OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Switch Between Wireless Networks?
BarryW
post Jan 28 2007, 03:18 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 690
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



I'm running into the same problem I've had with the other non-Sharp roms. What's the easiest way to switch between different wireless networks?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 28 2007, 06:37 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,342
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 28 2007, 06:18 PM)
I'm running into the same problem I've had with the other non-Sharp roms.  What's the easiest way to switch between different wireless networks?
*


In Betas 1, 2, and 3 you can set different profiles and use a console command to switch between them (cardctl scheme _____). In r121 you can set up a wifi script for each network. I can post more details on my setup if you're running r121 and want them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jan 28 2007, 06:40 PM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



I'm eagerly looking for a user friendly, functional and light network/wifi app for pdaxrom... if anyone has suggestions... let me know and it may be included in the next release...

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jan 28 2007, 06:56 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



wasn't work started on a set of elftk tools to replace the python applets we have in beta3? maybe I missed the point? it is easy enough to keep mutiple configs 2 clicks away with network app in beta3, logh it takes a few seconds to load
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jan 28 2007, 07:07 PM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(adf @ Jan 28 2007, 09:56 PM)
wasn't work started on a set of elftk tools to replace the python applets we have in beta3?  maybe I missed the point? it is easy enough to keep mutiple configs 2 clicks away with network app in beta3, logh it takes a few seconds to load
*


The person that started working on it is busy with work and school so he couldn't futher his development... I started looking at the python tools but realized we are still lacking the wireless scanning module available in alot of the current apps out there now...

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 28 2007, 09:16 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 690
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 28 2007, 05:37 PM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 28 2007, 06:18 PM)
I'm running into the same problem I've had with the other non-Sharp roms.  What's the easiest way to switch between different wireless networks?
*


In Betas 1, 2, and 3 you can set different profiles and use a console command to switch between them (cardctl scheme _____). In r121 you can set up a wifi script for each network. I can post more details on my setup if you're running r121 and want them.
*




Yep, that would be cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sorearse
post Jan 29 2007, 06:01 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 05
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 6,496



I think wifi radar should meet your needs. I used to run it under beta 4. It lists all networks detected, and allows the user to enter and store any wep keys etc, then connect.

However, these days I use WPA supplicant which is configured to connect to known networks first (like my home wpa secured router), but then to connect to any open networks. But I still need to run a small script to disconnect, restart wpa_supplicant, then run dhcpcd to get a new ip address. My script looks like this - it's not perfect but does connect most of the time. I've assigned the script to a button on my xfce panel, and a key combination for easy connecting.

/etc/rc.d/init.d/wpa_supplicant stop
pccardctl eject
sleep 3
pccardctl insert
sleep 3
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wpa_supplicant start
sleep 3
dhcp wlan0
sleep 3
ping -c3 www.google.com

Regards
Sorearse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jan 29 2007, 06:17 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(Sorearse @ Jan 29 2007, 09:01 AM)
I think wifi radar should meet your needs. I used to run it under beta 4. It lists all networks detected, and allows the user to enter and store any wep keys etc, then connect.

However, these days I use WPA supplicant which is configured to connect to known networks first (like my home wpa secured router), but then to connect to any open networks. But I still need to run a small script to disconnect, restart wpa_supplicant, then run dhcpcd to get a new ip address.  My script looks like this - it's not perfect but does connect most of the time. I've assigned the script to a  button on my xfce panel, and a key combination for easy connecting.

/etc/rc.d/init.d/wpa_supplicant stop
pccardctl eject
sleep 3
pccardctl insert
sleep 3
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wpa_supplicant start
sleep 3
dhcp wlan0
sleep 3
ping -c3 www.google.com

Regards
Sorearse
*



I actually just built it for pdaxrom... but I didnt try it yet... the gui looks like... but the config menu looks like it my expand outside of the viewable area... that was the only issue I thought I may run into... but only time will tell... I will let you know how it all goes....

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 29 2007, 10:22 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 690
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Who's feed has wifi radar? I'm not finding it in the r121 feed.



Okay, found it. Doesn't work though. It doesn't find anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jan 29 2007, 11:05 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 01:22 PM)
Who's feed has wifi radar?  I'm not finding it in the r121 feed.
*


I just built is locally... I didnt put it up yet... I will post it tonight if everything it fine and well...

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 29 2007, 11:47 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,342
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 12:16 AM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 28 2007, 05:37 PM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 28 2007, 06:18 PM)
I'm running into the same problem I've had with the other non-Sharp roms.  What's the easiest way to switch between different wireless networks?
*


In Betas 1, 2, and 3 you can set different profiles and use a console command to switch between them (cardctl scheme _____). In r121 you can set up a wifi script for each network. I can post more details on my setup if you're running r121 and want them.
*




Yep, that would be cool.
*


First, you make a script to put in /bin, /usr/bin, your home dir, etc. It looks like this:

(wifi.sh, or whatever you want to name it.)
CODE
#!/bin/bash
/path/to/other/scripts/1

mv /path/to/other/scripts/2 /path/to/other/scripts/3
mv /path/to/other/scripts/1 /path/to/other/scripts/2
mv /path/to/other/scripts/3 /path/to/other/scripts/1

chmod a+x /path/to/other/scripts/1
chmod a+x /path/to/other/scripts/2


Then, in /path/to/other/scripts/, make two scripts:

1 (be sure to name it "1" or edit the other scripts accordingly):
CODE
#!/bin/bash
pccardctl insert 1
killall dhcpcd
ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 essid (SSIDNAME) mode managed key (KEY) channel (CHANNEL) power on
dhcpcd wlan0


2 (Same as for the above script except for call this one "2":
CODE
#!/bin/bash
pccardctl eject 1


The script you run only calls the script that either turns your wifi on or off, then switches the on script and the off script so the next time it's run it will do the opposite. You can make different sets of these in their own directories with their own script to call each one. For instance you can have wifi-home.sh for your home network with the path /path/to/other/scripts/wifi-home/ and wifi-work.sh with the path /path/to/other/scripts/wifi-work/.

Unless I mistyped something, that should work. I assume it would work in non-r121 versions with tweaks (like changing pccardctl to cardctl), but I can't guarentee it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Feb 7 2007, 10:42 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 690
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(InSearchOf @ Jan 29 2007, 10:05 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 29 2007, 01:22 PM)
Who's feed has wifi radar?  I'm not finding it in the r121 feed.
*


I just built is locally... I didnt put it up yet... I will post it tonight if everything it fine and well...

Late
*




Does it work??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hermocom
post Feb 8 2007, 01:24 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-June 06
From: Bavaria, Germany
Member No.: 10,034



Hi guys,

I just jumped upon this thread, so sorry for not replying earlier.

My XCardscheme may be what you want. It allows easy GUI-based switching between the schemes defined in the Lan & Wifi config.

You can download or feed it from here:
http://www.hermocom.com/feeds/pdaxrom1.1.0beta3/

It needs Xdialog.

Daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psycoman
post Feb 8 2007, 02:47 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 2-December 04
Member No.: 5,713



This is only for beta[1,2,3] ? rigth ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hermocom
post Feb 8 2007, 03:59 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-June 06
From: Bavaria, Germany
Member No.: 10,034



it has been developed under and for beta3.
Not sure if it works under other versions, but since it is entirely script-based and just uses Xdialog for GUI output, it should at least be very easily portable, maybe simply works under other beta versions.

Daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th November 2018 - 11:48 PM