OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Silver assistant button, Mine doesn't do anything for voice assistance?
Yev
post Jun 9 2018, 02:48 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-June 18
Member No.: 823,810



I've seen lots of mentions of using the silver button to issue voice commands to make calls, do web searches etc.

It doesn't seem to do anything for me, whether my Gemini is open or closed.

Not sure if I disabled it inadvertently but I can't find any settings to customise it etc.

Also the Fn + space shortcut which is supposed to bring up the Google Assistant does nothing on my device.

Gemini Voice Assistant was pre-installed, and I didn't do anything to it.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vader
post Jun 10 2018, 06:04 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 21-January 18
Member No.: 816,775



It seems to be a problem with the latest google update (not the recent broken one...). For security, you now need to set up a secure voice to enable voice control when the screen is off. If you are integrated in the googleverse, this shouldn't be a problem. Google will characterise your voice so only you can wake the device. For those who shun google, there seems to be no way around it at the moment. I used it daily, but alas no longer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joepirello
post Jun 11 2018, 08:13 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-May 18
Member No.: 823,304



You can easily remap the button, root or no root.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smapmap
post Jun 11 2018, 10:45 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 9-January 18
Member No.: 816,147



Try deleting the cache for google assistant. It worked for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mads
post Jun 12 2018, 02:47 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-June 18
Member No.: 824,009



QUOTE(joepirello @ Jun 12 2018, 06:13 AM) *
You can easily remap the button, root or no root.

how?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eeems
post Jun 14 2018, 08:13 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 6-June 18
Member No.: 823,991



Deleting the Google Assistant cache didn't seem to solve the issue.

QUOTE(joepirello @ Jun 11 2018, 10:13 PM) *
You can easily remap the button, root or no root.

Care to expand on how to actually do this?

I've done some poking around with Automate and I can't determine what keyCode the button (or Fn+Space) fires.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yev
post Jun 15 2018, 12:34 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-June 18
Member No.: 823,810



Thank you for the replies @vader, @joepirello and @smapmap.

Like @mads and @Eeems, I don't know how to remap the button.

And I don't know how to delete the Google Assistant cache. In Settings > Apps, Google Assistant is not listed at all. I deleted the Gemini Voice Assistant cache, but still nothing.

Can anyone give more info how how to remap the button please?

@vader also it made me register my voice, but I have to wake it and enter my password before it will respond to my voice, so I can't talk to it to get it to do anything when it's in sleep mode!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vader
post Jun 15 2018, 06:58 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 21-January 18
Member No.: 816,775



QUOTE(Yev @ Jun 15 2018, 06:34 PM) *
Thank you for the replies @vader, @joepirello and @smapmap.

Like @mads and @Eeems, I don't know how to remap the button.

And I don't know how to delete the Google Assistant cache. In Settings > Apps, Google Assistant is not listed at all. I deleted the Gemini Voice Assistant cache, but still nothing.

Can anyone give more info how how to remap the button please?

@vader also it made me register my voice, but I have to wake it and enter my password before it will respond to my voice, so I can't talk to it to get it to do anything when it's in sleep mode!

OK, so I read the release notes for the latest update and guess what? The gemini voice assistant app now supports Saiy as well as google. I donwloaded Saiy, and guess what. It works with the lid shut! I dont do much with it except call people, read messages and ask the time so it works a treat. There is a lot more you can do and it includes offline recognition.

So, people who have trouble with google assistant, try Saiy ( and set it in the gemini voice app). The only downside is I think this app has adds, but they are really rare. I'd pay for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Calamityspice
post Jun 15 2018, 08:09 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 22-May 18
From: Bristol
Member No.: 823,042



Cool. How do you get Saiy to work? So far, it only works when I call my brother. For any other contacts, it
say that it can't find the contact.

I can't see any differences in the contacts.

Ta

Nevermind. Finally managed to tweak it in the settings.

As a bonus, I now have a computer than when given the correct phrase, will verbally reply with "I'm sorry Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vader
post Jun 17 2018, 04:25 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 21-January 18
Member No.: 816,775



QUOTE(Calamityspice @ Jun 16 2018, 02:09 PM) *
As a bonus, I now have a computer than when given the correct phrase, will verbally reply with "I'm sorry Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that."

smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rasva
post Jun 26 2018, 12:53 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 12-October 07
From: Czech republic
Member No.: 20,815



I am experimenting with Sayi, but it does not seem to be able to activate for example the flightmode. It keeps answering that my device is not supporting this feature (my gemini is rooted, so it should work according manual). The google assistant works in this case, even unrooted. Any hints?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spook
post May 28 2019, 08:58 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 24-June 18
Member No.: 824,977



QUOTE
So, people who have trouble with google assistant, try Saiy ( and set it in the gemini voice app). The only downside is I think this app has adds, but they are really rare. I'd pay for it.


Thanks for the suggestion! Saiy is no longer on the Play store, but I found a link to it on XDA Forums. Great app and the silver button now works for me again smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2019 - 10:32 AM