OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sd Support!, For OpenBSD Zaurii
mathemajikian
post Mar 24 2007, 02:36 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



Running OpenBSD off an SD card isn't going to happen just yet. sad.gif The driver is very buggy and is going to require a lot of tweaking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Mar 27 2007, 01:59 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 25 2007, 12:36 AM)
Running OpenBSD off an SD card isn't going to happen just yet.  sad.gif  The driver is very buggy and is going to require a lot of tweaking.
*


do you mean the driver is buggy for using openbsd off an sdcard OR is it buggy for a common usage (only for storage) ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Mar 27 2007, 03:37 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Mar 27 2007, 09:59 PM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 25 2007, 12:36 AM)
Running OpenBSD off an SD card isn't going to happen just yet.  sad.gif  The driver is very buggy and is going to require a lot of tweaking.
*


do you mean the driver is buggy for using openbsd off an sdcard OR is it buggy for a common usage (only for storage) ???
*



both.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 1 2007, 08:40 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 20 2007, 03:28 PM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 20 2007, 01:00 PM)
QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Mar 20 2007, 12:01 PM)
Great!!! Have you test any 4g SD?!?

Thnx
*


I only have a 2GB card to test, but I don't see any reason why you couldn't use a 4GB SD card. (This isn't a Linux ROM tongue.gif )
*



I just spoke to Uwe concerning this and here's what he had to say:

QUOTE
I have used a 4GB card in my laptop with sdhc(4), but not yet on the Zaurus.
The controller should not make a difference though.

The main difference, afaik, between small and large SD memory cards is that
they encode the block size in the card information structure differently.

Hence, there shouldn't be any issues in utilizing larger capacity SD cards.
*



I have an Apacer 4GB 150x SD.
dmesg reads:
CODE
scsibus0 at sdmmc0: 2 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <SD/MMC, Drive #01, > SCSI2 0/direct fixed
sd0: 3926MB, 125 cyl, 255 head, 63 sec, 2048 bytes/sec, 2010112 sec total

hotplug the card shows:
CODE
pxammc0: unhandled interrupt 1<DATADONE>
mount_ffs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: Input/output error
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post May 1 2007, 08:44 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 06:40 PM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 20 2007, 03:28 PM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Mar 20 2007, 01:00 PM)
QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Mar 20 2007, 12:01 PM)
Great!!! Have you test any 4g SD?!?

Thnx
*


I only have a 2GB card to test, but I don't see any reason why you couldn't use a 4GB SD card. (This isn't a Linux ROM tongue.gif )
*



I just spoke to Uwe concerning this and here's what he had to say:

QUOTE
I have used a 4GB card in my laptop with sdhc(4), but not yet on the Zaurus.
The controller should not make a difference though.

The main difference, afaik, between small and large SD memory cards is that
they encode the block size in the card information structure differently.

Hence, there shouldn't be any issues in utilizing larger capacity SD cards.
*



I have an Apacer 4GB 150x SD.
dmesg reads:
CODE
scsibus0 at sdmmc0: 2 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <SD/MMC, Drive #01, > SCSI2 0/direct fixed
sd0: 3926MB, 125 cyl, 255 head, 63 sec, 2048 bytes/sec, 2010112 sec total

hotplug the card shows:
CODE
pxammc0: unhandled interrupt 1<DATADONE>
mount_ffs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: Input/output error

*




hu!
you're not lucky with your zaurus devices under openbsd... blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 1 2007, 11:59 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



No, not at all.
Actually I am very happy to keep OpenBSD running on my 3200. One main reason for me to upgrade from C1000 is to run this standard distro. I am quite sure things will just get better but not broken further. smile.gif
The 4GB card can go to the debian on my 860 for now, if I manage to get debian loaded off SD with the Angstrom kernel. I still have a much abused 1gb card that can hold sources, packages and various documents, besides the 6gb microdrive which provides quite an ample workspace. Today I also ordered an AmbiCom WL1100C-CF dedicated to this setup (the Symbol Spectrum24 CF is actually NOT supported according to http://www.openbsd.org/zaurus.html#hardware ).
Despite some room for improvement (primarily SD support), I think with OpenBSD a Z can really become a genuine full-fledged *nix box and a great laptop replacement. cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post May 1 2007, 12:13 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 07:59 PM)
pxammc0: unhandled interrupt 1<DATADONE>
mount_ffs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: Input/output error


Did you create a ffs partition on the SD card? Try and mount the card without hotplug. If it's a msdos file system then use mount_msdos /dev/sd0c /mnt/card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 1 2007, 12:17 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ May 1 2007, 10:13 PM)
QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 07:59 PM)
pxammc0: unhandled interrupt 1<DATADONE>
mount_ffs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: Input/output error


Did you create a ffs partition on the SD card? Try and mount the card without hotplug. If it's a msdos file system then use mount_msdos /dev/sd0c /mnt/card.
*



It's ext2. I tried all the nodes and only sd0c would do, but it returns this error.
Reboot the system with the card inserted gives the same error.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post May 1 2007, 12:19 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 08:17 PM)
It's ext2. I tried all the nodes and only sd0c would do, but it returns this error.
Reboot the system with the card inserted gives the same error.

Then try and use mount_ext2fs not mount_ffs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 1 2007, 12:52 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ May 1 2007, 10:19 PM)
QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 08:17 PM)
It's ext2. I tried all the nodes and only sd0c would do, but it returns this error.
Reboot the system with the card inserted gives the same error.

Then try and use mount_ext2fs not mount_ffs.
*



Now it's this:
CODE
#mount_ext2fs /dev/sd0c /mnt/card
mount_ext2fs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: specified device does not match mounted device


while all other sd0x show "Device not configured"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 2 2007, 03:25 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 08:52 PM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ May 1 2007, 10:19 PM)
QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 1 2007, 08:17 PM)
It's ext2. I tried all the nodes and only sd0c would do, but it returns this error.
Reboot the system with the card inserted gives the same error.

Then try and use mount_ext2fs not mount_ffs.
*



Now it's this:
CODE
#mount_ext2fs /dev/sd0c /mnt/card
mount_ext2fs: /dev/sd0c on /mnt/card: specified device does not match mounted device


while all other sd0x show "Device not configured"
*



Does the device have a disklabel as well as an fdisk partition table? if not the disklabel will be assumed as default.

Quite often expect to see msdos partitions on sd0i but as this is ext2 you should verify what has been assumed by using..

disklabel sd0

This should print out what OpenBSD thinks the partitions are.

Good Luck,

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 2 2007, 11:24 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Thanks, Andy!
Here is the output of disklabel sd0:
CODE
# /dev/rsd0c:
type: SCSI
disk: SCSI disk
label: Drive #01
flags:
bytes/sector: 2048
sectors/track: 63
tracks/cylinder: 255
sectors/cylinder: 16065
cylinders: 125
total sectors: 2010112
rpm: 3600
interleave: 1
trackskew: 0
headswitch: 0           # microseconds
track-to-track seek: 0  # microseconds
drivedata: 0

16 partitions:
#           size     offset   fstype  [fsize bsize  cpg]
    c:   2010112          0   unused       0     0      # Cyl        0 -     125*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 2 2007, 01:48 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(ZDevil @ May 2 2007, 07:24 PM)
Thanks, Andy!
Here is the output of disklabel sd0:
CODE
# /dev/rsd0c:
type: SCSI
disk: SCSI disk
label: Drive #01
flags:
bytes/sector: 2048
sectors/track: 63
tracks/cylinder: 255
sectors/cylinder: 16065
cylinders: 125
total sectors: 2010112
rpm: 3600
interleave: 1
trackskew: 0
headswitch: 0           # microseconds
track-to-track seek: 0  # microseconds
drivedata: 0

16 partitions:
#           size     offset   fstype  [fsize bsize  cpg]
    c:   2010112          0   unused       0     0      # Cyl        0 -     125*

*


Ok, here's the problem. The disklabel isn't defaulting based upon an ext2 partition and can't determine the beginning of the logical device to say where the ext2 partition starts.

c will ALWAYS exist if the OS can recognise the disk geometry since c is always the full raw disk area.

If you aren't too fussed about what is on the drive I would suggest that you run..

disklabel -E sd0

Then add a partition, possibly a, and set it up in the disklabel then make your ffs or ext2 filesystem from OpenBSD.

This all may seem a little wacky but UNIX folks still regard MSDOS partition tables as particularly PC'ish and like to rely on their own more portable partition information smile.gif

Good luck,

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andreask
post May 3 2007, 01:22 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-August 06
From: Germany, Kulmbach - Erlangen
Member No.: 10,929



@ZDevil Do you use the SD-Card Function on your C1000 or C3200.
Is it in the meanwhile possible to run the Z from a SD Card?
I think the new snapshot for the Z includes the SD Device, but i will try it today or tomorrow if it recognise my SD ...

QUOTE
# Enable pxammc(4) and sdmmc(4) on Zaurus RAMDISK kernels too.
# Initial support for PXA27x SD/SDIO/MMC controller on the Zaurus platform.


Greets from Germany
Andi
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post May 3 2007, 06:37 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 1,998
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(andreask @ May 3 2007, 11:22 AM)
@ZDevil Do you use the SD-Card Function on your C1000 or C3200.
Is it in the meanwhile possible to run the Z from a SD Card?
I think the new snapshot for the Z includes the SD Device, but i will try it today or tomorrow if it recognise my SD ...

QUOTE
# Enable pxammc(4) and sdmmc(4) on Zaurus RAMDISK kernels too.
# Initial support for PXA27x SD/SDIO/MMC controller on the Zaurus platform.


Greets from Germany
Andi
*



The SD card funcionality, as already reported in this thread, is rather flaky; only read and no write (write tends to hang the system). AFAIK booting off SD is not yet supported, so at this point C1000 cannot run obsd off SD. Also perhaps because things have to be extracted to the root partition and the system partitions have to be formatted in ffs during installation, but there is no SD write support so installing things to SD is not feasible. But maybe i am wrong here... rolleyes.gif

Still getting extremely busy with work so no free time block yet to backup the nearly full 4GB SD and reformat it under obsd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2019 - 03:40 AM