OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Blank area at the bottom of the screen?
joe
post Mar 21 2018, 03:04 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-March 18
Member No.: 818,572



When using the Notes application (I can't remember if I've seen it elsewhere), there's a huge chunk of the screen missing. The bottom 80% or so of the screen is just white blank space, so I can only see a small sliver of the app. Quitting notes and starting again doesn't help.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there a fix?

EDIT: Pressing escape makes it go away. Not a real solution or or explanation though, as it comes back.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lyall Pearce
post Mar 21 2018, 03:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 13-March 18
From: Adelaide, Australia
Member No.: 819,136



QUOTE(joe @ Mar 22 2018, 08:34 AM) *
When using the Notes application (I can't remember if I've seen it elsewhere), there's a huge chunk of the screen missing. The bottom 80% or so of the screen is just white blank space, so I can only see a small sliver of the app. Quitting notes and starting again doesn't help.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there a fix?

Try typing a note with newlines (pressing Enter).
The note area extends down, eventually filling the 'white area'.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joe
post Mar 21 2018, 04:00 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-March 18
Member No.: 818,572



Sadly no. Here's a screenshot.


Attached Image


I also ran across this problem again with Bluetooth pairing. I'm 99% sure the system is somehow telling the app that the screen is only an inch high.


Attached Image


When that dialogue pops up there's a brief flash of the content before it disappears.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joe
post Mar 21 2018, 04:07 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-March 18
Member No.: 818,572



Solution: After a bit of faffing around, I've found that pressing the esc key solves this problems (in both cases).

Who knows what's happening. Maybe it's the gemini launcher misbehaving?

(I can understand (and support) Planet doing this by the skin of their teeth, but the lack of foresight in setting up an issue tracker is annoying. They must have known there would be issues like this.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
depscribe
post Mar 21 2018, 04:42 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 3-January 18
Member No.: 815,753



QUOTE(joe @ Mar 21 2018, 04:07 PM) *
(I can understand (and support) Planet doing this by the skin of their teeth, but the lack of foresight in setting up an issue tracker is annoying. They must have known there would be issues like this.)

They've been busy making sure that everything's perfect with the order tracking system they launched two weeks ago last week this week sometime maybe.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scops
post Mar 21 2018, 10:24 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 24-November 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 20,976



Maybe it's a failed rendered virtual keyboard?!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FredL
post Mar 22 2018, 02:00 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 2-March 18
From: London
Member No.: 818,557





Actually I had this problem, too - and it went away. I think I fiddled with the Virtual Keyboard settings but sorry I can't remember what fixed it exactly. Maybe just a reboot did it,,,,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lyall Pearce
post Mar 23 2018, 04:07 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 13-March 18
From: Adelaide, Australia
Member No.: 819,136



QUOTE(joe @ Mar 22 2018, 09:30 AM) *
Sadly no. Here's a screenshot.


Attached Image


I also ran across this problem again with Bluetooth pairing. I'm 99% sure the system is somehow telling the app that the screen is only an inch high.


Attached Image


When that dialogue pops up there's a brief flash of the content before it disappears.

Wow, that is markedly different from what I see, so my comment does not apply.
You don't even see the 'toolbar', which includes a search bar.
What happens if you rotate?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st January 2020 - 10:05 AM