OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> V1 Vs V2 Differences
speculatrix
post Feb 16 2017, 04:08 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,689
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



It appears that GPD did some improvements and came our with a V2. It has a different eMMC, better fitting buttons and a slightly different case - matte finish.

However, reports from HotUkDeals suggests some people have been unlucky in getting a chimera, which is part old and part new version.

The old model's eMMC is supposedly slightly faster but it shouldn't make a difference in the real world.


So if you're buying one, it's worth checking which version you're getting, especially if buying used.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Feb 16 2017, 05:38 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



V2 (which is said to be the one of the 10th January batch) also has a new CPU: a Z8750, instead of the Z8700 previously used. The new CPU is barely better than the older one though, so not much of a difference here. What's interesting is that the Z8750 was the initially targeted CPU, they switched to the Z8700 before going into production because of unspecified problems, they have probably solved them by now.

http://boards.dingoonity.org/gpd-windows-d...e-the-z8750/15/

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 16 2017, 05:54 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,689
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I read that they stopped using the Z8750 during prototyping because of stability problems. I guess they finally resolved the problem.

I'll speculate that the higher performance device needed more power, generating higher transients, and that caused the power rails voltages to glitch in some way.

Modern processors really hammer the power supplies each time the clock ticks, and there's a lot of power conditioning to stop glitches causing the CPUs from locking up.

But like I said, this is pure speculation (and speculation is kind of my middle name ;-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Varti
post Feb 16 2017, 06:17 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 905
Joined: 30-April 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 21,713



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 16 2017, 02:54 PM) *
But like I said, this is pure speculation (and speculation is kind of my middle name ;-)

It is at least in your nickname for sure tongue.gif

Varti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th August 2019 - 05:00 AM