OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Planex Wireless Card Not Working
mivilleb
post Oct 15 2006, 03:19 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-January 06
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Member No.: 9,018



Hi,

I installed OpenZaurus (3.5.4.1) on my akita and now my Planex card GW-CF11X does not work anymore. I used to work with the original Sharp ROM and Cacko 1.23.

The details:

Socket 0:
product info: "PLANEX COMMUNICATIONS INC.", "PLANEX GW-CF11X Wireless CF Card", "", ""
manfid: 0xd601, 0x0010
function: 6 (network)

Is it possible to make it work on OpenZaurus?

The network tool does not show the MAC address for the card under wlan 0.

Thanks for any help,

Bernard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daufoo
post Oct 15 2006, 04:58 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 9,648



Mine is Terrier, I'm using the same card as you and 3.5.4.1 (Oz/OPIE), I have no problem getting it work.

When you say it does not work, what exactly does the card resposne? Does the led flashing?

Also, are you using WEP or PSA?
I failed to connect to my network (WEP enabled) before, then I realise I have to do a search (one of the option in network settings) for it to find the AP.

It might not be the problem you had though (since you mentioned you can't even display the MAC address of your card), just wonder if it is activated or not.





QUOTE(mivilleb @ Oct 15 2006, 10:19 PM)
Hi,

I installed OpenZaurus (3.5.4.1) on my akita and now my Planex card GW-CF11X does not work anymore. I used to work with the original Sharp ROM and Cacko 1.23.

The details:

Socket 0:
  product info: "PLANEX COMMUNICATIONS INC.", "PLANEX GW-CF11X Wireless CF Card", "", ""
  manfid: 0xd601, 0x0010
  function: 6 (network)

Is it possible to make it work on OpenZaurus?

The network tool does not show the MAC address for the card under wlan 0.

Thanks for any help,

Bernard
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Oct 16 2006, 01:30 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



I use it perfectly with OZ!
Give as more info plz.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mivilleb
post Oct 16 2006, 03:03 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-January 06
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Member No.: 9,018



Hi,

I do not have much more info. Using cardclt ident gives:

Socket 0:
product info: "PLANEX COMMUNICATIONS INC.", "PLANEX GW-CF11X Wireless CF Card", "", ""
manfid: 0xd601, 0x0010
function: 6 (network)

(this is a prism3 card).

When I put the card in, it does say:

Succesfully activated card in socket #0

The Link green light does not come on, like it used to do with Cacko.

When I go to the Network software, it does show a choice for:

Ethernet (wlan0)

with the arrow down.

When I eject the card the Ethernet (wlan0) says disconnected. So OZ does do something with the card but what I do not know.

I click on Configure (With Ethernet wlan0 highlighted) and the DHCP is selected, which is what I want, but I can not find anyplace to setup WEP or SSID.

When I click on Start/Stop the IP address is 0.0.0.0, the Subnet Mask is 0.0.0.0 the MAC Address and Broadcast fields are empty.

I click on start and it fails.

Since there is no Mac address in the field, I guess OZ did not recognized the card properly.

When I try Wellenreiter II, and start snifer it says:

Can't bring interface 'wlan0' up. No such file or directory even if the Network software says that there is an Ethernet card with wlan0!

What can I do to make my WiFi card work?

Any help will be relly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bernard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th August 2018 - 03:00 AM