OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Static IP
mggr
post Jun 29 2018, 02:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-May 18
Member No.: 822,914



I've got the USB hub with Ethernet port and this is great when you connect to anything with DHCP.

The problem is when I want to assign a static address. I don't see the Ethernet network in android settings, why isn't this available along side wifi etc

I can view the address with a terminal window, under ETH0. When I try to assign a static address, it gives me the Permission denied response.

I know a Linux partition would allow me to set this but I will only go that direction once Planet fully support a dual boot device via a firmware update and I don't have to mess with partitions etc

Until then, has anyone successfully assigned a static address to eth0?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KF6GPE
post Jun 29 2018, 09:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 26-May 18
Member No.: 823,299



I've not seen that done with Android, although there might be a solution if you decide to root your Gemini.

Do you have control of your DHCP server? Grabbing the MAC address and having it serve the same IP over DHCP may be the easiest way. I do that with a number of devices at home.

QUOTE(mggr @ Jun 29 2018, 03:05 AM) *
Until then, has anyone successfully assigned a static address to eth0?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gidds
post Jun 29 2018, 10:21 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 13-January 18
From: UK
Member No.: 816,386



Yeah, I set the fixed IP addresses up in my router, too.

Advantages include: the config for all your machines is all in one place; you get the same IP address whether you connect over Ethernet or wifi; and you get a valid IP address away from home.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rubus-3.142
post Jun 29 2018, 10:35 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 15-June 18
From: Scotland, UK
Member No.: 824,531



QUOTE(gidds @ Jun 29 2018, 07:21 PM) *
Yeah, I set the fixed IP addresses up in my router, too.


I have never found a way (either on Gemini or in last 2 years my Samsung tablet) - like gidds I get my router to assign a "fixed" IP based on the MAC address of the Gemini.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don H
post Jun 29 2018, 08:44 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 816,004



QUOTE(rubus-3.142 @ Jun 29 2018, 01:35 PM) *
QUOTE(gidds @ Jun 29 2018, 07:21 PM) *
Yeah, I set the fixed IP addresses up in my router, too.


I have never found a way (either on Gemini or in last 2 years my Samsung tablet) - like gidds I get my router to assign a "fixed" IP based on the MAC address of the Gemini.


For WiFi,
Settings -> WiFi -> Long press on your SSID -> Modify Network -> Advance options -> scroll to IP settings -> Static -> set it up.

This is for Gemini-7.1-Planet-12062018-v2, stock, no root.

Not someplace to test hardwire setup, but I would expect it to be similar...

d
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ifanafi
post Jul 1 2018, 12:11 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 11-February 18
Member No.: 817,726



RE: "For WiFi, Settings -> WiFi -> Long press on your SSID -> Modify Network -> Advance options -> scroll to IP settings -> Static -> set it up."

I can't locate the SSID on my 4G, WiFi Gemini via those steps.

Ifanafi

P.S. Did use my Gem's MAC info as you described to configure my home router. Is that sufficient in the absence of not finding the "For WiFi..." SSID?


QUOTE(Don H @ Jun 30 2018, 12:44 AM) *
QUOTE(rubus-3.142 @ Jun 29 2018, 01:35 PM) *
QUOTE(gidds @ Jun 29 2018, 07:21 PM) *
Yeah, I set the fixed IP addresses up in my router, too.


I have never found a way (either on Gemini or in last 2 years my Samsung tablet) - like gidds I get my router to assign a "fixed" IP based on the MAC address of the Gemini.


For WiFi,
Settings -> WiFi -> Long press on your SSID -> Modify Network -> Advance options -> scroll to IP settings -> Static -> set it up.

This is for Gemini-7.1-Planet-12062018-v2, stock, no root.

Not someplace to test hardwire setup, but I would expect it to be similar...

d
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
covex
post Nov 5 2018, 09:28 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 10-October 18
From: CZ
Member No.: 834,412



QUOTE(Don H @ Jun 30 2018, 06:44 AM) *
QUOTE(rubus-3.142 @ Jun 29 2018, 01:35 PM) *
QUOTE(gidds @ Jun 29 2018, 07:21 PM) *
Yeah, I set the fixed IP addresses up in my router, too.


I have never found a way (either on Gemini or in last 2 years my Samsung tablet) - like gidds I get my router to assign a "fixed" IP based on the MAC address of the Gemini.


For WiFi,
Settings -> WiFi -> Long press on your SSID -> Modify Network -> Advance options -> scroll to IP settings -> Static -> set it up.

This is for Gemini-7.1-Planet-12062018-v2, stock, no root.

Not someplace to test hardwire setup, but I would expect it to be similar...

d


Nope, there is nothing like that for ethernet.

I need to be able to set the IP manually to configure the device that have nothing that fixed IP address. It is possible to set the IP with "ip" command in terminal, however this is still broken, probably due to sandboxing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2019 - 06:59 PM