OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> US Cosmo & AT&T - Anyone Tried It?
ArchiMark
post Dec 18 2019, 07:32 AM
Post #31





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,691
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(vldmr @ Dec 18 2019, 07:16 AM) *
Did you try to pop sim card from your work iphone into cosmo?



Great idea!

Just tried this and voila!

Get 4 bars and VLTE 4G shown!!!!

And Mobile Data works!!!

You're a genius, vldmr!

biggrin.gif


Good thing I didn't ship my Cosmo to UK yet....

rolleyes.gif


So, assume this means I received a bum SIM card from AT&T?


UPDATE

Compared the numbers on both cards....

Think the AT&T store person gave me a 3G card.....

It has a number 3026 on the card.

My work phone has a number 4026 on the card.

I'm guessing the 4 means 4G and 3 means 3G......


rolleyes.gif



This post has been edited by ArchiMark: Dec 18 2019, 07:38 AM
Reason for edit: Added more info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 18 2019, 11:32 AM
Post #32





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,691
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



UPDATE

Just returned from trip to local AT&T store....

Guy at this store was great and very helpful.

Turns out issue is not about the SIM card.....it's all about the IMEI number used.

Unfortunately, since PC does not have AT&T sell their phones, they don't have an IMEI number that identifies the device as a Cosmo. Therefore, the system doesn't know to provide it with 4G and mobile data.

After trying all the possible APN's available and not getting 4G, he entered an IMEI from an iPhone and Voila! the Cosmo got 4G and mobile data instantly.

So, for those of you that got your Cosmo's working without all the headaches I went through, the AT&T guy said there were two options.

One, you transferred an existing SIM card from a phone that is recognized in AT&T system / IMEI.

Or if you went to AT&T store and got new SIM, the person helping you did what my guy did and didn't tell you.


AT&T guy said that I need to see if it still shows 4G after about 36 hours from now, as he said their system does a periodic sweep of devices on system. He thought there might be a small chance that system might detect that IMEI is for iPhone while device is not an iPhone. If that happens, it would likely downgrade Cosmo back to 3G. And if that happens, he said to come back to store or call AT&T to reset it again.

So it goes......but at least I now have 4G and mobile data......

Thanks to all who helped. Really made a big difference!

cool.gif


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vldmr
post Dec 18 2019, 12:52 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 23-November 19
From: US
Member No.: 860,135



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Dec 18 2019, 01:32 PM) *
So, for those of you that got your Cosmo's working without all the headaches I went through, the AT&T guy said there were two options.

One, you transferred an existing SIM card from a phone that is recognized in AT&T system / IMEI.

That is correct - my sim card was transferred to cosmo from at&t branded phone
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 18 2019, 01:49 PM
Post #34





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,691
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(vldmr @ Dec 18 2019, 12:52 PM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Dec 18 2019, 01:32 PM) *
So, for those of you that got your Cosmo's working without all the headaches I went through, the AT&T guy said there were two options.

One, you transferred an existing SIM card from a phone that is recognized in AT&T system / IMEI.

That is correct - my sim card was transferred to cosmo from at&t branded phone


Lucky you......

I figure between 2 visits to AT&T store, call with AT&T tech support, OESF posts, my fiddling around with Cosmo, I probably wasted about 6 - 8 hours on getting phone working right......

Oh well......

I do feel a lot better about the Cosmo now though....

Now need to spend some time learning all the features that are different from the Gemini I have.....

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jakfish
post Dec 18 2019, 07:36 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 293
Joined: 12-September 10
Member No.: 91,772



Glad you got to the bottom of this.

Jake
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Dec 18 2019, 08:34 PM
Post #36





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,691
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(jakfish @ Dec 18 2019, 07:36 PM) *
Glad you got to the bottom of this.

Jake


Thanks, Jake, yeah, me too......

Just wish it didn't take so much of my time and energy.....

Oh well, live and learn, they say....

smile.gif


Meanwhile, starting to enjoy the Cosmo....

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2020 - 12:20 PM