OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem Installing & Running Programs
ArchiMark
post Oct 20 2016, 04:23 PM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks.....

Upgraded pacman.....

Tried system upgrade again.....

Went well, but got following messages (upgrading 459 packages), didn't watch display continuously, but pretty often, so, hopefully did not miss any other important messages....

CODE
upgrading gnupg
kill gpg-agent and dirmgr before using gnupg
.........

upgrading mono:
/tmp/alpm-8HLoAA/.INSTALL:
line 5: 3899 Illegal instruction   (core dumped)
cert-sync /etc/ssl/certs/ca-certificates.crt
error: command failed to execute correctly


Yeah!

Tried to open Firefox.......

Took a while....but.....it opens now!

cool.gif


But is slow to respond....will try some other browsers....

Meanwhile, one other issue I've had is being able to change time to be correct for my location.

When I've tried using timedatectl and set correct timezone, it gave me error message that I could not do this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 23 2016, 01:47 AM
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 914
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 21 2016, 02:23 AM) *
Tried to open Firefox.......

Took a while....but.....it opens now!

cool.gif

But is slow to respond....will try some other browsers....

I have read that the CF slot is faster than the SD one, can anyone confirm this? If so, it might be worth to move your system to an SD card and use a CF card for swap, although you won't be able to use the SD slot for data exchange anymore.

About a faster browser, you might give NetSurf a go: http://www.netsurf-browser.org/

QUOTE
Meanwhile, one other issue I've had is being able to change time to be correct for my location.

When I've tried using timedatectl and set correct timezone, it gave me error message that I could not do this.

Are you running it from the shell? If so, are you running it with sudo?

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 23 2016, 09:33 AM
Post #18





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 23 2016, 02:47 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 21 2016, 02:23 AM) *
Tried to open Firefox.......

Took a while....but.....it opens now!

cool.gif

But is slow to respond....will try some other browsers....

I have read that the CF slot is faster than the SD one, can anyone confirm this? If so, it might be worth to move your system to an SD card and use a CF card for swap, although you won't be able to use the SD slot for data exchange anymore.

About a faster browser, you might give NetSurf a go: http://www.netsurf-browser.org/

QUOTE
Meanwhile, one other issue I've had is being able to change time to be correct for my location.

When I've tried using timedatectl and set correct timezone, it gave me error message that I could not do this.

Are you running it from the shell? If so, are you running it with sudo?

Varti


Don't know about the CF vs SD slot speeds.....

Thanks for the tip about NetSurf......

Running timedatectl from terminal, use 'su' and do as root.....do I need to do it using sudo?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 24 2016, 07:06 AM
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



New issue......

Booted up Z this morning.....

Wasn't watching display carefully and it booted up the default selection 'System....'

So, shut it down, rebooted, and selected the 'Alarm...' option....

Watched messages in console and saw various error messages such as:

CODE
[FAILED] Failed to start journal service.  (saw this message multiple times)

[ *...] A start job is running for dev/mmcblk0  (took about a minute or so to complete...)

[DEPENDS] couldn't read rest of message in time....

[FAILED] something about network....

[FAILED] something about time....



Then it completed booting up. But ethernet network not working....usually automatically works.

Started thinking about the boot up process.

Think sometimes recently, I let Zaurus startup without monitoring it. Therefore, it would have booted up with default selection. So, I was updated Zaurus while it was booted up this way.

Any way to get default selection changed?

In meantime, what do you suggest I do to fix issues?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 25 2016, 01:12 AM
Post #20





Group: Moderators
Posts: 360
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 23 2016, 06:33 PM) *
QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 23 2016, 02:47 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 21 2016, 02:23 AM) *
Tried to open Firefox.......

Took a while....but.....it opens now!

cool.gif

But is slow to respond....will try some other browsers....

I have read that the CF slot is faster than the SD one, can anyone confirm this? If so, it might be worth to move your system to an SD card and use a CF card for swap, although you won't be able to use the SD slot for data exchange anymore.

About a faster browser, you might give NetSurf a go: http://www.netsurf-browser.org/

QUOTE
Meanwhile, one other issue I've had is being able to change time to be correct for my location.

When I've tried using timedatectl and set correct timezone, it gave me error message that I could not do this.

Are you running it from the shell? If so, are you running it with sudo?

Varti


Don't know about the CF vs SD slot speeds.....

Thanks for the tip about NetSurf......

Running timedatectl from terminal, use 'su' and do as root.....do I need to do it using sudo?



My feeling is that a CF to SD adapter gives better speeds than just using the SD card in the SD slot. Just an observation, no real benchmarks.


To set your timezone you need to follow the Arch guide but I use https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/time#fake-hwclock to keep time in "sync" during cold boots as the RTC does not really work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 25 2016, 01:14 AM
Post #21





Group: Moderators
Posts: 360
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 24 2016, 04:06 PM) *
New issue......

Booted up Z this morning.....

Wasn't watching display carefully and it booted up the default selection 'System....'

So, shut it down, rebooted, and selected the 'Alarm...' option....

Watched messages in console and saw various error messages such as:

CODE
[FAILED] Failed to start journal service.  (saw this message multiple times)

[ *...] A start job is running for dev/mmcblk0  (took about a minute or so to complete...)

[DEPENDS] couldn't read rest of message in time....

[FAILED] something about network....

[FAILED] something about time....



Then it completed booting up. But ethernet network not working....usually automatically works.

Started thinking about the boot up process.

Think sometimes recently, I let Zaurus startup without monitoring it. Therefore, it would have booted up with default selection. So, I was updated Zaurus while it was booted up this way.

Any way to get default selection changed?

In meantime, what do you suggest I do to fix issues?

Thanks.


Mark, was this posted by you ? Sounds like a machine translation ? Your account compromised or what ? Maybe you just came back from the Pub ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 25 2016, 05:16 AM
Post #22





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(greguu @ Oct 25 2016, 02:12 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 23 2016, 06:33 PM) *
QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 23 2016, 02:47 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 21 2016, 02:23 AM) *
Tried to open Firefox.......

Took a while....but.....it opens now!

cool.gif

But is slow to respond....will try some other browsers....

I have read that the CF slot is faster than the SD one, can anyone confirm this? If so, it might be worth to move your system to an SD card and use a CF card for swap, although you won't be able to use the SD slot for data exchange anymore.

About a faster browser, you might give NetSurf a go: http://www.netsurf-browser.org/

QUOTE
Meanwhile, one other issue I've had is being able to change time to be correct for my location.

When I've tried using timedatectl and set correct timezone, it gave me error message that I could not do this.

Are you running it from the shell? If so, are you running it with sudo?

Varti


Don't know about the CF vs SD slot speeds.....

Thanks for the tip about NetSurf......

Running timedatectl from terminal, use 'su' and do as root.....do I need to do it using sudo?



My feeling is that a CF to SD adapter gives better speeds than just using the SD card in the SD slot. Just an observation, no real benchmarks.


To set your timezone you need to follow the Arch guide but I use https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/time#fake-hwclock to keep time in "sync" during cold boots as the RTC does not really work.



QUOTE(greguu @ Oct 25 2016, 02:14 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 24 2016, 04:06 PM) *
New issue......

Booted up Z this morning.....

Wasn't watching display carefully and it booted up the default selection 'System....'

So, shut it down, rebooted, and selected the 'Alarm...' option....

Watched messages in console and saw various error messages such as:

CODE
[FAILED] Failed to start journal service.  (saw this message multiple times)

[ *...] A start job is running for dev/mmcblk0  (took about a minute or so to complete...)

[DEPENDS] couldn't read rest of message in time....

[FAILED] something about network....

[FAILED] something about time....



Then it completed booting up. But ethernet network not working....usually automatically works.

Started thinking about the boot up process.

Think sometimes recently, I let Zaurus startup without monitoring it. Therefore, it would have booted up with default selection. So, I was updated Zaurus while it was booted up this way.

Any way to get default selection changed?

In meantime, what do you suggest I do to fix issues?

Thanks.


Mark, was this posted by you ? Sounds like a machine translation ? Your account compromised or what ? Maybe you just came back from the Pub ?


Thanks for your input, Greg.....

Yes, I posted this.....machine translation???..........Why do you think that?....

I posted what really is happening with Z.......not sure how to fix it.....

huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 25 2016, 08:28 PM
Post #23





Group: Moderators
Posts: 360
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE
Thanks for your input, Greg.....

Yes, I posted this.....machine translation???..........Why do you think that?....

I posted what really is happening with Z.......not sure how to fix it.....

huh.gif


Hi Mark,

not sure, maybe it was just me..

Anyway. back to the issue. wink.gif

Can you provide output of

systemctl --failed

after a fresh boot ?

You can also scroll through your latest kernel boot messages using

journalctl -xe


This will help to see what failed and possibly how to fix it.

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 25 2016, 09:35 PM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Hi Greg,

Thanks as always for your help......

Here's what I get:

CODE
# systemctl --failed
   UNIT                                          LOAD    ACTIVE   SUB       DESCRIPTION
* systemd-journald.service             loaded   failed      failed     Journal Service
* systemd-logind.service                loaded   failed      failed     Login Service
* systemd-networkd.service            loaded   failed      failed     Network Service
* systemd-resolved.service             loaded   failed      failed     Network Name Resolution
* systemd-timesyncd.service          loaded   failed      failed     Network Time Synchronization
* systemd-journald-dev-log.socket  loaded   failed      failed     Journal Socket (/dev/log)
* systemd-journald.socket              loaded   failed      failed     Journal Socket
* systemd-networkd.socket            loaded   failed      failed     Network Service Netlink Socket

LOAD   = Reflects whether the unit definition was properly loaded.
ACTIVE = The high-level unit activation state, i.e. generalization of SUB
SUB     = The low-level unit activation state, values depend on unit type

8 loaded units listed. Pass --all to see loaded but inactive units too.
To show all installed unit files use 'systemctl list-unit-files'.


As for ......

CODE
# journalctl -xe


It produces a very long list.......

I piped output to a text file to be able to copy over to my computer to post here, but now realized I left all my SD cards at office. So, will try to copy early Wed morning my time in California and then post it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 26 2016, 06:30 AM
Post #25





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



OK, got the file copied.....

Here you go.......................

It's looonnnnggggg......................


Thanks.

This post has been edited by Varti: Oct 26 2016, 11:39 PM
Reason for edit: Moved the log output to an attachment. In case of long log dumps such as this please attach it to your post instead, to improve readability.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  journalctl_log.txt ( 130.96K ) Number of downloads: 70
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 26 2016, 10:40 PM
Post #26





Group: Moderators
Posts: 360
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 26 2016, 03:30 PM) *
--snip all the stuff---


Hi Mark,

Thanks for this. This helped to narrow down the issue.

After a pacman -Syu today I can confirm that current systemd requires SECCOMP support in the kernel.

Notice : https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...st&p=282584

You will need to replace the zImage and your modules. In your case you may need to copy via an SD card if network fails.

(Make sure you have a booting SD card for recovery if you are not familiar with kernel updates.)

Please let me know if the issue was solved after upgrading or you need more details.

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 27 2016, 05:23 AM
Post #27





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,643
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Will do.....probably tomorrow....

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2019 - 11:44 AM