OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> KDE is usable after all
jornada720
post Jun 9 2019, 08:25 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



So out of frustration with LXQt, I had not bothered using my Gemini much on the Linux side but I just came back to it recently.

It turns out that you can actually use KDE, you just have to make sure that its global keyboard shortcut daemon is not running.

You can find it within the KSysguard task manager. The process name is kglobalaccel5. Just kill it and your keyboard will work as normal.

If you don't want to have to keep killing the process, just have root make kglobalaccel5 non executable

sudo chmod 444 /usr/bin/kglobalaccel5

The downside of not running the global shortcut manager is that KWin shortcuts will no longer work. But on the other hand, KDE Plasma is much better suited for touch use and the task bar can actually be used, unlike in LXQt.

You can also set up KDE Plasma to put applications' menu bars inside of your panel and save vertical screen real estate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eric BF
post Jun 12 2019, 09:50 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-June 18
Member No.: 824,997



Great to hear. Do power management aspects continue to work as expected, including lid actions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 13 2019, 01:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



Please write detailed instructions how to install KDE/Gnome kdm/gdm on gemini. I tried and gave up as there is no way to see the bootup messages/console without F1-F4, so it just resulted splash screen maybe forever smile.gif. Interesting as I don't really satisfied with the lxqt gui. I also would be happy to have console TTY 1 during the boot and able to resolve problems with the X sessions smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 15 2019, 10:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(szilveszter domotor @ Jun 13 2019, 05:28 AM) *
Please write detailed instructions how to install KDE/Gnome kdm/gdm on gemini. I tried and gave up as there is no way to see the bootup messages/console without F1-F4, so it just resulted splash screen maybe forever smile.gif. Interesting as I don't really satisfied with the lxqt gui. I also would be happy to have console TTY 1 during the boot and able to resolve problems with the X sessions smile.gif


1. Open an LXTerminal

2. Type the following command with Entezr at the end of each one.
CODE
sudo apt update
sudo apt install task-kde-desktop


3. Log out and then reboot
4. Upon reboot choose KDE Plasma from the top of the list of possible desktop environments in the login manager
5. Once into KDE, you can launch Konsole or LXTerminal and follow the steps in the OP to kill and disable KDE Global Shortcuts manager
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jun 15 2019, 11:57 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,634
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for all the info on this, jornada720!

Any chance of a pic of your new desktop?

smile.gif


Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 16 2019, 05:16 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 15 2019, 03:57 PM) *
Any chance of a pic of your new desktop?


Sure. See attached.

I still have to get the workaround for my menus within the panel but I did figure the way to remove decorations from windows that are maximized.

To get that, edit kwinrc inside of the .config directory. Locate the section that says [Windows] and put this at the top on its own line and then save and close. Might have to log out to get it to work.

CODE
BorderlessMaximizedWindows=true


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 16 2019, 05:28 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(Eric BF @ Jun 13 2019, 01:50 AM) *
Great to hear. Do power management aspects continue to work as expected, including lid actions?


Yes, KDE has full even better support for power management than LXQt. The power actions are very configurable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jun 16 2019, 09:02 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,634
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 16 2019, 06:16 AM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 15 2019, 03:57 PM) *
Any chance of a pic of your new desktop?


Sure. See attached.

I still have to get the workaround for my menus within the panel but I did figure the way to remove decorations from windows that are maximized.

To get that, edit kwinrc inside of the .config directory. Locate the section that says [Windows] and put this at the top on its own line and then save and close. Might have to log out to get it to work.

CODE
BorderlessMaximizedWindows=true



Thanks for sharing!

Looks good...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eric BF
post Jun 16 2019, 10:10 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-June 18
Member No.: 824,997



QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 16 2019, 02:28 PM) *
Yes, KDE has full even better support for power management than LXQt. The power actions are very configurable.

Excellent. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 17 2019, 03:18 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



Good thanks, I have tryed with apt to get GDM working but it ended up with forever loading gemini smile.gif. Will try KDE, long time did not use KDE , but if it works still better then the default LXQt UI.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 17 2019, 04:30 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jun 17 2019, 04:15 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 9 2019, 08:25 AM) *
The downside of not running the global shortcut manager is that KWin shortcuts will no longer work. But on the other hand, KDE Plasma is much better suited for touch use and the task bar can actually be used, unlike in LXQt.

In my opinion, not having the usual shortcuts, i.e. Alt+Tab is a bit pointless on a device like the Gemini.

It looks like the keypresses get intercepted by kglobalaccel5. I have not been able to find out why. xev shows focus events for the non working keys. This means the keypresses are getting forwarded somewhere else. Does anyone know how to monitor shortcut events? if we find out which event gets triggered we might try to disable the event causing the problems and not disable the whole service.Could also be some problem with the keymap files for the Gemini. Unsure how to investigate...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 17 2019, 08:19 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jun 17 2019, 08:15 PM) *
QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 9 2019, 08:25 AM) *
The downside of not running the global shortcut manager is that KWin shortcuts will no longer work. But on the other hand, KDE Plasma is much better suited for touch use and the task bar can actually be used, unlike in LXQt.

In my opinion, not having the usual shortcuts, i.e. Alt+Tab is a bit pointless on a device like the Gemini.

It looks like the keypresses get intercepted by kglobalaccel5. I have not been able to find out why. xev shows focus events for the non working keys. This means the keypresses are getting forwarded somewhere else. Does anyone know how to monitor shortcut events? if we find out which event gets triggered we might try to disable the event causing the problems and not disable the whole service.Could also be some problem with the keymap files for the Gemini. Unsure how to investigate...


One workaround is to use a different window manager than KWin. Most have their own shortcuts that can be managed.

Although KWin is actually the best WM in my opinion. It can do tiling and has a shortcut for pretty much any action.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jornada720
post Jun 17 2019, 08:21 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 8-March 18
Member No.: 818,918



QUOTE(szilveszter domotor @ Jun 17 2019, 08:30 AM) *
well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.

Please post your output after running this command

CODE
apt -f install
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
szilveszter domo...
post Jun 17 2019, 11:53 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-June 19
Member No.: 849,313



QUOTE(jornada720 @ Jun 17 2019, 08:21 PM) *
QUOTE(szilveszter domotor @ Jun 17 2019, 08:30 AM) *
well I need to workarounding..., middle of KDE install somehow libreoffice came into the picture again and giving erre, actually I purged libre ages ago... so delete purge fix-broken remove. Why this libreoffice causing too much pain? Am i missing a repo, which contains the latest libre or I just used an old image I guess about 30 days since my last reflash.

Please post your output after running this command

CODE
apt -f install


I could get rid of the piceses left over after deleting libre from the catalog as Plasma has include libre , so rm -r .../archive/libre* , then apt-get --fix-missing then just install plasma worked... However it still not solved the problem with the power management 4 hours -> 10% battery, and it was on a 2A charger smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th July 2019 - 10:48 AM