OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Keyboard Mapping For A Us-101/104 Keyboard, Looking for the files
Sy Ali
post Sep 21 2006, 02:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



Has anyone out there done the remapping for a standard 101 keyboard?

I'd rather just use someone else's key mapping file than bother to do it myself..

My notes:

CODE
Most keys work just like the keyboard on the Zaurus itself.

   * Tap and release alt gives the menu.

^p      = ^left
^b      = left
shift-- = =  (minus)
shift-+ = ~  (plus)
shift-  = |  (space)
shift-; = +
shift-' = *
shift-[ = `

` = (nothing)
; = /
/ = ,
[ = @

F1 = standby  (the power button?)
F2 = help
F3 = escape
F4 = text editor
F5 = calendar
F6 = address book
F7 = Mail
F8 = (nothing)
F9 = pc link
F10= (nothing)
F11= (nothing)
F12= (nothing)


http://jrandomhacker.info/Keyboards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Sep 21 2006, 04:47 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,803
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



try this: http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/feed/usbkb..._2.4.20_arm.ipk
plug in usb keyboard and keys are automatically remapped for us keyboard layout after 5 seconds, unplug keyboard and keys are remapped back for the Zaurus keyboard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Sep 21 2006, 05:57 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 537
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(Meanie @ Sep 21 2006, 07:47 AM)
try this: http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/feed/usbkb..._2.4.20_arm.ipk
plug in usb keyboard and keys are automatically remapped for us keyboard layout after 5 seconds, unplug keyboard and keys are remapped back for the Zaurus keyboard.
*

I don't have a keyboard to try it out (my desktop is a laptop), but this sounds like a really neat idea, so I might have to get one.

Do you think it would maintain the keyboard remapping when in Dosbox as well?
The reason I ask this is I have Windows 3.1 running in Dosbox, but the zaurus keyboard doesn't function in it.

Thanks Meanie for all your great work smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Sep 21 2006, 07:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



Thanks meanie.. I knew about such things, but the solutions were all for pdaxrom.

dougeeebear -- yes the remapping should also work in dosbox.. I remember doing remapping experiments and it also applied to things like a commodore 64 emulator.. so you should be ok with dosbox.

But you say that your keyboard isn't working at all in dosbox.. so perhaps there is a larger issue here. It seems strange..

I've also got a c1000, and I'm very interested in getting DOS emulation working.

If all you want is to use a keyboard that's better than the c1000.. then perhaps networking and running a remote control appliation would work for you.

My next step is to get a portable keyboard.. but it's difficult to track down a decent one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Sep 21 2006, 08:08 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 537
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



My keyboard does work ok in Dosbox, but it does not respond after I load Windows.

I copied the whole windows directory over from an older laptop, and the keyboard is set for a US keyboard, and I think there might be a conflict there with the zaurus non-standard keyboard.

As soon as I get a mouse for my zaurus, I will try to change the keyboard country settings.
I don't know if it will work or not, but I'm surprised that windows even loads up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Sep 21 2006, 08:35 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,853
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Sep 21 2006, 11:08 AM)
My keyboard does work ok in Dosbox, but it does not respond after I load Windows.

I copied the whole windows directory over from an older laptop, and the keyboard is set for a US keyboard, and I think there might be a conflict there with the zaurus non-standard keyboard.

As soon as I get a mouse for my zaurus, I will try to change the keyboard country settings.
I don't know if it will work or not, but I'm surprised that windows even loads up.
*

I hate to go off topic, but here goes...
dougeeebear, you said you loaded windows 3.1 in dosbox.
My question is, many years ago there was a version of windows 95 that was stripped down, and it was called "windows lite"
It had most or all of the "Bloat" removed.
Have you seen such a thing?
I had a copy of it 5 or 6 years ago and it ran really well on an older PC.
I just cannot seem to find it in my huge stack of CDRs and DVDRs
If windows could be run inside dosbox, I would think "windows lite" would be a good candidate.
I have a ton of software that will run in both versions of windows, (16 bit & 32bit)
BTW, I still have original copies of Win 3.1 on 5.25" and the current size floppies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Sep 21 2006, 08:40 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



Do you mean Windows lite from these guys?

http://www.litepc.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Sep 21 2006, 08:57 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,853
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(Sy Ali @ Sep 21 2006, 11:40 AM)
Do you mean Windows lite from these guys?

http://www.litepc.com
*

Something like that, but was windows 95 lite. (It was free then)
I googled found and many refrences to "Windows 95 Lite Free" (I'm sure that's what I had).
I don't know if it's free anymore, and none of the refrences I mentioned above offer a download.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Sep 21 2006, 10:10 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



Has this been out for a while? I remember people working on a version originally for the 6000, but I thought that version was too buggy and I didn't hear anything more on it. I'll probably try this out tonight. Thanks Meanie and congrats on the anniversary. My 3100's birthday is in November....

QUOTE(Meanie @ Sep 21 2006, 07:47 AM)
try this: http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/feed/usbkb..._2.4.20_arm.ipk
plug in usb keyboard and keys are automatically remapped for us keyboard layout after 5 seconds, unplug keyboard and keys are remapped back for the Zaurus keyboard.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
agoodm
post Sep 21 2006, 01:15 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 30-December 05
Member No.: 8,817



Can this work with a UK mapped keyboard?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Sep 21 2006, 01:27 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



I think that it would be easy to install this, and then edit the keymap file that it uses.

I might end up doing that with a russian keyboard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Sep 21 2006, 01:30 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 537
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Sep 21 2006, 11:08 AM)
My keyboard does work ok in Dosbox, but it does not respond after I load Windows.

I copied the whole windows directory over from an older laptop, and the keyboard is set for a US keyboard, and I think there might be a conflict there with the zaurus non-standard keyboard.

As soon as I get a mouse for my zaurus, I will try to change the keyboard country settings.
I don't know if it will work or not, but I'm surprised that windows even loads up.
*

I just installed Dosbox on my windoze pc, and copied win-31 to it the same way I did with my z.
The keyboard doesn't work on that either, so it's nothing to do with the z keyboard.
I tried to copy the installation disks to a CF card so I could do a regular install, but my disk1 has an error.
Lucky me.
I'll have to figure out another way to cure it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Sep 21 2006, 01:38 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/DOSEMU-HOWTO-8.html

QUOTE
8.1 Is it possible to run MS-Windows 3.1 under dosemu?

The ../doc/README.Windows file says:

***************************************************************
*    WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!!  *
*                                                            *
*  Danger Will Robinson!!!  This is not yet fully supported  *
*  and there are many known bugs!  Large programs will almost *
*  certainly NOT WORK!!!  BE PREPARED FOR SYSTEM CRASHES IF  *
*  YOU TRY THIS!!!                                            *
*                                                            *
*    WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!!  *
***************************************************************


I've also seen rederences to running windows in real mode, with win /R

Some people say that the mouse and keyboard do work together.. see http://forums.xbox-scene.com/lofiversion/i...hp/t437898.html

So perhaps it is a keyboard mapping issue after all!

I guess changing the locale could work..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Sep 21 2006, 02:07 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 537
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Got the keyboard working in Dosbox/win-31.
It was just a setting in windows setup.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Sep 24 2006, 12:05 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



Well, using the driver "worked" except that no keys were mapped. I removed the driver and rebooted.. and now the keyboard won't work at all.

Something strange is happening. I'll wait for my other keyboard to arrive and I'll try again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2020 - 09:23 AM