OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Flash Rom With Sd Card, Can it be done with any Rom/Distro?
guitara
post Feb 13 2006, 01:39 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 5-February 06
Member No.: 9,075



Ok, I'm new to this community, and to the Zaurus. I just got one today, and would really like to run Debian/pdaxrom on it, as I like the idea of running a minipc out of the box. Course, it's only a 5500, so they may not be an option. I've looked at using hentges or cackos rom to start, as I guessing? the default sharp won't meet my needs. I'd like to do some wardriving, programming, and browsing on the device, as well as using media player. But, I've seemingly no way to flash the device, as I have 2 SD cards, and no CF cards. I'm not real open to buying another card, if I don't have to as I have enough (2 gb between 2 cards) storage as it is. So, can anyone point me into the direction of getting OZ or some other ROM flashed onto the device without having a CF card? And how would I then install everything to my SD card, so the data would be presevered in power loss, as well as freeing the 64mb of flash ram to use as ram on the unit. Hentges, in reading the forum, seems to be the easy way to get a quicksetup, but only with a cf card? I should mention I guess, if it helps, that I do have a CF wifi card. the LinkSys WCF12. Thanks, and great forum. Wonderful to see others using this great little pda. Had a Sony Clie, but this looks like it could go much farther.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Feb 13 2006, 01:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,366
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poland
Member No.: 1,413



no way - SL-5000/5500 can be flashed only with CF card - 16M one will be enough - you probably can get it free from someone with older digital camera.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guitara
post Feb 13 2006, 09:53 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 5-February 06
Member No.: 9,075



I figured.. Are SD cards slower than CF cards? Initially I figured since the CF slot would be taken by a wifi card, it made more sense to have SD cards to store data on, so you could do both at the same time, right? I'll look into getting an old CF card then.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Feb 13 2006, 08:46 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



You don't keep the wifi card in all the time, the antenna sticks out and can get snagged/twisted/broken. When I'm not using mine it lives in a pocket on the back of my Pouch. Swapping out cards is easy, just remember to unmount (click on the card's icon on the systray, click "Eject") before you pull it out or you might bork something.

QUOTE(guitara @ Feb 13 2006, 12:53 PM)
I figured.. Are SD cards slower than CF cards? Initially I figured since the CF slot would be taken by a wifi card, it made more sense to have SD cards to store data on, so you could do both at the same time, right? I'll look into getting an old CF card then.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th September 2018 - 11:52 AM