OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Optimizing the LXQt environment
jornada720
post May 24 2018, 06:49 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



Since random alphabetic keys don’t work in KDE Plasma yet, I’ve been having a go of optimizing the LXQt environment for use. Here’s what I have so far:

1. Mapped the lxqt-runner app to Alt+Space. This is in LXQt Configuration -> Shortcut Keys -> Show/hide runner dialog. With this key remap, you can instantly launch any program with just 2 or three keystrokes.

Remapped the KWin window manager to have shortcuts for the most common functions. I’ve set Close to Alt+C, Minimize to Alt+M, and Maximize to Alt+X. I also added Alt+R and Alt+L to Quick Tile windows to the right and left sides of the screen. I also set Ctrl+Space to acticate a given window’s operations menu.

KWin has scores of other functions that can be mapped. Do this by going to KDE System Settings -> Shortcuts -> Global Shortcuts.

2. Since you can’t click the taskbar buttons to switch tasks easily, I’ve made it so that tapping on a window’s title bar lowers the window and shows the one underneath it for quick access. This is another KWin setting. Activate any window’s system menu and then choose More Actions -> Window Manager Settings -> Actions.

3. Achieve visual consistency between GTK and Qt apps by going to the KDE System Settings -> Application Style -> GNOME Application Style.

You only have a limited selection of styles to choose from by default but you can set the Breeze and Breeze Dark themes.

4. Install Konsole, a super powerful terminal app that leaves QTerminal in the dust: sudo apt install konsole

5. Install some better icon sets. Get some at kde-look.org or by going to KDE System Settings -> Icons -> Get new Theme

6. Install Yakuake, a drop down terminal that you can recall at a keypress: sudo apt install yakuake. It will give you the option to choose its hotkey the first time you launch it. Make it start up on login in the LXQt Configuration Center -> Session Settings

7. Add some Quick Launch icons. Call up the LXQt main menu at the bottom of the screen and the drag and drop any of the apps you want into the empty space to the left of the taskbar

8. Enable KWin's software compositor. It isn't as good as native OpenGL but KWin has a software rendering feature for graphical acceleraion that works pretty well for transparency and faster window movements. Turn this on in the KWin Settings mentioned above under the Compositor section. WARNING: Make sure not to enable OpenGL rendering as this will make your KWin unusuable! Keep the Rendering Backend as XRender in the settings.

9. Install the LXQt image viewer which is absent in the default Debian image: sudo apt install lxqt-image. This will enable you to take screenshots with Function + R.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post May 24 2018, 07:21 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



My desktop as a result is attached.
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post May 24 2018, 08:15 PM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Looks great!

Markie likes it!

smile.gif

Thanks for sharing all the info and screenshot.

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post May 25 2018, 12:11 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



Thanks for these useful tips. I'll for sure follow them once I'll get my Gemini.

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wormhole
post Jun 6 2018, 05:57 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 4-June 18
Member No.: 823,785



QUOTE(jornada720 @ May 24 2018, 06:49 PM) *
8. Enable KWin's software compositor. It isn't as good as native OpenGL but KWin has a software rendering feature for graphical acceleraion that works pretty well for transparency and faster window movements. Turn this on in the KWin Settings mentioned above under the Compositor section. WARNING: Make sure not to enable OpenGL rendering as this will make your KWin unusuable! Keep the Rendering Backend as XRender in the settings.


Great tutorials!
But can you please can you tell about tip 8? Where can I find KWin's software compositor?

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jul 18 2018, 06:21 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(Wormhole @ Jun 6 2018, 09:57 AM) *
QUOTE(jornada720 @ May 24 2018, 06:49 PM) *
8. Enable KWin's software compositor. It isn't as good as native OpenGL but KWin has a software rendering feature for graphical acceleraion that works pretty well for transparency and faster window movements. Turn this on in the KWin Settings mentioned above under the Compositor section. WARNING: Make sure not to enable OpenGL rendering as this will make your KWin unusuable! Keep the Rendering Backend as XRender in the settings.


Great tutorials!
But can you please can you tell about tip 8? Where can I find KWin's software compositor?

Thanks a lot!


Sure, just activate any window’s system menu (click on the icon on its title bar) and then choose More Actions -> Window Manager Settings -> Compositor. Check the box that says "Enable compositor on startup"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geophile
post Jul 19 2018, 05:37 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 11-July 18
Member No.: 825,937



[/quote]
Sure, just activate any window’s system menu (click on the icon on its title bar) and then choose More Actions -> Window Manager Settings -> Compositor. Check the box that says "Enable compositor on startup"
[/quote]

When I select Window Manager Settings, nothing happens. No dialog box, no new window, nothing. Any idea why this might be happening?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geophile
post Jul 19 2018, 05:39 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 11-July 18
Member No.: 825,937



It looks like you have multiple desktops enabled. How did you do that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klf!
post Sep 18 2018, 02:57 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 14-August 18
Member No.: 828,223



QUOTE(geophile @ Jul 19 2018, 03:39 PM) *
It looks like you have multiple desktops enabled. How did you do that?

Edit
    $HOME/kwinrc
and set the number of desktops you like to have
   [Desktop]
   Number={number of virtual desktops goes here - default is 1}


Logout and login again - et voilà!-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Feb 19 2019, 08:31 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Finally getting around to wanting to try out the suggestions in first post.

First, trying to get KWIN installed, but having some problems....hope someone can please advise...don't want to mess up my Debian install.....

Found page on installing KWIN

https://www.pcsuggest.com/lxqt-with-kwin-an...heme-in-debian/

and tried to follow install instructions:

CODE
sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get --no-install-recommends install kwin-x11 kwin-addons



But I get following error messages:

CODE
kwin-x11 is already the newest version (4:5.8.6-1).
You might want to run 'apt --fix-broken install' to correct these.
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
kwin-addons : Depends: kdeplasma-addons-data (= 4:5.8.5-2) but is not going to be installed
libreoffice-base : Depends: libreoffice-base-core (= 1:5.2.7-1+debu4) but 1:5.7-1+debu5 is to be installed
                          Depends: libreoffice-base-drivers (= 1:5.2.7-1+debu4) but 1:5.7-1+debu5 is to be installed
                          Depends: libreoffice-base (< 1:5.2.7-1+debu5) but 1:5.7-1+debu4 is to be installed

E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt --fix-broken install' with no packages (or specify a solution).



If I try what's suggested, I get error messages:

CODE
sudo apt --fix-broken install

The following packages will be upgraded:

  libreoffice-base
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 75 not upgraded.
93 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0 B/1344 kB of archives.

After this operation, 0 B of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n]
(Reading database.... 114069 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack..... /libreoffice-base_1%3a5.2.7-1+debu5_arm64.deb ...
Unpacking libreoffice-base (1:5.2.7-1+debu5) over (1:5.2.7-1+debu4) ...
dpkg: error processing archive /var/cache/apt/archives/libreoffice-base_1%3a5.2.7-1+debu5_arm64.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/libreoffice/share/basic/dialog.xlc', which is also in package libreoffice-common 1:5.2.7-1+debu5
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


Thanks for any suggestions.

Mark

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Feb 19 2019, 12:19 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



Mark: @see: https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...mp;#entry288925
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Feb 19 2019, 12:26 PM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,637
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Feb 19 2019, 12:19 PM) *


Thank you, mithrandir!

Remember now reading about that issue long time ago....didn't realize it was still an issue....

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th August 2019 - 07:06 PM