings/programs?

Samac
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jul 24 2005, 11:36 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(CoreDump @ Jul 24 2005, 03:22 PM)
Hi all  smile.gif

You can find a new Hentges ROM RC here: http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/

Collie: Now ships with the new "r21" kernel, fixing all suspend/resume bugs
Poodle:
Akita: This is the long awaited updated Akita image. It fixes most bugs of the OZ 3.5.3 Akita snapshot.
Please test!

Happy flashing  biggrin.gif
*


Is there someway to get the benefit of the suspend fix in Collie without losing all your programs and settings?

BTW, thanks for the great Doom in your last version which works great...unfortunately I got stuck after a couple of rooms and can't figure out how to go to the next area....not your fault. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radioz
post Jul 24 2005, 11:48 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-October 04
Member No.: 4,962



QUOTE(CoreDump @ Jul 24 2005, 11:04 AM)
QUOTE(radioz @ Jul 24 2005, 08:07 PM)
So does this really work with Poodle?
I thought Hentges only worked on the 5500 series.

radioz
*


Yep, Poodle works, too.
*



Thanks for the report.

How does Hentges differ from the standard OZ releaze?

Radioz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jul 24 2005, 12:09 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(radioz @ Jul 24 2005, 09:48 PM)
Thanks for the report.

How does Hentges differ from the standard OZ releaze?

Radioz
*


It ships with more apps and requires an SD card >= 64Mb.
It also comes with altboot and a few other tweaks cool.gif

QUOTE
Is there someway to get the benefit of the suspend fix in Collie without losing all your programs and settings?


QUOTE
I guess I am really asking what is the upgrade process?

Is it just a fresh re-install and you lose your additional settings/programs?


If you keep your /home/root directory, all settings will be kept. The apps are gone though.
Since the kernel doesn't work w/ a stock OZ image, I'm afraid I see no way to keep your apps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Airwolf
post Jul 25 2005, 03:44 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 8-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,073



QUOTE(CoreDump @ Jul 24 2005, 08:09 PM)
QUOTE(radioz @ Jul 24 2005, 09:48 PM)
Thanks for the report.

How does Hentges differ from the standard OZ releaze?

Radioz
*


It ships with more apps and requires an SD card >= 64Mb.
It also comes with altboot and a few other tweaks cool.gif

QUOTE
Is there someway to get the benefit of the suspend fix in Collie without losing all your programs and settings?


QUOTE
I guess I am really asking what is the upgrade process?

Is it just a fresh re-install and you lose your additional settings/programs?


If you keep your /home/root directory, all settings will be kept. The apps are gone though.
Since the kernel doesn't work w/ a stock OZ image, I'm afraid I see no way to keep your apps.
*



I downloaded the new images and placed the cardfs files on the CD card. After flashing i get a series of questions starting with it asking for a new password. I then get more Q's after the cofiguration stuff and ssh key generation which i OK.

Booting into Opie goes ok but am i missing something as there are only two applications under the applications tab (file manager, Konsole)

Done something wrong or just being stupid!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rev.Tigger
post Jul 25 2005, 04:02 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 21-May 05
From: Staffs, UK
Member No.: 7,176



Sounds like you said no to the "Install cardfs question" or it did not locate the cardfs. Ensure that it is on your CF and reboot. Also make sure you have your SD/MMC card in smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Airwolf
post Jul 25 2005, 04:54 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 8-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,073



duh!

OK this time round i placed the cardfs, zimage and initrd files on my CF card and flashed.

Everything went ok until Opie booted and the "new storage media detected" dialog popped up. Stuck now as i cannot get rid of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Airwolf
post Jul 25 2005, 05:12 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 8-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,073



Solved by following this thread

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13321

Will let you know how i get on

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Jul 25 2005, 06:31 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(CoreDump @ Jul 24 2005, 03:04 PM)
QUOTE(radioz @ Jul 24 2005, 08:07 PM)
So does this really work with Poodle?
I thought Hentges only worked on the 5500 series.

radioz
*


Yep, Poodle works, too.
*


FYI the poodle installation (with cardfs to /home) installed without any problems and works very well. I like the changes you've made to the altboot... where the install doesn't prompt you for a menu selection.

I do have one question... I read a post dated 7-21-05 that your akita screen-tap and key-click sounds where broken in that CVS snapshot of libopie2 and this snapshot appears to be 7-24-05, do your sounds work now? I still have no key or screen-tap clicks... it's no big problem, but I miss them.

Thanks again for your work on an image (and fast kernel) for the poodle... that you can't test. Please let me know if you want me to check anything for you.

Now I must go take care of my collie.

Thanks,

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jbbrs
post Jul 25 2005, 07:36 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 10-March 05
From: Lisboa, Portugal
Member No.: 6,606



Time to try and understand cardfs... smile.gif
I'll have to download these images tonight or tomorrow. Can't wait!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jul 25 2005, 07:37 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(Greg2 @ Jul 25 2005, 04:31 PM)
FYI the poodle installation (with cardfs to /home) installed without any problems and works very well. I like the changes you've made to the altboot... where the install doesn't prompt you for a menu selection.

I do have one question... I read a post dated 7-21-05 that your akita screen-tap and key-click sounds where broken in that CVS snapshot of libopie2 and this snapshot appears to be 7-24-05, do your sounds work now? I still have no key or screen-tap clicks... it's no big problem, but I miss them.

So did I biggrin.gif The solution is simple: just install opie-qss and reboot (thanks mickeyl!)

QUOTE
Thanks again for your work on an image (and fast kernel) for the poodle... that you can't test. Please let me know if you want me to check anything for you.


Testing is always welcome smile.gif
Please report any bugs or oddities you encounter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
samac
post Jul 25 2005, 07:37 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 5-December 04
Member No.: 5,774



All seems to be good on the collie.

Many thanks

Samac
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

10 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2019 - 05:24 PM