OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Poll: Who Has Sound Problems?, and what model?
bluedevils
post Mar 1 2005, 06:20 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



I'm curious to see how big a problem this is. My 760 only has partial sound (only in tablet mode).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ashikase
post Mar 1 2005, 09:57 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Osaka, Japan
Member No.: 2,375



The sound on my C760 is shot - all sound is distorted. It affects both the speaker and the headphone jack, and occurs on all ROMS, so it would appear that it is a hardware problem.

Unfortunately, my Z is out of warranty. Fortunately, I rarely ever used sound.

As for your Z... it's really odd that sound works in one mode and not the other. Do you mean that in tablet (view) mode the sound works fine, and in portrait (input) mode it is completely silent?

Have you tried flashing the original ROM or a fresh Cacko ROM and seeing if it works? It could be a bad setting, or something that you have installed.

Also, if you're familiar (and feel safe) with the D+M menu, you could try running the audio test, and check both modes. If it works fine in there, then it would point to a software problem.

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 2 2005, 04:47 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



yep done all that. Bypassed the OS by using the boot menu audio test and same results. Lanscape (input) mode is not totally silent, but it does sounds closer to pink noise (and alot quieter).

BTW I also saw that d.maddok is experiencing sound problems on his 760 too. I wonder if this is only with 760? I assume 860s are newer so they won't see this yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
d.maddock1
post Mar 2 2005, 06:22 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-October 04
Member No.: 5,113



Yep, I'm having audio trouble on my c760. Mine is out in both modes, however sometimes it will work if partially swiveled and/or pinched above the '9' key.

Definately hardware in my case.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Mar 2 2005, 07:10 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Mine did the same thing, but I was still under warranty so I took it in to get repaired and Sharp replaced "the unit".

Not 100% what "the unit" is but I think they repalced the hinge mechanism as I recall that there was a slight scratch on the hinge that wasn't there when I got it back - haven't had a problem with sound since.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ashikase
post Mar 2 2005, 04:13 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Osaka, Japan
Member No.: 2,375



Oops, I meant landscape for view, not portrait (^^;

I tested the sound on mine as I swiveled the hinge, and sure enough it does appear to be related; while I never got perfect sound, the quality did change between view and input mode.

If I get time some day maybe I'll tear mine apart. Not saying I can fix it, I'm just curious to find what the relation is. (^_^)

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrSquishy
post Mar 9 2005, 09:30 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 3-June 04
Member No.: 3,558



I recently bought d.maddock1's 760 (Knowing about the sound problems) and it is definately something hardware based, and I think I found it.

The ribbon (Orange/brown) cable in the lower left of this picture:



is the cable that (I assume) carries the display and audio signals.
The cable doesnt really have a connector on it, its just a loose ribbon.
I'd imagine that it could easily work itself loose, which could explain why the audio will crackle back in if pressure is applied.

If I could figure out how to get into this thing without a hammer, I'd take a look.

My other "guess" was cracks in the solder.

Anyone had a chance to open one, and what steps did you take?
I count 7 screws, but it's catching on something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ashikase
post Mar 10 2005, 04:34 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Osaka, Japan
Member No.: 2,375



There are tabs around the edge of the casing... you can pop them open by sliding your fingernail along the opening in the case (it's easiest to start with the tab underneath the Cancel/OK buttons).

The ribbon you pointed out in the photo is the keyboard cable. The video cable is the one on the lower right. The speaker is on the mainboard itself (on the other side).

For some good photos, check out this page.

I took mine apart to see if I could figure out what's wrong with the sound. I found that causing the mainboard to bend even the slightest bit caused the sound to distort; thus, I'd assume there's a bad connection on/in the board itself (perhaps a bad solder joint, as you mentioned). Not something that I think is easily repairable.

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrSquishy
post Mar 10 2005, 11:38 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 3-June 04
Member No.: 3,558



Thanks, those pictures were much easier to find stuff in.
The chip that sits just next to the keyboard connector is the audio chip. Which (perhaps not coincidentally) sits just below the 9 key.

Once I get it open, I'll check for solder cracks around there. I imagine it is a problem with the chip, and not the speaker/headphone connector as the popping is the same on both of them.

I'm sure I'll end up filling the inside of this thing with molten solder if I try it, but if I do, I'll send it to one of you guys to practice on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wenlez
post Sep 20 2005, 10:27 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 17-September 05
Member No.: 8,136



ya,l i have sound problem on my SL-5600,
when i play video with OPIE player2, there is no video, and the sounds skips.
when i play mp3, the sounds skips and in a faster rate.

any idea how to fix that?>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arniel
post Sep 21 2005, 02:14 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 2-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,563



I think it's a problem with the build of mplayer in the 3.5.3 Hentges ROM, but on my SL5500 Iwhenever I try to play an mp2/mp3 file on the command line using mplayer, the sound stutters to the point where I have to do a hard reset to get control back. XMMS works fine for mp3 files, but mp2 files sound awful, like they're severely bandwidth limited and with a small bit depth (e.g. 8 bit 16khz instead of 16bit/48k of the recording).

Had no such problems with an 0.9 build of mplayer on OZ3.2.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wenlez
post Sep 25 2005, 03:57 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 17-September 05
Member No.: 8,136



QUOTE(arniel @ Sep 21 2005, 05:14 AM)
I think it's a problem with the build of mplayer in the 3.5.3 Hentges ROM, but on my SL5500 Iwhenever I try to play an mp2/mp3 file on the command line using mplayer, the sound stutters to the point where I have to do a hard reset to get control back.  XMMS works fine for mp3 files, but mp2 files sound awful, like they're  severely bandwidth limited and with a small bit depth (e.g. 8 bit 16khz instead of 16bit/48k of the recording).

Had no such problems with an 0.9 build of mplayer on OZ3.2.
*



yet, i still have problem.
i want to install mplayer and opie-mplayer2, but the root is full.
so i instal it on home, then it said link problems...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Nov 30 2005, 02:43 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 462
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



I have a SL-C750 which has started to get sound problems when I move the screen in clamshell mode. Most of the time its OK then if I move the lid towards the keboard I get pops clicks and a loss of sound with high f noise both from the speaker and headphones.

Iv dissasembled the Z thinking it was a crack or a loose screw in the hinge pressing on the pcb but found nothing. I did improve matters by slackening off the pcb screws arround the headphone jack as this seems to stop the hinge stressing the pcb a little when closing but the problem is still apparent.

It seems that SHARP have skimped abit on some parts of the Z there is no reverse polarity / overvoltage protection on the power in and also no obviouse decoupling on the audio output which is obviouse to anyone running their Z through an amplifier when playing mp3s. Wouldnt have cost much for two diodes in the DC in and two capacitors on the audio out would it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 30 2005, 04:55 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,579
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



I have had sound problems with every electronic device i have owned, i found it to be the contacts in the headphone jack no longer making contact with the plug.

the way i fixed it (comes back rather quickly) is to get a needle and put it in the socket and tease the contacts out a bit, when A2DP (bluetooth audio) works on linux properly i will just use my bluetooth headphones instead, its the only reason i boght them
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Dec 1 2005, 04:07 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 4,512
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Why do people post questions like this here in what I assumed to be a poll rather than a thread for questions (actually, why don't they search the forums too?)

QUOTE
ya,l i have sound problem on my SL-5600,
when i play video with OPIE player2, there is no video, and the sounds skips.
when i play mp3, the sounds skips and in a faster rate.


See the last post in this thread (then work back up): https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...180&hl=opiexine

QUOTE
I think it's a problem with the build of mplayer in the 3.5.3 Hentges ROM, but on my SL5500 Iwhenever I try to play an mp2/mp3 file on the command line using mplayer, the sound stutters to the point where I have to do a hard reset to get control back.


Do you use '-ac mad', either on the command line, or in the config file (which iirc is in ~/.mplayer/config) to make mplayer use the integer only decoder?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th October 2019 - 06:14 PM