OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Auto-rotate.
Steve Goodey
post Jan 7 2020, 03:12 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 10-January 18
From: Colchester, England
Member No.: 816,225



Hello,

I'm looking into a Cosmo autorotate problem, could someone look in Android settings, Accessibility, and in the Interaction controls section see if there is an Auto-rotate screen setting?

On my Gemini there is, but not on the Cosmo. Thanks.

Steve.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NormMonkey
post Jan 7 2020, 06:18 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 22-November 19
Member No.: 860,015



QUOTE(Steve Goodey @ Jan 7 2020, 06:12 AM) *
I'm looking into a Cosmo autorotate problem, could someone look in Android settings, Accessibility, and in the Interaction controls section see if there is an Auto-rotate screen setting?


Not there for me:
Attached Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
novaldex
post Jan 7 2020, 06:11 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 8-January 18
Member No.: 816,032



Hi Steve,

sorry, no option for Auto-rotate in the location you've specified.

There is:
Dwell timing
Power button ends call
Touch & hold delay
Vibration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Steve Goodey
post Jan 7 2020, 06:19 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 10-January 18
From: Colchester, England
Member No.: 816,225



Great, thanks guys, just what I wanted to see, it's not just mine.

I'll try a query to Planet Computers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom D
post Jan 7 2020, 09:56 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 5-January 18
Member No.: 815,874



The Cosmo doesn't support auto-rotate. The intention is to force apps to Landscape so you can use it like a mini-laptop.

I use Rotation Control Pro, which lets me select rotation on an App-specific basis. I set apps that perform better (or at all) in Portrait to automatically open in Portrait. It's a little clunky but works for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
plutopants
post Jan 7 2020, 11:12 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 18
Member No.: 817,962



QUOTE(Tom D @ Jan 7 2020, 05:56 PM) *
The Cosmo doesn't support auto-rotate. The intention is to force apps to Landscape so you can use it like a mini-laptop.

I use Rotation Control Pro, which lets me select rotation on an App-specific basis. I set apps that perform better (or at all) in Portrait to automatically open in Portrait. It's a little clunky but works for me.


I used Macdroid to create a drawer shortcut to a Macro using Force Screen Rotate for each of Portrait and Landscape mode. This works great for me Andi don't have to find 3 fingers any more.

I use Portrait mode a lot - Agenda and Airmail are Landscapers though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Jan 10 2020, 03:41 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



@plutopants So you got a LANDSCAAPE Cosmo to do portrait stuff because...?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spook
post Jan 10 2020, 06:16 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 24-June 18
Member No.: 824,977



...because some Android Apps just hate landscape mode, and the only way to use them efficiently is to use portrait. Same for some sites. As soon as they see amobile device, they serve up a mobile version which is optimised for portrait screens.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gymbo
post Jan 10 2020, 07:40 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 21-January 18
From: Norway
Member No.: 816,769



QUOTE(spook @ Jan 11 2020, 03:16 AM) *
...because some Android Apps just hate landscape mode, and the only way to use them efficiently is to use portrait. Same for some sites. As soon as they see amobile device, they serve up a mobile version which is optimised for portrait screens.

For websites that give you mobile versions (optimized for portrait) I get most "stable" "non-mobile" versions with the Opera browser with "desktop version " turned on in settings (and Vivaldi now starts to get there too...). So a lot of the time you might get around that "problem".

There are some apps that refuse to work in landscape, and a few more that works poorly, but unless it's the only app for that "function" we should try and find alternatives that DO work in landscape as well...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wapsi
post Jan 31 2020, 01:23 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 20
Member No.: 864,647



I posted this message into Gemini Planet's Facebook group as well but it might be good idea to post it here as well:

"I'm 100% sure the automatic screen rotation used to work with my Cosmo with the stock FW version (V15) installed: After I ticked "Force landscape" and "Force portrait" modes off from App bar's settings the automatic screen rotation worked when I rotated the device. After I upgraded the FW to V19 it stopped working. The only way to rotate the screen is manually trigger it from the App bar: "Force Rotate".
And I just verified the automatic screen rotation is working with the same settings in my Gemini PDA. So I assume this is a bug in Cosmo's latest firmware(s)?
Luckily I was able to create a workaround by using Tasker to force the screen oriantation to landscape or to portrait mode, depending the state of "orientation sensor". Now the screen is rotating automatically if I rotate the device. But still I think this is a bug in Cosmo's Android. I've reported this issue to PlanetCom, let's see what they'll respond..."

And here are the screenshots how I implemented this in Tasker: https://imgur.com/a/MrcMDub
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Steve Goodey
post Feb 1 2020, 03:20 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 10-January 18
From: Colchester, England
Member No.: 816,225



Thanks for this info.

Your screenshots seem to make Tasker look a bit complicated. Do you find it quite easy to use?

Steve.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steeph
post Feb 1 2020, 03:37 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-January 20
From: Germany
Member No.: 863,951



QUOTE(Steve Goodey @ Feb 1 2020, 03:20 AM) *
Your screenshots seem to make Tasker look a bit complicated. Do you find it quite easy to use?

I didn't think so before I tried to copy these settings and couldn't make it work. I've never used Tasker before and it's not as self explaining to me as I expected.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noppe
post Feb 2 2020, 01:49 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 30-January 20
Member No.: 864,802



I can see how those Tasker screenshots might be a bit confusing for those who haven't used Tasker a lot. Here's a step-by-step for installing waspi's rules:

Starting on the Tasker homescreen, with the PROFILES tab selected:
  • Press "+" in lower right corner
  • Select "State"
  • Select "Sensor" > "Orientation" (or type "orie..." into filter field)
  • Select "Is" > "Left Side"
  • Press back arrow in upper left
  • Press "+" next to "New Task"
  • Enter name "SetOrientationPortraitReverse"
  • Press "+" in lower right corner
  • Select "Display" > "Force Rotation" (or type into filter field)
  • Select "Mode" > "Portrait Reverse"
  • Select "Alternative Method (Check Help)"
  • Press back arrow in upper left
  • Return to PROFILES tab
Now just repeat all these steps (with the obvious changes of course) for "Orientation Right Side" > "SetOrientationPortrait", and for "Not Orientation Left Side" + "Not Orientation Right Side" > "SetOrientationLandscape". The last one is a little trickier, because first you have to select "Invert" when you create the profile (to get the "Not") and then after you have created the SetOrientationLandscape task, press and hold on "Not Orientation Left Side" (on the same line on the screen where it now says "SetOrientationLandscape", not the title line above that, and select "Add" to add the second second state, "Not Orientation Right Side" (again remember to select "Invert" here).

Tasker is a bit daunting when you first start to use it. It kind of has to be, because it's incredibly powerful. Given its broad range of abilities, the UI actually is very well designed, and once you get used to it, you'll find it quite easy to get it do the things you need. It's just a bit scary at first. When I write out all these steps, it sounds a lot more complex than it really is. It's really pretty intuitive once you get the hang of it.

Hope this helps!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steeph
post Feb 2 2020, 02:58 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-January 20
From: Germany
Member No.: 863,951



Thank you very much. This seems helpful. Unfortunately it's not doing anything for me. It's working with the play button in Tasker. but not automatically.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noppe
post Feb 2 2020, 05:11 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 30-January 20
Member No.: 864,802



QUOTE(steeph @ Feb 2 2020, 12:58 PM) *
Thank you very much. This seems helpful. Unfortunately it's not doing anything for me. It's working with the play button in Tasker. but not automatically.


In the Tasker main screen, are the appropriate profiles turning green when you rotate the Cosmo around? One of them (and only one of them) should always be green, and which one will depend on the orientation. If they're not turning green, then there's something wrong with Tasker detecting the orientation of the device.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th February 2020 - 02:10 PM