OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems latest firmware
mithrandir
post Jun 1 2019, 06:04 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(cam1965 @ May 31 2019, 07:33 AM) *
PERFECT.
Problem solved.
Thank you so much.
Now almost everything is fine.
Only the problem of mac address changing after every boot. ( in debian )

Thank you again.

Out of interest and for other readers with the same problem, what has been the fix?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 06:22 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 1 2019, 06:04 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ May 31 2019, 07:33 AM) *
PERFECT.
Problem solved.
Thank you so much.
Now almost everything is fine.
Only the problem of mac address changing after every boot. ( in debian )

Thank you again.

Out of interest and for other readers with the same problem, what has been the fix?


The fix was posted here by Mibry ( page 2 ). I also replied his post and I thanked him.See below what Mibry said :

"I also reflashed my gemini with the new debian image from planet support website and had the same kernel as cam1965. I did a dd of the linux-boot.img kernel image in /usr/share/kernel and was able to boot into debian. I also notice before I flashed the image I had the same kernel version as cam1965. The kernel version has now changed to 3.18.41 without the + at the end."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 06:44 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ May 31 2019, 05:00 PM) *
QUOTE(flotsam @ May 31 2019, 02:03 PM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ May 31 2019, 06:03 PM) *
Maybe restoring the NVRAM from backup fixes the mac address issue.


Unfortunately, I don't think the problem is quite so simple. At least mine isn't.

I did make an NVRAM backup. And while I didn't restore it, I did another backup after the problem appeared, and compared the two. They were identical. So I don't think that restoring it would make a difference.

Also, when I reflash using "firmware upgrade" mode (but no restore of the original NVRAM backup), I do get my original MAC address back. (I didn't really pay attention to the IMEI; don't know about that). So the MAC address does seem to be uncorrupted in the NVRAM. It just isn't getting set on the interface after the first android boot.

But the problem does seem to be related to the early-boot NVRAM settings. I don't really understand the process well enough to say what is going on. Informed speculation is welcome.


The NVRAM backup of course is just the first thing to try. Once had a similar problem with unknown baseband: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl=
Tried quite some stuff before I got it working again. Probably erasing the contents of /nvdata or /data/nvram has been part of the solution. Afterwards the directory got refilled from NVRAM (on reboot , if I remember correctly), I think. No guarantees on that, since I have tried too many things to recall the complete fix. You might try out if this helps (KEEP A BACKUP) to solve your problem. This is highly speculative, but you have asked for wink.gif


Hi,

Problem solved .
First, I 've erased my previous wifi saved connections from /var/lib/connman. Did a reboot.
So, I've erased the contents of /nvdata and after this I rebootet gemini again. Checked and /nvdata was refilled again . So, In connman I Filled again my wifi SSID ( name and password ). Wifi worked . Did a reboot.
Now connman has saved my wifi connections even after reboot.
Thank you so much .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 07:26 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 06:44 AM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ May 31 2019, 05:00 PM) *
QUOTE(flotsam @ May 31 2019, 02:03 PM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ May 31 2019, 06:03 PM) *
Maybe restoring the NVRAM from backup fixes the mac address issue.


Unfortunately, I don't think the problem is quite so simple. At least mine isn't.

I did make an NVRAM backup. And while I didn't restore it, I did another backup after the problem appeared, and compared the two. They were identical. So I don't think that restoring it would make a difference.

Also, when I reflash using "firmware upgrade" mode (but no restore of the original NVRAM backup), I do get my original MAC address back. (I didn't really pay attention to the IMEI; don't know about that). So the MAC address does seem to be uncorrupted in the NVRAM. It just isn't getting set on the interface after the first android boot.

But the problem does seem to be related to the early-boot NVRAM settings. I don't really understand the process well enough to say what is going on. Informed speculation is welcome.


The NVRAM backup of course is just the first thing to try. Once had a similar problem with unknown baseband: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl=
Tried quite some stuff before I got it working again. Probably erasing the contents of /nvdata or /data/nvram has been part of the solution. Afterwards the directory got refilled from NVRAM (on reboot , if I remember correctly), I think. No guarantees on that, since I have tried too many things to recall the complete fix. You might try out if this helps (KEEP A BACKUP) to solve your problem. This is highly speculative, but you have asked for wink.gif


Hi,

Problem solved .
First, I 've erased my previous wifi saved connections from /var/lib/connman. Did a reboot.
So, I've erased the contents of /nvdata and after this I rebootet gemini again. Checked and /nvdata was refilled again . So, In connman I Filled again my wifi SSID ( name and password ). Wifi worked . Did a reboot.
Now connman has saved my wifi connections even after reboot.
Thank you so much .


NOW ANOTHER PROBLEM AFTER THIS :
When I booted in android, sim card was not working !....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jun 1 2019, 07:37 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 07:26 AM) *
NOW ANOTHER PROBLEM AFTER THIS :
When I booted in android, sim card was not working !....


Is the baseband still being shown in android settings?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 09:30 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 1 2019, 07:37 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 07:26 AM) *
NOW ANOTHER PROBLEM AFTER THIS :
When I booted in android, sim card was not working !....


Is the baseband still being shown in android settings?


no baseband.
Empty slot sim card in settings ( both 2 sim cards ).
I will try to flash again everything .
I didn't make a backup of NVRAM0 recently. Only in a old computer that was erased some folders. I will try to recover this file and flash it again .
I also did a reflash of android without success.
Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jun 1 2019, 09:43 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:30 AM) *
no baseband.
Empty slot sim card in settings ( both 2 sim cards ).
I will try to flash again everything .
I didn't make a backup of NVRAM0 recently. Only in a old computer that was erased some folders. I will try to recover this file and flash it again .
I also did a reflash of android without success.
Thank you.


For this problem yo might try the fix I have described in post #6 in https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl= . There baseband version in android settings showed "unknown baseband", which seems to be the same problem you are experiencing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 09:59 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 1 2019, 09:43 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:30 AM) *
no baseband.
Empty slot sim card in settings ( both 2 sim cards ).
I will try to flash again everything .
I didn't make a backup of NVRAM0 recently. Only in a old computer that was erased some folders. I will try to recover this file and flash it again .
I also did a reflash of android without success.
Thank you.


For this problem yo might try the fix I have described in post #6 in https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl= . There baseband version in android settings showed "unknown baseband", which seems to be the same problem you are experiencing.


I don't know how, but Thanks GOD I've recovered my nvram0 backup from my old pc. So I reflashed nvram 0 in gemini but the problem persists.
Now I will reflash everything ( debian + Oreo ).
Will post results here later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 10:11 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:59 AM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 1 2019, 09:43 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:30 AM) *
no baseband.
Empty slot sim card in settings ( both 2 sim cards ).
I will try to flash again everything .
I didn't make a backup of NVRAM0 recently. Only in a old computer that was erased some folders. I will try to recover this file and flash it again .
I also did a reflash of android without success.
Thank you.


For this problem yo might try the fix I have described in post #6 in https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl= . There baseband version in android settings showed "unknown baseband", which seems to be the same problem you are experiencing.


I don't know how, but Thanks GOD I've recovered my nvram0 backup from my old pc. So I reflashed nvram 0 in gemini but the problem persists.
Now I will reflash everything ( debian + Oreo ).
Will post results here later.


Thanks God ! After reflashing from planet images ( debian + OREO ) everything is working ( sim cards are recognized ).
Now, a long work for reconfigure linux and android with all my applications.
Maybe connman will still not save my connections. But it is not a big problem.
This time I booted android first instead of linux. Maybe this will do a difference and who knows ( maybe connman will save my wifi network ).
I will post here the results ( only tomorrow ) cause I am leaving home now .
Thank you all.


Thank you all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 1 2019, 03:05 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 10:11 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:59 AM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 1 2019, 09:43 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 09:30 AM) *
no baseband.
Empty slot sim card in settings ( both 2 sim cards ).
I will try to flash again everything .
I didn't make a backup of NVRAM0 recently. Only in a old computer that was erased some folders. I will try to recover this file and flash it again .
I also did a reflash of android without success.
Thank you.


For this problem yo might try the fix I have described in post #6 in https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35233&hl= . There baseband version in android settings showed "unknown baseband", which seems to be the same problem you are experiencing.


I don't know how, but Thanks GOD I've recovered my nvram0 backup from my old pc. So I reflashed nvram 0 in gemini but the problem persists.
Now I will reflash everything ( debian + Oreo ).
Will post results here later.


Thanks God ! After reflashing from planet images ( debian + OREO ) everything is working ( sim cards are recognized ).
Now, a long work for reconfigure linux and android with all my applications.
Maybe connman will still not save my connections. But it is not a big problem.
This time I booted android first instead of linux. Maybe this will do a difference and who knows ( maybe connman will save my wifi network ).
I will post here the results ( only tomorrow ) cause I am leaving home now .
Thank you all.


Thank you all.


Already installed almost everything in OREO and partially in debian.
Everything is working great, except the problem mentioned before : wifi networks are not saved after reboot in connman. Because after each reboot mac address is changed. Interesting is that in android after each reboot mac address is also changed, but my wifi connection is saved . No need to select the SSID and fill my password again.
In connman it creates in /var/lib/connman a folder wifi_MACADDRESS_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx_managed_psk. If mac address are changed after the boot it creates another folder as mentioned. Inside this folder there is a file named settings with some configurations like password, etc, etc.
I'd like to mention that mac address changes are only in the last 3 bytes. For example 00:01:02: XX:YY:ZZ. Where XX, YY and ZZ are the numbers that changes after each reboot .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jun 2 2019, 05:16 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 03:05 PM) *
Already installed almost everything in OREO and partially in debian.
Everything is working great, except the problem mentioned before : wifi networks are not saved after reboot in connman. Because after each reboot mac address is changed. Interesting is that in android after each reboot mac address is also changed, but my wifi connection is saved . No need to select the SSID and fill my password again.
In connman it creates in /var/lib/connman a folder wifi_MACADDRESS_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx_managed_psk. If mac address are changed after the boot it creates another folder as mentioned. Inside this folder there is a file named settings with some configurations like password, etc, etc.
I'd like to mention that mac address changes are only in the last 3 bytes. For example 00:01:02: XX:YY:ZZ. Where XX, YY and ZZ are the numbers that changes after each reboot .


The MAC address issue seems to be a problem with the new firmware: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...mp;#entry291973
At least you are not the only one with this problem. Does anyone have stable MAC ids after the upgrade? (Not willing to upgrade my Gemini now...)
For Debian you might fix this by setting a stable MAC id somewhere in /etc/network/if-pre-up. Maybe this is of some help: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/36...work-interfaces
The answer rated with "1" with directly editing /etc/network/interfaces looks good...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 2 2019, 06:55 AM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 2 2019, 05:16 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 03:05 PM) *
Already installed almost everything in OREO and partially in debian.
Everything is working great, except the problem mentioned before : wifi networks are not saved after reboot in connman. Because after each reboot mac address is changed. Interesting is that in android after each reboot mac address is also changed, but my wifi connection is saved . No need to select the SSID and fill my password again.
In connman it creates in /var/lib/connman a folder wifi_MACADDRESS_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx_managed_psk. If mac address are changed after the boot it creates another folder as mentioned. Inside this folder there is a file named settings with some configurations like password, etc, etc.
I'd like to mention that mac address changes are only in the last 3 bytes. For example 00:01:02: XX:YY:ZZ. Where XX, YY and ZZ are the numbers that changes after each reboot .


The MAC address issue seems to be a problem with the new firmware: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...mp;#entry291973
At least you are not the only one with this problem. Does anyone have stable MAC ids after the upgrade? (Not willing to upgrade my Gemini now...)
For Debian you might fix this by setting a stable MAC id somewhere in /etc/network/if-pre-up. Maybe this is of some help: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/36...work-interfaces
The answer rated with "1" with directly editing /etc/network/interfaces looks good...


Changes of mac address is good for security reasons. Problem is that connman can't save my wifi connections, because it generates a new profile according to mac address as explained before . In android it saves , even if mac address is changed . In /etc/network/, the file interfaces is empty.
Thank you again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 2 2019, 08:54 AM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 2 2019, 06:55 AM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 2 2019, 05:16 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 1 2019, 03:05 PM) *
Already installed almost everything in OREO and partially in debian.
Everything is working great, except the problem mentioned before : wifi networks are not saved after reboot in connman. Because after each reboot mac address is changed. Interesting is that in android after each reboot mac address is also changed, but my wifi connection is saved . No need to select the SSID and fill my password again.
In connman it creates in /var/lib/connman a folder wifi_MACADDRESS_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx_managed_psk. If mac address are changed after the boot it creates another folder as mentioned. Inside this folder there is a file named settings with some configurations like password, etc, etc.
I'd like to mention that mac address changes are only in the last 3 bytes. For example 00:01:02: XX:YY:ZZ. Where XX, YY and ZZ are the numbers that changes after each reboot .


The MAC address issue seems to be a problem with the new firmware: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...mp;#entry291973
At least you are not the only one with this problem. Does anyone have stable MAC ids after the upgrade? (Not willing to upgrade my Gemini now...)
For Debian you might fix this by setting a stable MAC id somewhere in /etc/network/if-pre-up. Maybe this is of some help: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/36...work-interfaces
The answer rated with "1" with directly editing /etc/network/interfaces looks good...


Changes of mac address is good for security reasons. Problem is that connman can't save my wifi connections, because it generates a new profile according to mac address as explained before . In android it saves , even if mac address is changed . In /etc/network/, the file interfaces is empty.
Thank you again.


Changed the file "interfaces" as you said, but no success. The mac address does not reflect that one in /etc/network/interfaces. ( after reboot ). Tried macchanger without success also.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jun 2 2019, 09:49 AM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 2 2019, 08:54 AM) *
Changed the file "interfaces" as you said, but no success. The mac address does not reflect that one in /etc/network/interfaces. ( after reboot ). Tried macchanger without success also.

Please show the content of your file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Jun 2 2019, 11:33 AM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 2 2019, 09:49 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Jun 2 2019, 08:54 AM) *
Changed the file "interfaces" as you said, but no success. The mac address does not reflect that one in /etc/network/interfaces. ( after reboot ). Tried macchanger without success also.

Please show the content of your file.


The original file interfaces ( without modifications that didn't work )
----------------------------------------------------------
# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d
----------------------------------------------------------

And inside /etc/network/interfaces.d there isn't any file.

I also saw this :

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2342189...time-in-android

The contents of answer 1 is :
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Not entirely true Raptor. Android WILL generate a MAC address every time WiFi is activated if it doesn't have one. Here's how to tell (and how I fixed it on my Chinese tablet)

Root the device.
Open file "/data/nvram/APCFG/APRDEB/WIFI" with a hex editor.
if bytes 4 thru 9 are 0 then Android will generate a MAC address on-the-fly.

To FIX (hard-code) a MAC address, edit the "WIFI" file above and type a (any) MAC address into those byte locations (in hex notation, as you see it). Save the file. Reboot / restart WIFI and see setting. You should see your new address. And Android will now recognise your new address and won't generate a new one every time.

I did then to persist MAC filtering in my router, else the kids keep abusing my bandwidth by adding new i-devices.

Hope this helps"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've tried this in both linux and android without success.

In linux, it regenerates a file "WIFI" identical to the original file when rebooting ( overwriting all the changes I've made. )
In android it regenerates a file different from my changes ( I've did a diff ), but with zeros in bytes 4 thru 9 as explained above.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
6 User(s) are reading this topic (6 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th December 2019 - 08:56 AM