OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> KDE is usable after all
jornada720
post Jun 9 2019, 08:25 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



So out of frustration with LXQt, I had not bothered using my Gemini much on the Linux side but I just came back to it recently.

It turns out that you can actually use KDE, you just have to make sure that its global keyboard shortcut daemon is not running.

You can find it within the KSysguard task manager. The process name is kglobalaccel5. Just kill it and your keyboard will work as normal.

If you don't want to have to keep killing the process, just have root make kglobalaccel5 non executable

sudo chmod 444 /usr/bin/kglobalaccel5

The downside of not running the global shortcut manager is that KWin shortcuts will no longer work. But on the other hand, KDE Plasma is much better suited for touch use and the task bar can actually be used, unlike in LXQt.

You can also set up KDE Plasma to put applications' menu bars inside of your panel and save vertical screen real estate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 17 2019, 04:30 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 17 2019, 08:21 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(szilveszter domotor @ Jun 17 2019, 08:30 AM) *
well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.

Please post your output after running this command

CODE
apt -f install
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 17 2019, 11:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 17 2019, 08:21 PM) *
QUOTE(szilveszter domotor @ Jun 17 2019, 08:30 AM) *
well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.

Please post your output after running this command

CODE
apt -f install


I could get rid of the piceses left over after deleting libre from the catalog as Plasma has include libre , so rm -r .../archive/libre* , then apt-get --fix-missing then just install plasma worked... However it still not solved the problem with the power management 4 hours -> 10% battery, and it was on a 2A charger smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2019 - 12:23 PM