OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wifi On Zalarm
bort_83
post May 11 2017, 06:27 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Turin, ITALY
Member No.: 12,889



Hi all!

I've recently installed ALARM on my C3000 previously running zUbuntu (and before pdaXrom). Good job!

I'm trying to connect to a wifi open network with my PRISM "AmbiCom WL1100C 802.11b CF-Card".

I think there is no wireless_tools and hostapd installed on alarm-zaurus-c3x00-minimal-rootfs-october2016. Isn't it?

I purchased a ethernet USB dongle but hasn't arrived yet.

Can I manually install required packages and dependencies?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post May 11 2017, 10:24 PM
Post #2





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(bort_83 @ May 11 2017, 03:27 PM) *
Hi all!

I've recently installed ALARM on my C3000 previously running zUbuntu (and before pdaXrom). Good job!

I'm trying to connect to a wifi open network with my PRISM "AmbiCom WL1100C 802.11b CF-Card".

I think there is no wireless_tools and hostapd installed on alarm-zaurus-c3x00-minimal-rootfs-october2016. Isn't it?

I purchased a ethernet USB dongle but hasn't arrived yet.

Can I manually install required packages and dependencies?


Hi Bort,

you indeed can update using the pkg files from the official mirror:
http://mirror.archlinuxarm.org/arm/

but I have not updated the roofs for a long time, so the current packages may fail.

Use this mirror instead to find older packages from the time the roots was released.
http://tardis.tiny-vps.com/aarm/

To install the package, run "pacman -U packagename.tar.xz"


This reminds me to update the kernel and rooftfs...I will look at this in the not so far future.
Also I need to add these WiFi packages to the rootfs, good point.

Cheers!

Greg

This post has been edited by greguu: May 13 2017, 01:29 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bort_83
post May 12 2017, 12:34 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Turin, ITALY
Member No.: 12,889



QUOTE(greguu @ May 12 2017, 08:24 AM) *
Use this mirror instead for find an older package from the time the roots was released.
http://tardis.tiny-vps.com/aarm/


Thanks Greg!

Which arm version of package i've to download? "arm" is the right one?

EDIT: "arm" version worked like a charm :-)

I've installed:

CODE
wireless_tools-30.pre9-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz
dhclient-4.3.5-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz
libnl-3.2.28-1-arm.pkg.tar.xz
hostapd-2.6-3-arm.pkg.tar.xz


Wifi card now get recognized

CODE
[ 2964.945368] pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
[ 2964.949720] pcmcia 0.0: pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0 (IRQ: 217)
[ 2964.963737] hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (constant)
[ 2964.981400] hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0
[ 2965.259711] prism2_hw_init: initialized in 200 ms
[ 2965.260491] wifi0: NIC: id=0x800c v1.0.0
[ 2965.260694] wifi0: PRI: id=0x15 v1.0.7
[ 2965.260867] wifi0: STA: id=0x1f v1.3.6
[ 2965.261950] wifi0: defaulting to host-based encryption as a workaround for firmware bug in Host AP mode WEP
[ 2965.261964] wifi0: defaulting to bogus WDS frame as a workaround for firmware bug in Host AP mode WDS
[ 2965.283956] wifi0: registered netdevice wlan0


but still can't connect to my open wifi AP :-(

Just after booting iwconfig shows:
CODE
wifi0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: Not-Associated   Bit Rate:11 Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry short limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: Not-Associated   Bit Rate:11 Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry short limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


Then I try the connection:
CODE
iwconfig wlan0 essid "G2miniGG"
iwconfig wlan0 enc off
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 nick zaurus
iwconfig wlan0 key off
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhclient wlan0


dhclient take long time...

This is iwconfig output
CODE
wifi0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"G2miniGG"  Nickname:"zaurus"
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: None   Bit Rate:2 Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry short limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"G2miniGG"  Nickname:"zaurus"
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: None   Bit Rate:2 Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry short limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=0/70  Signal level=-73 dBm  Noise level=-73 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:2   Missed beacon:0


This is dmesg:
CODE
[  131.966154] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  131.966203]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  131.966228]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:16 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  131.983590] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  131.983637]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  131.983662]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  132.103476] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  132.103523]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  132.103547]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:01:00:03 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  132.215964] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  132.216010]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  132.216034]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:16 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  132.389942] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  132.389987]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  132.390010]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:01:00:03 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  132.639965] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  132.640010]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  132.640034]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:01:00:03 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  135.685982] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  135.686027]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  135.686051]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  138.809453] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  138.809501]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  138.809526]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  143.205999] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  143.206043]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  143.206068]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  147.566062] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  147.566109]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  147.566133]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  154.114397] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  154.114445]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  154.114469]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  157.926002] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  157.926047]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  157.926070]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  161.390702] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  161.390748]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  161.390772]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  174.776802] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  174.776850]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  174.776875]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  186.726034] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  186.726079]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  186.726105]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00
[  248.805986] wifi0: TXEXC - status=0x0004 ([Discon]) tx_control=000c
[  248.806033]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  248.806056]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00


I read that my Wifi Card firmware is quite old... may be related ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post May 13 2017, 12:14 AM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(bort_83 @ May 12 2017, 09:34 AM) *
CODE
[ 2964.945368] pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
[ 2964.949720] pcmcia 0.0: pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0 (IRQ: 217)
[ 2964.963737] hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (constant)
[ 2964.981400] hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0
[ 2965.259711] prism2_hw_init: initialized in 200 ms
[ 2965.260491] wifi0: NIC: id=0x800c v1.0.0
[ 2965.260694] wifi0: PRI: id=0x15 v1.0.7
[ 2965.260867] wifi0: STA: id=0x1f v1.3.6
[ 2965.261950] wifi0: defaulting to host-based encryption as a workaround for firmware bug in Host AP mode WEP
[ 2965.261964] wifi0: defaulting to bogus WDS frame as a workaround for firmware bug in Host AP mode WDS
[ 2965.283956] wifi0: registered netdevice wlan0

[  248.806033]    retry_count=0 tx_rate=0 fc=0x0108 (Data::0 ToDS)
[  248.806056]    A1=00:00:00:00:00:00 A2=00:10:7a:58:32:aa A3=33:33:00:00:00:02 A4=00:00:00:00:00:00


I read that my Wifi Card firmware is quite old... may be related ?



Yes, you may need to update the firmware version to 1.8.2 before you can connect to a WPA enabled AP. Don't use version 1.8.4 as there are issues.

This site explains it all and has the firmware files. http://linux.junsun.net/intersil-prism/

Take care, you can fry your card if flashing the wrong file.

Use Ubuntu and hostap-utils package or the attached hostap-utils for Arch Linux ARM.

No guarantee this will work, I just compiled it and did not test it at all.

Check also this Omegamoon blog : http://www.omegamoon.com/blog/comments.php...ry090823-223248

Good Luck!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  hostap_utils_alarmz.tar.gz ( 110K ) Number of downloads: 83
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bort_83
post May 18 2017, 03:36 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Turin, ITALY
Member No.: 12,889



QUOTE(greguu @ May 13 2017, 10:14 AM) *
Use Ubuntu and hostap-utils package or the attached hostap-utils for Arch Linux ARM.

No guarantee this will work, I just compiled it and did not test it at all.


Your hostap_utils worked on my Z like a charm :-)

Now my firmware is upgraded to 1.8.2 but i still can't connect to an open AP and scan doesn't find any network.

Same behavior as Ubuntu distro. I'm quite sure the card is working well because kismet on Ubuntu was finding networks.

EDIT1:Blacklisted again orinoco drivers and iwlist wlan0 scan now is working...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post May 18 2017, 11:44 PM
Post #6





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(bort_83 @ May 18 2017, 12:36 PM) *
QUOTE(greguu @ May 13 2017, 10:14 AM) *
Use Ubuntu and hostap-utils package or the attached hostap-utils for Arch Linux ARM.

No guarantee this will work, I just compiled it and did not test it at all.


Your hostap_utils worked on my Z like a charm :-)

Now my firmware is upgraded to 1.8.2 but i still can't connect to an open AP and scan doesn't find any network.

Same behavior as Ubuntu distro. I'm quite sure the card is working well because kismet on Ubuntu was finding networks.

EDIT1:Blacklisted again orinoco drivers and iwlist wlan0 scan now is working...


Well, at least some progress. You can try a different open AP or try one with WPA2 AES/TKIP.

Do you get the same errors ?

Do you have maybe a MAC filter on the access point enabled ?

Arch Wiki :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WiFi
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/netctl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bort_83
post Jun 27 2017, 01:00 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Turin, ITALY
Member No.: 12,889



QUOTE(greguu @ May 19 2017, 09:44 AM) *
Well, at least some progress. You can try a different open AP or try one with WPA2 AES/TKIP.

Do you get the same errors ?

Do you have maybe a MAC filter on the access point enabled ?

Arch Wiki :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WiFi
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/netctl



Sorry for the late reply. Meanwhile I've purchased a USB-LAN adapter... and a powered USB HUB.

In next days I'll try different AP settings but I'm pretty sure there is no MAC filter enabled. :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Jun 27 2017, 02:02 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 934
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



I'm closely following this thread, since I'm also trying to make my wifi card to work under Alarmz. Please let us know if you'll manage to make it work. On my Akita, even with the orinoco driver blacklisted and lsmod orinoco confirming that it has not been loaded, iwlist wlan0 scan still returns no results. My card has the 1.8.4 firmware, I'll try to flash the 1.8.2 one and see if it makes any difference.

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Jul 26 2017, 10:00 PM
Post #9





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(Varti @ Jun 27 2017, 11:02 AM) *
I'm closely following this thread, since I'm also trying to make my wifi card to work under Alarmz. Please let us know if you'll manage to make it work. On my Akita, even with the orinoco driver blacklisted and lsmod orinoco confirming that it has not been loaded, iwlist wlan0 scan still returns no results. My card has the 1.8.4 firmware, I'll try to flash the 1.8.2 one and see if it makes any difference.

Varti


Well to be honest, I am not sure, but there may be issues with this card on newer kernels. Can you confirm the card works in stock ROM or a 2.6 based ROM ?

Certainly more troubleshooting needs to be done. If the firmware upgrade did not fix the issue, please check the ArchLinux ARM WiFi wiki to make sure you followed the right steps.

I can provide a howto on the D-Link 660 CF card that also uses the hostap driver and works fine with WPA2 networks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post May 5 2018, 01:49 AM
Post #10





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



I just got into this issue when testing WiFi on Void Linux.

The issue seems to be related to the state when bringing up wlan0, as it enters "mode master" and acts as a access point. You can verify that by using "WiFi Analyser" app on your smartphone.

To fix this and list all available networks:

CODE
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 essid any
iwlist wlan0 scan


for WPA2 , follow the normal wpa_supplicant guidelines.

This post has been edited by greguu: May 5 2018, 04:05 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cain2pang
post Sep 21 2019, 10:26 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 16-September 19
From: China
Member No.: 855,729



QUOTE(greguu @ Jul 27 2017, 02:00 PM) *
QUOTE(Varti @ Jun 27 2017, 11:02 AM) *
I'm closely following this thread, since I'm also trying to make my wifi card to work under Alarmz. Please let us know if you'll manage to make it work. On my Akita, even with the orinoco driver blacklisted and lsmod orinoco confirming that it has not been loaded, iwlist wlan0 scan still returns no results. My card has the 1.8.4 firmware, I'll try to flash the 1.8.2 one and see if it makes any difference.

Varti


Well to be honest, I am not sure, but there may be issues with this card on newer kernels. Can you confirm the card works in stock ROM or a 2.6 based ROM ?

Certainly more troubleshooting needs to be done. If the firmware upgrade did not fix the issue, please check the ArchLinux ARM WiFi wiki to make sure you followed the right steps.

I can provide a howto on the D-Link 660 CF card that also uses the hostap driver and works fine with WPA2 networks.


Hi greguu, I can't get the D-Link 660 CF card work, can you provide a howto on getting it work on ZALARM?
Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
greguu
post Sep 23 2019, 09:24 PM
Post #12





Group: Moderators
Posts: 374
Joined: 14-November 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 8,535



QUOTE(cain2pang @ Sep 22 2019, 06:26 PM) *
QUOTE(greguu @ Jul 27 2017, 02:00 PM) *
QUOTE(Varti @ Jun 27 2017, 11:02 AM) *
I'm closely following this thread, since I'm also trying to make my wifi card to work under Alarmz. Please let us know if you'll manage to make it work. On my Akita, even with the orinoco driver blacklisted and lsmod orinoco confirming that it has not been loaded, iwlist wlan0 scan still returns no results. My card has the 1.8.4 firmware, I'll try to flash the 1.8.2 one and see if it makes any difference.

Varti


Well to be honest, I am not sure, but there may be issues with this card on newer kernels. Can you confirm the card works in stock ROM or a 2.6 based ROM ?

Certainly more troubleshooting needs to be done. If the firmware upgrade did not fix the issue, please check the ArchLinux ARM WiFi wiki to make sure you followed the right steps.

I can provide a howto on the D-Link 660 CF card that also uses the hostap driver and works fine with WPA2 networks.


Hi greguu, I can't get the D-Link 660 CF card work, can you provide a howto on getting it work on ZALARM?
Thanks.


Hi cain2pang,
you need to check first if the firmware version your card has needs updating. See my most here https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...st&p=283117 for more details.

Secondly, make sure the hostap driver is loaded only and not the orinoco_cs driver. You may need to blacklist the orionoco_cs driver first for the hostap driver to load.
You can check this via "lsmod" and see the ArchLinux guide on module blacklisting.
I recommend to test to connect to an unsecured AP first, then enable WPA2 later once you got a connection to rule out if the issue is wpa_supplicant related or not.

What kernel and rootfs are you using ?
Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th November 2019 - 08:57 PM