OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> pdaXrom allows full X11 apps?
xsys
post Apr 14 2004, 05:50 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,850



Hi!

I am new to the Zaurus, but I know a little about X11. Can I run some of my X11 (Linux) apps on a Zaurus that has pdaXrom? Apps like Gimp? From what I have read, it seems like I can, but maybe the apps still need to be ported somehow...or can I just use them natively?

Thanks,
JR
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Apr 14 2004, 05:56 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



Yes you can run them natively, there is a feed at:

http://www.pdaxrom.org/feed

You can run GIMP! And Doom, Abiword, Gnumeric, XMMS etc. etc.

There is also a SDK so you can port any other apps you want by cross compiling the source.

Hope this helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xsys
post Apr 14 2004, 06:24 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,850



But doesn't the .ipk extension signify that it has been re-compiled for the pdaxrom platform? I am wondering if I can directly upload a binary I have that runs on Linux and run it in the pdaxrom environment? Or do you just change the extension?

I also thought I read about an emulator for Windows somewhere...maybe I can test, rather than bug you :wink:

Thanks...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Apr 14 2004, 06:33 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



No, .ipk files mean they are for ipkg, which all the Zaurus ROMs use not just pdaXrom.
No, you cannot use a binary from a PC running Linux if that is what you mean, a program must be compiled for the Xscale/ARM architecture of the Z.
I do not believe there is an emulator.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xsys
post Apr 14 2004, 06:37 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,850



> No, you cannot use a binary from a PC running Linux if that is what you mean

Yep...that's what I meant. Thanks for clearing that up.

JR
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Apr 14 2004, 06:59 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



;-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2019 - 08:38 PM