OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem Installing & Running Programs
ArchiMark
post Oct 17 2016, 01:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Now that I have Fluxbox setup and running OK, I've been trying to install some programs with mixed results.

Have installed some programs OK, but some give me error message after trying to install:

CODE
Could not fork a new process (cannot allocate memory)


Is this a result of Zaurus having limited RAM or ?

Anything I can do about it?


With some programs, when I open them, I get error message:

CODE
GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **:
g_object_ref:
assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed


Then some other error message that varies by program being opened.

Any ideas about this one?

Have tried running Firefox, but get error message:

CODE
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libicui18n.so.57:
Cannot open shared object file:
No such file or directory
Could not load XPCOM



I searched on this error and it was common a few years ago with Firefox. Some people said removing FF and reinstalling worked for them. Tried that, but same error.

Some said to install xulrunner, ia32-libs, and ia32-libs.gtk

Tried installing xulrunner, got the memory error noted above.

When I run xulrunner, I get following error message:

CODE
$ xulrunner
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/xulrunner-41.0.2/libxul.so:
libcui18n.so.57: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.



Any input on any of these errors would be greatly appreciate.

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 17 2016, 11:27 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 17 2016, 11:40 PM) *
When I run xulrunner, I get following error message:

CODE
$ xulrunner
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/xulrunner-41.0.2/libxul.so:
libcui18n.so.57: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.

libcui18n.so.57 seems to be missing in your system. Have you already checked the following page?

http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/15...eps-on-crashing

Try to install icu and, if required, nss, and see if now firefox works.

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 18 2016, 06:34 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for your assistance!

Hadn't read that page, but read other ones....

Just tried installing icu....but get following error messages.

First I see the following, which I forgot to mention in prior post that I see most times I try to install something:

CODE
resolving conflicting packages...
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/pygtk-2.24.0-6/desc:
No such file or directory
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/python-click-6.2-1/desc:
No such file or directory


Then after going through install steps and getting to:

CODE
(1/1) checking available disk space
error: could not open file /var/cache/pacman/pkg/icu-57.1-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz:
Lzma library error: Cannot allocate memory
error: could not commit transaction
error: failed to commit transaction (transaction aborted)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded


I have installed a 32GB CF card in my C3200.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Oct 18 2016, 06:42 AM
Reason for edit: Added additional info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 18 2016, 07:41 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 18 2016, 04:34 PM) *
First I see the following, which I forgot to mention in prior post that I see most times I try to install something:

CODE
resolving conflicting packages...
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/pygtk-2.24.0-6/desc:
No such file or directory
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/python-click-6.2-1/desc:
No such file or directory

Are those two packages (pygtk-2.24.0-6 and python-click-6.2-1) installed? If so, they might have some missing files, you might want to try to remove and reinstall them.

QUOTE
Then after going through install steps and getting to:

CODE
(1/1) checking available disk space
error: could not open file /var/cache/pacman/pkg/icu-57.1-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz:
Lzma library error: Cannot allocate memory
error: could not commit transaction
error: failed to commit transaction (transaction aborted)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded

That error looks like due to not enough RAM being available. Do you have a swap partition, and is it enabled? (You can check it using "free -m").

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 18 2016, 08:28 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 18 2016, 08:41 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 18 2016, 04:34 PM) *
First I see the following, which I forgot to mention in prior post that I see most times I try to install something:

CODE
resolving conflicting packages...
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/pygtk-2.24.0-6/desc:
No such file or directory
error: could not open file /var/lib/pacman/local/python-click-6.2-1/desc:
No such file or directory

Are those two packages (pygtk-2.24.0-6 and python-click-6.2-1) installed? If so, they might have some missing files, you might want to try to remove and reinstall them.

QUOTE
Then after going through install steps and getting to:

CODE
(1/1) checking available disk space
error: could not open file /var/cache/pacman/pkg/icu-57.1-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz:
Lzma library error: Cannot allocate memory
error: could not commit transaction
error: failed to commit transaction (transaction aborted)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded

That error looks like due to not enough RAM being available. Do you have a swap partition, and is it enabled? (You can check it using "free -m").

Varti



Looks like I need to install the 2 files in error message.....will do after I fix the memory/swap situation....


Looks like no swap enabled....odd, thought I had created swap.....

CODE
$ free -m
           total         used          free         shared       buff/cache      available
Mem:   57            23             7             0               25                  26
Swap:    0             0             0


Checked my 32GB CF drive and looks like all I did when installing Arch was to create one large / partition....

Is it possible to shrink the partition (30.3G) and then create a swap partition without losing my Arch installation?

According Arch wiki < https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GNU_Parted > you can use resize2fs to do this, but when I try it:

CODE
# resize2fs /dev/sda1 29.3G
resize2fs: Invalid new size: 29.3G


What size should I specify to reduce size and have space to create swap partition?

Or should I do this another way?

Just realized you probably need to unmount device sda1 before modifying...but if I try that, I get

CODE
umount: /: target is busy


Should I just make a swap file instead?

Thanks.

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Oct 18 2016, 09:11 AM
Reason for edit: Added more info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 18 2016, 12:08 PM
Post #6





Group: Moderators
Posts: 358
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



Hi Mark,

these issues are indeed because of lack of RAM.

You do not need to create a swap partition.

Yes, you can create a swap file.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Swap#Swap_file

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 18 2016, 02:11 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(greguu @ Oct 18 2016, 01:08 PM) *
Hi Mark,

these issues are indeed because of lack of RAM.

You do not need to create a swap partition.

Yes, you can create a swap file.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Swap#Swap_file

Cheers!


Thanks, Greg!

OK, did swapfile....don't get those errors now...but still having issues as noted before about pygtk and python-click.....tried installing both.....

When I try installing a package, still get the pygtk error about no such file....

Tried installing 'icu' package and others, now get error 'warning: could not fully load metadata for package xxxx.xxx-xxx' during install process after the line that says 'checking available disk space'.

Any suggestion about this one?

Just googled this error....one place suggested doing 'pacman -Syu'.....but as noted in earlier post worried about whether to do this...just checked other thread and saw your reply about this issue....thanks for your input....have a feeling that not having done an update for over 9 months may be contributing to issues?

This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Oct 18 2016, 02:17 PM
Reason for edit: Additional info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 18 2016, 11:51 PM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(greguu @ Oct 18 2016, 01:08 PM) *
Hi Mark,
You do not need to create a swap partition.

Yes, you can create a swap file.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Swap#Swap_file

IMHO, a swapfile should be slower than a dedicated swap partition, especially on the Zaurus with its low physical memory. If you have the SD slot free I'd suggest you to dedicate an SD card for the swap partition, since it will wear out quickly due to the many reads and writes required by the virtual memory.

QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 12:11 AM) *
Thanks, Greg!

OK, did swapfile....don't get those errors now...but still having issues as noted before about pygtk and python-click.....tried installing both.....

When I try installing a package, still get the pygtk error about no such file....

Have you tried to remove the packages and reinstall them with the "force" switch (-Sf)?

QUOTE
Tried installing 'icu' package and others, now get error 'warning: could not fully load metadata for package xxxx.xxx-xxx' during install process after the line that says 'checking available disk space'.

Any suggestion about this one?

Just googled this error....one place suggested doing 'pacman -Syu'.....but as noted in earlier post worried about whether to do this...just checked other thread and saw your reply about this issue....thanks for your input....have a feeling that not having done an update for over 9 months may be contributing to issues?

I'd also do a system upgrade only as a last-ditch effort. Do you get the following error as well?

CODE
error: failed to prepare transaction (invalid or corrupted package)

If so, you might want to remove the partial packages, as explained here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/pacman...age.29.22_error

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 19 2016, 05:20 AM
Post #9





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 19 2016, 12:51 AM) *
QUOTE(greguu @ Oct 18 2016, 01:08 PM) *
Hi Mark,
You do not need to create a swap partition.

Yes, you can create a swap file.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Swap#Swap_file

IMHO, a swapfile should be slower than a dedicated swap partition, especially on the Zaurus with its low physical memory. If you have the SD slot free I'd suggest you to dedicate an SD card for the swap partition, since it will wear out quickly due to the many reads and writes required by the virtual memory.

QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 12:11 AM) *
Thanks, Greg!

OK, did swapfile....don't get those errors now...but still having issues as noted before about pygtk and python-click.....tried installing both.....

When I try installing a package, still get the pygtk error about no such file....

Have you tried to remove the packages and reinstall them with the "force" switch (-Sf)?

QUOTE
Tried installing 'icu' package and others, now get error 'warning: could not fully load metadata for package xxxx.xxx-xxx' during install process after the line that says 'checking available disk space'.

Any suggestion about this one?

Just googled this error....one place suggested doing 'pacman -Syu'.....but as noted in earlier post worried about whether to do this...just checked other thread and saw your reply about this issue....thanks for your input....have a feeling that not having done an update for over 9 months may be contributing to issues?

I'd also do a system upgrade only as a last-ditch effort. Do you get the following error as well?

CODE
error: failed to prepare transaction (invalid or corrupted package)

If so, you might want to remove the partial packages, as explained here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/pacman...age.29.22_error

Varti


Thanks for your help.....

Usually, have SD slot free as I only use SD card sometimes to be able to copy over a file, etc.

Haven't tried using the force switch to remove packages....but can try it....

Don't get the 'invalid or corrupted package' error, just the messages I noted in earlier post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 19 2016, 07:02 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 03:20 PM) *
Thanks for your help.....

Usually, have SD slot free as I only use SD card sometimes to be able to copy over a file, etc.

Then I'd strongly suggest to use it for swap. Depending on how much and often you'll use your Zaurus, you might end up with a worn out SD card to be replaced after some months of use...

QUOTE
Don't get the 'invalid or corrupted package' error, just the messages I noted in earlier post.

Your error mentions a package, maybe it might help to remove and reinstall it with the f switch, as well.

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 19 2016, 08:49 AM
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 19 2016, 08:02 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 03:20 PM) *
Thanks for your help.....

Usually, have SD slot free as I only use SD card sometimes to be able to copy over a file, etc.

Then I'd strongly suggest to use it for swap. Depending on how much and often you'll use your Zaurus, you might end up with a worn out SD card to be replaced after some months of use...

QUOTE
Don't get the 'invalid or corrupted package' error, just the messages I noted in earlier post.

Your error mentions a package, maybe it might help to remove and reinstall it with the f switch, as well.

Varti


Got swap on SD card setup now....thanks.

As for f switch, I get error message 'error: invalid option -f'......I tried '-Rdd'.....

Meanwhile, when I try to open Firefox, I get:

CODE
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libvpx.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


So did:

CODE
#packer -S libvpx
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: ffmpeg; requires libvpx.so=3-32


So thought I'd delete ffmpeg:

CODE
# pacman -R ffmpeg
checking dependencies...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: firefox: requires ffmpeg
:: gst-libav: requires ffmpeg


huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 19 2016, 10:39 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Decided to be brave and do a system upgrade......figured that might be at least part of why I have so many issues with installing or running programs.

Got following:

CODE
# pacman -Syu

after downloading lots of files, got:

error: failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Errors occurred. no packages were upgraded.


sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Oct 20 2016, 04:58 AM
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 06:49 PM) *
Got swap on SD card setup now....thanks.

If you temporarily need the SD slot for another SD card, you can turn off the swap memory with "swap off" and enable it again with "swap on". Make sure that you first close any running program you are running on your desktop, to make sure that the swap memory isn't in use.

QUOTE
As for f switch, I get error message 'error: invalid option -f'......I tried '-Rdd'.....

Are you using packer to install packages? Packer doesn't seem to have a "-force" switch, so you'll have to use pacman to install it. i.e. pacman -Sf (package).

QUOTE
Meanwhile, when I try to open Firefox, I get:

CODE
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libvpx.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


So did:

CODE
#packer -S libvpx
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: ffmpeg; requires libvpx.so=3-32


So thought I'd delete ffmpeg:

CODE
# pacman -R ffmpeg
checking dependencies...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: firefox: requires ffmpeg
:: gst-libav: requires ffmpeg


huh.gif

That's strange, it seems that there's at least one dependencies conflict. There are two tickets for Firefox not launching due to libvpx.so.4 not being found, both have been rejected since they are due to the system being partially updated, thus broken:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50256
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50264

Have you maybe updated the repository list without having updated the whole system? I.e. have you run at least once "pacman -Sy (package_name)" (note the -y switch), or just "pacman -Sy"? See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/System...are_unsupported . If so, it seems as the only two ways to fix is is to either update the whole system (which you have already tried, without success), or to reinstall Arch Linux again from scratch.

QUOTE
Decided to be brave and do a system upgrade......figured that might be at least part of why I have so many issues with installing or running programs.

Got following:

CODE
# pacman -Syu

after downloading lots of files, got:

error: failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Errors occurred. no packages were upgraded.

Was there any more verbose error printed before the "error:" line?

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 20 2016, 05:29 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 20 2016, 05:58 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 06:49 PM) *
Got swap on SD card setup now....thanks.

If you temporarily need the SD slot for another SD card, you can turn off the swap memory with "swap off" and enable it again with "swap on". Make sure that you first close any running program you are running on your desktop, to make sure that the swap memory isn't in use.

QUOTE
As for f switch, I get error message 'error: invalid option -f'......I tried '-Rdd'.....

Are you using packer to install packages? Packer doesn't seem to have a "-force" switch, so you'll have to use pacman to install it. i.e. pacman -Sf (package).

QUOTE
Meanwhile, when I try to open Firefox, I get:

CODE
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libvpx.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


So did:

CODE
#packer -S libvpx
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: ffmpeg; requires libvpx.so=3-32


So thought I'd delete ffmpeg:

CODE
# pacman -R ffmpeg
checking dependencies...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: firefox: requires ffmpeg
:: gst-libav: requires ffmpeg


huh.gif

That's strange, it seems that there's at least one dependencies conflict. There are two tickets for Firefox not launching due to libvpx.so.4 not being found, both have been rejected since they are due to the system being partially updated, thus broken:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50256
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50264

Have you maybe updated the repository list without having updated the whole system? I.e. have you run at least once "pacman -Sy (package_name)" (note the -y switch), or just "pacman -Sy"? See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/System...are_unsupported . If so, it seems as the only two ways to fix is is to either update the whole system (which you have already tried, without success), or to reinstall Arch Linux again from scratch.

QUOTE
Decided to be brave and do a system upgrade......figured that might be at least part of why I have so many issues with installing or running programs.

Got following:

CODE
# pacman -Syu

after downloading lots of files, got:

error: failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Errors occurred. no packages were upgraded.

Was there any more verbose error printed before the "error:" line?

Varti


Using packer to install packages not found by pacman.....

Using pacman to remove packages.....

Did not run pacman -Sy......just -Syu......

No other error message info.....

Meanwhile, got a reply from someone over at ALARM forum about the upgrade error.

Said to look at this bit of Arch news about need to upgrade pacman:

https://www.archlinux.org/news/required-upd...ore-2016-04-23/

Will try upgrading pacman and then try upgrade again....

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Oct 20 2016, 11:17 AM
Post #15





Group: Moderators
Posts: 358
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 20 2016, 02:29 PM) *
QUOTE(Varti @ Oct 20 2016, 05:58 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 19 2016, 06:49 PM) *
Got swap on SD card setup now....thanks.

If you temporarily need the SD slot for another SD card, you can turn off the swap memory with "swap off" and enable it again with "swap on". Make sure that you first close any running program you are running on your desktop, to make sure that the swap memory isn't in use.

QUOTE
As for f switch, I get error message 'error: invalid option -f'......I tried '-Rdd'.....

Are you using packer to install packages? Packer doesn't seem to have a "-force" switch, so you'll have to use pacman to install it. i.e. pacman -Sf (package).

QUOTE
Meanwhile, when I try to open Firefox, I get:

CODE
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libvpx.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


So did:

CODE
#packer -S libvpx
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: ffmpeg; requires libvpx.so=3-32


So thought I'd delete ffmpeg:

CODE
# pacman -R ffmpeg
checking dependencies...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: firefox: requires ffmpeg
:: gst-libav: requires ffmpeg


huh.gif

That's strange, it seems that there's at least one dependencies conflict. There are two tickets for Firefox not launching due to libvpx.so.4 not being found, both have been rejected since they are due to the system being partially updated, thus broken:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50256
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/50264

Have you maybe updated the repository list without having updated the whole system? I.e. have you run at least once "pacman -Sy (package_name)" (note the -y switch), or just "pacman -Sy"? See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/System...are_unsupported . If so, it seems as the only two ways to fix is is to either update the whole system (which you have already tried, without success), or to reinstall Arch Linux again from scratch.

QUOTE
Decided to be brave and do a system upgrade......figured that might be at least part of why I have so many issues with installing or running programs.

Got following:

CODE
# pacman -Syu

after downloading lots of files, got:

error: failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Errors occurred. no packages were upgraded.

Was there any more verbose error printed before the "error:" line?

Varti


Using packer to install packages not found by pacman.....

Using pacman to remove packages.....

Did not run pacman -Sy......just -Syu......

No other error message info.....

Meanwhile, got a reply from someone over at ALARM forum about the upgrade error.

Said to look at this bit of Arch news about need to upgrade pacman:

https://www.archlinux.org/news/required-upd...ore-2016-04-23/

Will try upgrading pacman and then try upgrade again....

Thanks.


Hi,

Arch is a rolling release distribution and you will run into trouble if you do not run pacman -Syu regularly. The rootfs I posted is outdated now.

I will get an update ready once I got the free time.

In the meantime just download the required packages to upgrade pacman and the keys as well as mirrorlist manually and install them using pacman -U filename.tar.xz

Then try a pacman -Syu again.

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th August 2019 - 10:59 PM